Recent Daily Book inspired food pairings
  
This month, you'll discover electrifying new fiction and nonfiction, including Tara Westover's memoir about growing up in an Idaho-based survivalist family; Chris Bohjalian's thrilling new murder mystery; Lisa Genova's novel about finding peace in the face of tragedy; Shobha Rao's exploration of the bonds of female friendship; and much more. 
 
We'll share book-inspired menu ideas from authors and offer giveaways on  our  Facebook , Twitter,  Instagram and Pinterest updates.  M ark your calendar for the dates listed below and enter giveaways on our contest page.
 
Enjoy, and feel free to share with friends and fellow book club members.
 
Judy Gelman and Vicki Levy Krupp
BookClubCookbook.com 


LINKS

Find us on Pinterest



March 5
WOMAN LAST SEEN IN
HER THIRTIES
Camille  Pagán
Lake Union Publishing
Fiction
From bestselling author Camille Pagán comes a hilarious and hopeful story about a woman on the verge of a nervous breakthrough.

"[Pagán's] writing is fun and engaging. Maggie is a wonderful character, and readers will identify with her struggles and successes in rebuilding her life." -Booklist
 


March 6
GIRLS BURN BRIGHTER
Shobha Rao
Flatiron Books
Fiction
A searing, electrifying debut novel set in India and America about the extraordinary bond between two girls driven apart by circumstances but relentless in their search for one another.
 
"Rao's book should be a treat for Ferrante fans, exploring the bonds of friendship and how female ambition beats against the strictures of poverty and patriarchal societies. -The Huffington Post




March 8
THE RADICAL ELEMENT: 12 STORIES OF DAREDEVILS, DEBUTANTES & OTHER DAUNTLESS GIRLS 
Jessica Spotswood, ed.
Candlewick Press
Fiction
In an anthology of revolution and resistance, a sisterhood of YA writers shines a light on a century and a half of heroines on the margins and in the intersections.

"Twelve stories from acclaimed YA authors focus on women who, one way or another, have radical, groundbreaking experiences." -Booklist

 

 March 13
THE FLICKER OF OLD DREAMS
Susan Henderson
HarperCollins
Fiction 
A mortician, more comfortable with the  dead than the living, is forced into the world outside her basement workroom, reawakening her passions and forgotten dreams.  

"... a work of extraordinary beauty and heart so rich in humanity the reader is drawn deep into the hardscrabble lives of its rugged aching characters." -Long Island Woman


March 15
THE FLIGHT ATTENDANT
Chris Bohjalian
Doubleday
Fiction
A flight attendant wakes up in a Dubai hotel room next to a dead body -- and no idea who killed him or why.

"Bohjalian revisits the notion of what happens when an individual loses control of his or her environment in a read-in-one-sitting escapade that is as intellectually satisfying as it is emotionally entertaining."
-Booklist (Starred Review)



March 20
EVERY NOTE PLAYED
 Lisa Genova
 Gallery Books/Scout Press
Fiction
A virtuoso performance by the New York Times bestselling author of Still Alice, Lisa Genova delivers a stunning novel of finding harmony amidst the most tragic of situations.

"Genova's latest is one of her strongest -- more internalized... an eloquent and touching imagining of how a peaceful terminal place might be reached." - Kirkus Reviews

March 22
COOKING UP LIFE: SHARING MY LOVE OF FOOD WITH YOU
Zac Kara
Self Published
Cookbook
The debut cookbook from culinary prodigy and celebrity teen chef Zac Kara, follows his culinary journey from the time he started cooking two years ago to cooking competitively on TV, and features six recipes paired with YouTube videos.

"...a beautifully designed cookbook that takes the reader into the world of MasterChef Junior finalist Zac Kara."

March 27
EDUCATED
Tara Westover
Random House
Memoir
In the tradition of The Glass Castle, Educated is an unforgettable memoir about a young girl who, kept out of school, leaves her survivalist family and goes on to earn a PhD from Cambridge University.

"This remarkable memoir -- one of the best I've ever read -- is my kind of miracle. The book made me cringe, cry out, cover my eyes, shake with anger, beam with pride, and appreciate the trials that led to my own education."
-Susannah Cahalan, author of  Brain on Fire







 
Copyright © 2018 Book Club Cookbook. All rights reserved.