Davey O'Brien Logo - National Quarterback award - Est. 1977 

Danielle Moorman, executive director
(817) 338-3488



Watch LisT Announced



July 15, 2011

FORT WORTH, Texas - The Davey O'Brien Foundation announced the 2011 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award (The O'Brien) Watch List today.  


This year's list, which was compiled by a subset of The O'Brien National Selection Committee, features 38 of the nation's top collegiate quarterbacks who were selected based on player performance during the previous year and expectations heading into the 2011 college football season.  


In addition to last season's finalists, Andrew Luck (Stanford) and Kellen Moore (Boise State), 2009 O'Brien finalist Case Keenum (Houston) is back in the action. This year's list also includes seven 2010 semifinalists: Matt Barkley (USC), Kirk Cousins (Michigan State), Robert Griffin III (Baylor), Landry Jones (Oklahoma), Taylor Martinez (Nebraska), Denard Robinson (Michigan), and Darron Thomas (Oregon).


Appearing on the Watch List is not a requirement for a player to be awarded The O'Brien. Quarterbacks from all 120 NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools are eligible for the award until the field is narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Monday, Oct. 24. The Foundation and the Selection Committee will announce three finalists on Monday, Nov. 21. The 2011 Davey O'Brien winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 8.


The 35th Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner will be held Feb. 20, 2012 in Fort Worth, Texas.


2011 Davey O'Brien Watch List

Matt Barkley, USC, Pac-12

Tyler Bray, Tennessee, SEC

Alex Carder, Western Michigan, MAC

Zach Collaros, Cincinnati, Big East

Kirk Cousins, Michigan State, Big Ten

Dayne Crist, Notre Dame, Independent

Austin Davis, Southern Miss, C-USA

Dominique Davis, East Carolina, C-USA

Nick Foles, Arizona, Pac-12

Jeff Godfrey, UCF, C-USA

Robert Griffin III, Baylor, Big 12

Chandler Harnish, Northern Illinois, MAC

Jake Heaps, BYU, Independent

Landry Jones, Oklahoma, Big 12

Case Keenum, Houston, C-USA

G.J. Kinne, Tulsa, C-USA

Ryan Lindley, San Diego State, MWC

Andrew Luck, Stanford, Pac-12

EJ Manuel, Florida State, ACC

Taylor Martinez, Nebraska, Big Ten

Bryant Moniz, Hawaii, WAC

Kellen Moore, Boise State, MWC

Aaron Murray, Georgia, SEC

Danny O'Brien, Maryland, ACC

Kyle Padron, SMU, C-USA

Dan Persa, Northwestern, Big Ten

Chris Relf, Mississippi State, SEC

Sean Renfree, Duke, ACC

Corey Robinson, Troy, Sun Belt

Denard Robinson, Michigan, Big Ten

Nathan Scheelhaase, Illinois, Big Ten

Geno Smith, West Virginia, Big East

Tino Sunseri, Pittsburgh, Big East

Ryan Tannehill, Texas A&M, Big 12

Darron Thomas, Oregon, Pac-12

Brandon Weeden, Oklahoma State, Big 12

Russell Wilson, Wisconsin, Big Ten

Jordan Wynn, Utah, Pac-12


About the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award

The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award (The O'Brien) is presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The O'Brien honors candidates who exemplify Davey O'Brien's enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The O'Brien is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away more than $825,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit www.DaveyOBrien.org.


American Airlines is the official travel partner of The O'Brien. 


 Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

National College Football Awards Association

The O'Brien is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official Web site, www.NCFAA.org. 


The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 13-day period this

 month. Fifteen of the association's 21 awards select a preseason watch list and this is the first time the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award's preseason candidates. Following is the remaining 2011 preseason watch list calendar.


Friday, July 15: Davey O'Brien Award/Doak Walker Award

Monday, July 18: Walter Camp Award


# # #