July 10, 2012
For Immediate Release
Bryan Revello
John Mackey Award
2012 John Mackey Award
Preseason Watch List Released
Dwayne Allen and Sylvia Mackey
One of these 33 John Mackey Award Preseason Watch List Candidates could find themselves on the
very same stage as 2011 John Mackey Award winner Dwayne Allen.
(Pictured above receiving the prestigious John Mackey Award trophy from Mrs. Sylvia Mackey) 
Bethpage, N.Y. (July 10, 2012) - The Nassau County Sports Commission, sponsored by Briarcliffe College, has released the 2012 John Mackey Award Preseason Watch List. Given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end, the award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee and the 2012 John Mackey winner will be presented live on December 6, 2012 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show: 6:30 p.m. ET on ESPNU. Other key dates include the announcement of the 2012 Mackey semi-finalists on November 12, 2012 and the announcement of the 2012 Mackey finalists on November 19, 2012. All future announcements can be found at

NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position.  A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA. 


The John Mackey Award presented since 2000, lists eleven NFL players as alumni: 2006 Super Bowl Champion Dallas Clark ('01) of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, two-time Super Bowl Champion Daniel Graham ('02), Kellen Winslow II ('03) of the Seattle Seahawks, two-time Super Bowl Champion Heath Miller ('04) of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Marcedes Lewis ('05) of the Jacksonville Jaguars, 2008 Super Bowl Champion Matt Spaeth ('06) of the of the Chicago Bears, Fred Davis ('07) of the Washington Redskins, Chase Coffman ('08) of the Tampa Bay Bucaneers, Aaron Hernandez ('09) of the New England Patriots, D.J. Williams ('10) of the Green Bay Packers and the 2011 John Mackey Award recipient Dwayne Allen of the Indianapolis Colts.    


2012 John Mackey Award Preseason Watch List  

(in alphabetical order)

Click here for a PDF version of the list 

w border   

The John Mackey Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official website,                                                

The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period this month. Fifteen of the association's 21 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award's preseason candidates. Following is the complete 2012 preseason watch list calendar:  


Mon., July 9:     Bednarik Award / Maxwell Award

Tue., July 10:    Mackey Award / Rimington Trophy

Wed., July 11:   Lou Groza Award / Ray Guy Award

Thurs., July 12:  Bronko Nagurski Trophy / Outland Trophy

Fri., July 13:      Jim Thorpe Award

Mon., July 16:   Butkus Award / Rotary Lombardi Award

Tue., July 17:    Biletnikoff Award

Wed., July 18:   Davey O'Brien Award

Thurs., July 19:  Doak Walker Award

Fri., July 20:      Walter Camp Award

The Nassau County Sports Commission, a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization sponsored by Briarcliffe College, is responsible for the administration of the John Mackey Award and the John Mackey Award Selection Committee. For additional information, please visit