New Year and New News at ABWM
Meet ABWM President, Dr. David Mahon, MD, FACS, CWSP®

Learn his story and goals for ABWM in 2017!

Read more
ABWM Offers International Testing
The American Board of Wound Management will now offer the Certified Wound Specialist (CWS ®) certification examination internationally through Applied Measurement Professional's (AMP) secure, web-based network of test sites.
To supplement AMP's Assessment Center Network of approximately 200 testing locations in the United States, the CWS ® exam will now be offered at over 80 additional locations, across more than 30 countries.

The American Board of Wound Management began offering the Certified Wound Specialist Physician (CWSP ®) certification exam internationally in 2014, and, after increasing levels of interest, is pleased to move forward with providing greater access to the CWS ® credential for international healthcare professionals.

For further details regarding requirements, test sites, and pricing, visit our website here:

  • APTA CSM Meeting in San Antonio
    February 16-18, 2017 at booth #1152

  • SAWC Spring Meeting in San Diego
    April 7-8, 2017 at booth #951

  • Midwest Podiatry Conference, Chicago
    April 27-30, 2017 at booth #1126
Meet Theodore MacKinney, MD, CWSP ®
My mentor in wound care is actually a nurse. 
Barb Provo (MSN, FNP-BC, CWON) is a nurse practitioner in wound care at our institution.  Ten years ago when she was moving ahead to get her certification as a nurse practitioner, she did her clinical rotations in my clinic.  I told her that I would teach her medicine, if she would help me understand wound care better.  We have had a healthy cooperative working arrangement, with each complementing the skills of the other.  Typically when there are wound courses to teach now, we do it together, partly to model the fact that good wound care often requires the healthy cooperation of the physician and the nurse. 
Meet Mandi Karban , LPN, RN, CWCA ®

Since I have become wound certified, I have had a career change.  I have worked in long term care for a total of 17 years, 6 of those years as a CNA and 11 of those years as a nurse.  8 out of the 11 years as a nurse I spent in management.   I completed school (LPN to RN) in July 2016 and completed my wound certification in September 2016.  I am still with the same great company, but I have totally changed “job duties.”  I am now the full time wound nurse at Barnes Extended Care.  I realized that I was missing out on direct patient care all those years that I was in management.  Being co-managed with one of the biggest hospitals in St. Louis, I get to assess and treat a large variety of wounds.  I love watching them heal week to week.  Now that I have my CWCA®, I am interested in becoming a CWS®.  It is amazing how much the patients appreciate a “certified” wound nurse.      

Meet Alan MacGill , DPM, FACFAS, CWS ®

As a foot and ankle surgeon there is an inherent degree of wound care that comes with the territory.  While I felt comfortable and confident treating lower extremity wounds, I would occasionally get asked by patients if they needed to see a wound specialist.  I soon realized that becoming a Certified Wound Specialist (CWS®) would highlight an unmistakable expertise in the field.  It demonstrates to my patients and peers a dedication to the highest standards and achievement in wound care today.     

Who is recently certified?
Congratulations to those who were recently certified or recertified! The ABWM would like to recognize all Associates and Diplomates who received or updated their CWCA®, CWS ® , or CWSP ®  credentials from November 16, 2016 through January 15, 2017.

Changes to the ABWM Board of Directors
The ABWM Board of Directors welcomes its newest member, Dr. Samantha Ratner. Please read the press release regarding her appointment,  Ratner Press Release.

For the entire board of directors, please see  ABWM Board of Directors.
  The American Board of Wound Management is currently the  only  board offering multidisciplinary certification in wound care that is accredited by the  National Commission for Certifying Agencies  (NCCA).