ASNE announces finalists for 2018 awards

Columbia, Mo. (March 22, 2018) - Comprehensive and relentless reporting, masterful data journalism, impactful storytelling, emotional photographs and compelling digital presentations are among the entries spotlighted as finalists in the 2018 American Society of News Editors Awards.

The ASNE Awards honors the best in print, digital, photo and video content in 10 categories. The contest drew 481 entries, from which 31 finalists from news outlets of various sizes and platforms were named. Winners will be announced next week.

"The finalists of the 2018 ASNE Awards are samples of exemplary journalism," said ASNE President Alfredo Carbajal, managing editor of Al Día at The Dallas Morning News. "The participating entries show how watchdog journalism is crucial for the betterment of communities, especially in cases where journalists shine light to abuses on critical issues in our society and around the world."

This is the 39th year for the ASNE Awards, among the most prestigious in journalism. Many of the categories are sponsored and come with $2,500 cash prizes, thanks to a group of editors from the former Knight Ridder Inc., The Dallas Morning News, Advance Publications Inc., the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation, The Seattle Times, the Chicago Tribune, the O'Brien Fellowship in Public Service Journalism at Marquette University in Milwaukee and The New York Times.

Judging took place both online and on site at The Poynter Institute in St. Petersburg, Florida. The finalists are as follows:

Batten Medal, honoring achievement in public service journalism

Andrea Fuller, The Wall Street Journal/Dow Jones & Co. - " Failures at Indian Health Service"
Staff, The Associated Press - " Collapse of the Caliphate"
Staff, The New York Times - " Harassed"

Burl Osborne Award for Editorial Leadership

Dave Helling, The Kansas City Star - " The case against a $1 billion no-bid contract"
Carolyn Lumsden, The Hartford Courant - " Crumbling Foundations"
Evan Mintz, Andrea White, Doug Miller and Joe Holley, Houston Chronicle - " Flooding in Houston"

Deborah Howell Award for Writing Excellence

Tony Bartelme, The Post and Courier - " Stickin' With the Pig: A Tale of Loyalty and Loss"
Claire Galofaro, The Associated Press - " Trump Country"
Kale Williams, The Oregonian/OregonLive - " The Loneliest Polar Bear"

Dori J. Maynard Award for Justice in Journalism

Paul Kiel and Hannah Fresques, ProPublica - " Too Broke for Bankruptcy"
John Schmid, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel - " A Time to Heal"

Frank A. Blethen Award for Local Accountability Reporting

Mike Baker and Justin Mayo, The Seattle Times - " Quantity of Care"
Patricia Callahan, Chicago Tribune - " Doomed by delay"
Shannon Mullen, Payton Guion and Paul D'Ambrosio, Asbury Park Press - " Renter Hell"

Mike Royko Award for Commentary/Column Writing

Yvonne Abraham, The Boston Globe
Petula Dvorak, The Washington Post
Dahleen Glanton, Chicago Tribune

O'Brien Fellowship Award for Impact in Public Service Journalism

Dan Diamond and Rachana Pradhan, POLITICO - " Resignation of HHS Secretary Tom Price"
Marisa Kwiatkowski, Mark Alesia and Tim Evans, The Indianapolis Star - " Out of balance"
Raquel Rutledge, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel - " Mexico blackouts"
Staff, The Kansas City Star - " Why so secret, Kansas?"

Punch Sulzberger Award for Online Storytelling

Clare Baldwin, Andrew R.C. Marshall, Manuel Mogato and more staff, Reuters - " Duterte's War"
Staff, The Arizona Republic with the USA TODAY Network- " The Wall"
Staff, Tampa Bay Times - " Why Cops Shoot"

Breaking News Writing Award

Staff, Houston Chronicle - " Breaking news coverage of Hurricane Harvey"
Staff, The Press Democrat - " Northern California wildfires

Photojournalism Award

Lisa Krantz, San Antonio Express-News - "Rowan's Reach"
Nichole Sobecki, The GroundTruth Project - "A Climate for Conflict"
Staff, San Francisco Chronicle - "The Wine Country Fires"


A group of news leaders and journalism professionals around the nation determined finalists and winners. In addition to the ASNE Awards Committee Co-Chairs Brian McGrory of The Boston Globe and George Stanley of Gannett and the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, judges include:

Eddie Alvarez, Miami Herald
Nancy Ancrum, Miami Herald
Richard Aregood
Nancy Barnes, Houston Chronicle
Peter Bhatia, Detroit Free Press
Alfredo Carbajal, Al Día at The Dallas Morning News
Nicole Carroll, USA TODAY
Paul Cheung, NBC News
Rick Christie, The Palm Beach Post
Bill Church, GateHouse Media
Jim Collins, NBC News
Audrey Cooper, San Francisco Chronicle
Lucy Dalglish, University of Maryland
Manny Garcia, USA TODAY Network
Emilio Garcia-Ruiz, The Washington Post
Kyndell Harkness, Minneapolis Star Tribune 
Jennifer Hemmingsen, The Compass in the Cayman Islands
Jean Hodges, GateHouse Media
Mark Horvit, University of Missouri, formerly with the Investigative Reporters and Editors
Dick Hughes, Willamette University in Oregon
Emily Le Coz, GateHouse Media
Karen Magnuson, Rochester (New York) Democrat & Chronicle
Colin McMahon, Chicago Tribune
Angie Muhs, The State Journal-Register in Springfield, Illinois
Ileana Oroza, formerly with the University of Miami
Paul Owens, Orlando Sentinel
Karen Peterson, Tampa Bay Times
David Plazas, The Tennessean
Mitch Pugh, The Post and Courier in Charleston, South Carolina
Amy Pyle, Reveal from The Center for Investigative Reporting
Mike Reilly, Omaha World-Herald
Liz Roldan, CBS4 Miami
Eve Samples, Treasure Coast Newspapers
Gissela SantaCruz, Austin-American Statesman
Ellen Stein, The Durango Herald
Mizell Stewart III, Gannett/USA TODAY Network
Joyce Terhaar, formerly with The Sacramento Bee
Lillian Thomas, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette
Hollis Towns, Asbury Park Press
Anne Vasquez, tronc, Inc.
John Voskuhl, Bloomberg News
Eric Wieffering, Minneapolis Star Tribune
Mike Wilson, The Dallas Morning News
Stan Wischnowski, Philadelphia Media Network


About the American Society of News Editors
The  American Society of News Editors focuses on leadership development and journalism-related issues. Founded in 1922 as a nonprofit professional organization, ASNE promotes fair, principled journalism; defends and protects First Amendment rights; and fights for freedom of information and open government. Leadership, innovation, diversity and inclusion in coverage and the journalism work force, opinion journalism, news literacy and the sharing of ideas are also key ASNE initiatives.

ASNE membership


It's easy to become an ASNE member! Simply click on the "JOIN NOW!" button to start the process. Already a member but want to log in to renew your membership, see the directory of members or update your contact information? Click on the  "Forgot your password?" link at, and you will receive an email immediately with your information.


If you have trouble logging in, then please contact ASNE Communications Coordinator Jiyoung Won at or 573-882-2430.

Donate to ASNE Foundation

DonateButton The ASNE Foundation solicits contributions in support of ASNE and its commitment to professional journalism, newsroom leadership and diversity, and open government and a free press. The Foundation is a 501(c)(3) organization, so the gifts it receives are fully deductible as charitable contributions.
Follow us on Twitter
Like us on Facebook