Thank for you for signing the petition to support transit funding in Indiana. When we contacted you in November, we let you know that we would be calling on you during this 2012 General Assembly to show that support again by contacting Indiana legislators. This is our first call to action!  We need your help NOW!

The House Ways and Means Committee is considering House Bill 1073, which provides:

  • A method for the public to express their support for transit funding through a referendum;
  • Local Home Rule, the role of local government to make decisions in the best interests of the people it serves;
  • A method to partially fund mass transit through the flexibility to increase a local option income tax to become a dedicated funding source.

Be aware that the language of the bill could change slightly before the vote and through the legislative process. You can get additional information about the bill and background info here


Right now, our goal is to demonstrate public support for "yes" votes on HB 1073 so that the House Ways and Means Committee will pass it. This first call to action is focused on those representative (names and contact info below), and it is important we contact every member of the committee. 

There are two preferred ways to contact legislators:

Via telephone: 

The Indiana House switchboard number is 1-800-382-9841. If you call, we suggest you say: "Hello, this is (state your name). I am calling to ask Representative (state his/her name) to vote FOR HB1073 in the Ways and Means Committee. Thank You."


If you happen to be a constituent of the Representative you call, please include that in your statement, simply saying "I am a constituent of Rep. XXX, and I live at XXX"


Please remember, this is a switchboard number.  The person who answers the phone does not impact the vote.  They are employed by the State and will take your call and record your sentiment.  This information is reported to the staff and legislators contacted.


Via email:
If you email, please keep the email brief. The email will be received by his/her legislative assistant, and likely will be aggregated into a list, to be presented to the legislator en masse. You will likely receive an automatic reply message thanking you for your email and stating that the matter is important and that they will look into it. This is standard practice.


At a minimum please make the same statement as you would in the phone call: "Hello, this is (state your name). I am contacting to ask Representative (state his/her name) to vote FOR HB1073 in the Ways and Means Committee. Thank You." If you happen to be a constituent of the Representative you call, please include that in your statement, simply saying "I am a constituent of Rep. XXX, and I live at XXX"



We encourage you, in your own words, to also share why improved mass transit is important to you and your neighbors, and that you would be willing to pay a bit more in taxes to pay for improved service. If you are constituent, or know the legislator personally, you should mention that. For example you might say: "I am a constituent of yours. I live at XXX. I met you at the Bob Evans restaurant last fall."


If you are willing to let us know once you've made contact, it will help us track our advocacy effort. You can blind copy us at info@indianacat.org on emails or send us a separate email if you've made phone calls. Thank you! 

Remember, our main goal at this time is to get a bill approved by the Ways and Means Committee, in order to keep this mass transit proposal alive.


Members of the committee and email addresses are here. The switchboard number to reach all representatives is 1-800-382-9841.

Chair: Representative Jeff Espich              h82@in.gov 

Representative Suzanne Crouch               h78@in.gov 
Representative Bob Cherry                       h53@in.gov 
Representative Thomas Dermody              h20@in.gov 
Representative Phyllis Pond                     h85@in.gov 

Representative Milo Smith                        h59@in.gov 
Representative Jeff Thompson                   h28@in.gov 
Representative Jim Baird                          h44@in.gov 

Representative Edward Clere                    h72@in.gov 
Representative Mike Karickhoff                 h30@in.gov 

Representative Rebecca Kubacki              h22@in.gov

Representative Dan Leonard                     h50@in.gov    

Representative Richard McClain                h24@in.gov

Representative Randy Truitt                      h26@in.gov  

Representative Eric Turner                        h32@in.gov                      
Representative Matt Ubelhor                     h62@in.gov                        
Representative William Crawford               h98@in.gov                      

Representative Mara Candelaria Reardon   h12@in.gov        
Representative Terry Goodin                     h66@in.gov                      

Representative Clyde Kersey                     h43@in.gov                       
Representative Sheila Klinker                    h27@in.gov                       

Representative Win Moses                        h81@in.gov                       
Representative Scott Pelath                      h09@in.gov                       
Representative Cherrish Pryor                   h94@in.gov                       
Representative Peggy Welch                    h60@in.gov                       



Thank you for your time and effort in taking action. This is the part of our great democratic process in which you can you engage in a meaningful way on an issue that matters to you. We appreciate your support! Please don't hesitate to let us know if you have any questions or need additional information.