May 17, 2017

Dear Members:
There are a few items of importance to share with you regarding recent news at the Akron Bar Association and Akron Bar Foundation.
As you likely know, our Annual Meeting is on June 22 at Lake Forest Country Club in Hudson. Please join us as David Lewis becomes President of the Akron Bar Association. Register here

Other members accepting leadership roles are:
•             Bill Chris – President-elect
•             John Martin – Treasurer
•             Susan Durr – Secretary and Chair of the Futures Commission
•             Bradley S.S. Dunn, Marietta Pavlidis and Irv Sugerman - Trustees
Also during the meeting, Association members will vote on recommended changes to the Code of Regulations. An email with these changes was sent to all of our members on May 16, 2017. Here are a few highlights:

  • Secretary and Chair of our Futures Commission Clair Dickinson reviewed the Code for inconsistencies and contradictions to the Code itself as well as other Akron Bar policies, etc. Many of the changes you see are dedicated to creating consistency across all of the Association’s governing documents;
  • An expansion of the definition of non-attorneys who may join the Association;
  • The inclusion of the Immediate Past-President as an officer of the Association as well as an expansion of the Secretary’s role to include that as Chair of the Futures Commission overseeing strategic planning. Both of these changes reflect current practice;
  • After a comprehensive assessment of the Judicial Campaign Conduct committee (including conversations with many relevant leaders and others involved in the process) and the resulting analysis, deliberation, and vote of the Board of Trustees, the draft changes reflect the elimination of the Judicial Campaign Conduct Committee. Reasons are numerous and nuanced and were fully vetted by a special task force and the board of trustees in order to maintain goodwill for the candidates and members of the Akron Bar.
  • The creation of co-chairs on the Commission on Judicial Candidates and the requirement they belong to different political parties.
Lastly, it is with deep appreciation and gratitude that we acknowledge a significant donation from the Law Library Committee of the Akron Bar Foundation that will fully retire the mortgage on the Akron Bar offices located at 57 S. Broadway Street. This transformative gift will be fully recognized and celebrated at the Annual Meeting on June 22. We certainly hope you will join us for this additional celebration at the Annual Meeting. The members of the Law Library Committee are:
•             Patricia A. Vance, Co-Chair
•             Hamilton DeSaussure Jr., Co-Chair
•             Angelina C. Gingo
•             Jeffrey N. James
•             Dianne R. Newman
•             Russell Smith
•             John W. Solomon