April 8, 2016
Vol. 3, Issue 12
Board of Trustees

Chairman of the Board
Anna U. Bustamante
District 3

Vice Chair
Dr. Yvonne Katz
District 7

Joe Alderete, Jr.
District 1

Asst. Secretary
Clint Kingsbery
District 8

Denver McClendon
District 2

Marcelo S. Casillas
District 4

Roberto Zarate
District 5

Dr. Gene Sprague
District 6

James Rindfuss
District 9

Sami C. Adames
Student Trustee


Dr. Bruce Leslie
Alamo Colleges
Alamo Colleges' Academies CyberPatriot Team Wins Fifth
San Antonio Mayor's Cyber Cup
(l to r) Major General Ed Wilson, 24th Air Force Commander, congratulates CyberPatriot Team Members Eli Ross (Homeschool, New Braunfels), Hector Iruegas (Warren HS), Kyle Volz (Alamo Heights HS), Reed Eggleston (Marshall HS), Brendan Downs (Warren HS) and Carlson Lindley (Homeschool, New Braunfels), together with San Antonio Mayor Ivy Taylor

The Alamo Colleges Alamo Academies Information Technology and Security (ITSA) CyberPatriot team has been awarded the 2016 San Antonio Mayor's Cyber Cup for the fifth time in the last six years. This is the same team that also qualified as one of the top twelve in the nation and is heading to the CyberPatriot National Finals Competition in Baltimore next week.  

The students represent three high schools (Warren HS, Marshall HS and Alamo Heights HS) and two homeschools.  The team also includes students from the San Antonio and New Braunfels communities. Each of the winning team members was presented with a $1,000 Air Force Association scholarship, a leather bomber jacket, a new iPad and a full scholarship.

Alamo Colleges Signs Partnership Agreement for Advanced Manufacturing Training Program in Mexico
Alamo Colleges' officials and representatives from the Mexican
state of Aguascalientes and a university consortium signed
a partnership agreement to establish an advanced manufacturing training program in the city of Aguascalientes.

Following up on meetings led by Alamo Colleges' Chancellor Dr. Bruce Leslie, Dr. Federico Zaragoza, Alamo Colleges' vice chancellor for economic and workforce development, and Carol Fimmen, district director of international programs, recently traveled to Aguascalientes, Mexico for the signing of a partnership agreement to establish an Advanced Manufacturing Training program and center in the city. 

The five-year agreement to create the training program and the center was signed by representatives from the Alamo Colleges, the state of Aguascalientes and a consortium of five Mexican technological universities.  The center, focusing on training for the auto industry, will be housed at the Universidad Technologica de Aguascalientes (UTA). 

The Alamo Colleges was chosen for this initiative based on the success of its Toyota Advanced Manufacturing Technician Program in San Antonio, which serves as a national and international model for such efforts. The program in Aguascalientes is designed to train the thousands of workers needed in the state's many auto manufacturing plants and by their suppliers as well. 

In preparation for the new program, nine university faculty members from Mexico received training and earned Manufacturing Skills Standards Council (MSSC) certification at the Alamo Colleges' Workforce Center of Excellence (WCE) in San Antonio. They will work through the Alamo Colleges to offer MSSC certification training to other faculty and students from all across Mexico using existing facilities at the UTA. The MSSC certification is required for workers at auto plants and their suppliers. 

In August, an additional 30 university faculty members from Mexico will receive MSSC and Automotive Manufacturing Technical Education Collaborative (AMTEC) training and certification at the WCE. The AMTEC training is the next level above MSSC certification.

Diane Snyder, Alamo Colleges'
vice chancellor for finance and administration, has been named
an Aspen Presidential Fellow.

Alamo Colleges' Vice Chancellor Snyder Awarded National
Aspen Presidential Fellowship

Diane Snyder, Alamo Colleges' vice chancellor for finance and administration, has been awarded the prestigious Aspen Presidential Fellowship for Community College Excellence. The Aspen Institute, an educational and policy studies organization, based in Washington, D.C., named Snyder to the inaugural class of the Aspen Presidential Fellows, a diverse group of 40 extraordinary leaders with the drive and capacity to transform community colleges in order to achieve higher levels of student success.

Snyder was selected through a rigorous process that considered her abilities to take strategic risks, lead strong teams and cultivate partnerships, and focus on results-oriented improvements in student success and access.
The Aspen Presidential Fellowship for Community College Excellence aims to equip college leaders with the tools they need to dramatically improve student outcomes. The Fellowship is a highly selective year-long program to prepare leaders aspiring, or recently appointed, to the community college presidency. Fellows will participate in a series of innovative seminars and ongoing mentorship focused on a new vision for leadership, delivered in collaboration with Stanford University faculty and top community college leaders.
The 2016-2017 Aspen Presidential Fellows hail from 17 states and 30 community colleges of varying sizes and will begin their program in July 2016 at Stanford University, with anticipated completion in Spring 2017.

Let us hear from you! Send your comments on our newsletter to 

The Alamo Colleges mission is: empowering our diverse communities for success. Our vision is: the Alamo Colleges will be the best in the nation in student success and performance excellence. The Alamo Colleges is one district with five community colleges serving more than 90,000 students annually from Bexar County and seven other counties in our service area. We provide an affordable, quality college education that leads to associate degrees, certificates and transfers to four-year universities. Hundreds of thousands of Bexar County residents who have come through the Alamo Colleges education programs are major contributors to the economy and culture of Sa
n Antonio.