May 6, 2016
Vol. 3, Issue 16
Board of Trustees

Chairman of the Board
Anna U. Bustamante
District 3

Vice Chair
Dr. Yvonne Katz
District 7

Joe Alderete, Jr.
District 1

Asst. Secretary
Clint Kingsbery
District 8

Denver McClendon
District 2

Marcelo S. Casillas
District 4

Roberto Zarate
District 5

Dr. Gene Sprague
District 6

James Rindfuss
District 9

Emmanuel Nyong
Student Trustee


Dr. Bruce Leslie
Alamo Colleges
Alamo Colleges Recognizes CyberPatriot Team and Faculty
(l to r) Faculty members Pete Ortega, Mike Matuszek, Diana Garcez and Troy Touchette honored the ITSA Academy CyberPatriot team
at a celebratory breakfast.

The Alamo Colleges' Alamo Academies Information Technology and Security (ITSA) CyberPatriot team, along with all ITSA students and faculty, were recently honored at a celebratory breakfast. Alamo Colleges' Chancellor Dr. Bruce Leslie, Vice Chancellor for Economic and Workforce Development Dr. Federico Zaragoza and Alamo Academies Executive Director Gene Bowman praised the CyberPatriot team, the ITSA students and the faculty for their achievements.

The ITSA CyberPatriot team was one of 12 national finalists out of 3,300 entries nationwide who won their regional championship and earned a chance to compete in the CyberPatriot National Finals. The team also won the San Antonio Mayor's Cyber Cup for the fifth time. 

The students acknowledged that their achievements were made possible by the support of the faculty and their coaches. They are: Troy Touchette, Computer Information Systems department chair; Diane Garcez; Delia Joseph; Mike Matuszek; Kim Muschalek; Pete Ortega; Maurine Reed; and Benjamin Schubert. Other faculty members who have recently taught in the academy are: David Acosta; Ken Puhaly; and Jon Dennison. All of those listed are Alamo Colleges - San Antonio College faculty.

Alamo Colleges' Board of Trustees Approves
New Faculty Engaged Decision-Making Model
Members of the Faculty Engaged Decision-Making Model
Process and Design Team included faculty and administrators.

At their regular meeting April 26, the Alamo Colleges' Board of Trustees approved Chancellor Dr. Bruce Leslie's recommendation to adopt a new faculty engaged decision-making model that enables faculty stakeholders to provide input and feedback on system-wide, institutional, non-curricular issues for which faculty input is needed. The model includes new and revised faculty and administrative processes, as well as a means for direct faculty input to the Board.

The trustees acted as "sponsors" of the model, which was created by the process and design team, co-championed by Lisa Black, Alamo Colleges - San Antonio College faculty member and president of the Faculty Super Senate, and Alamo Colleges - Palo Alto College President Dr. Mike Flores. The team was  assisted by Dr. Patrick Sanaghan, Joseph Battista, Amy Bosley, and Katie Tagye Shephard from Valencia College, who inspired the Alamo Colleges' team with the Valencia College design and the success of their approach. 

Alamo Colleges - St. Philip's College is hosting the 6th Annual Empowering Males to Build Opportunities for Developing Independence Men of Color conference May 6.

Alamo Colleges - St. Philip's College Hosts 6th Annual Men of Color Conference

On Saturday, May 6, Alamo Colleges - St.Philip's College (SPC) will host the 6th Annual Empowering Males to Build Opportunities for Developing Independence (EMBODI): Men of Color Conference. The conference is free and open to male middle, high school and college students. 

The program is designed to collaborate with established organizations and agencies to address the plight of an often overlooked demographic: young men of color. EMBODI is designed to address these issues through dialogue and recommendations for change and action. The conference is sponsored by SPC, Alamo Colleges - Northeast Lakeview College, Alamo Colleges - Northwest Vista College and Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. Click here for more information or to register.

Let us hear from you! Send your comments on our newsletter to 

The Alamo Colleges mission is: empowering our diverse communities for success. Our vision is: the Alamo Colleges will be the best in the nation in student success and performance excellence. The Alamo Colleges is one district with five community colleges serving more than 90,000 students annually from Bexar County and seven other counties in our service area. We provide an affordable, quality college education that leads to associate degrees, certificates and transfers to four-year universities. Hundreds of thousands of Bexar County residents who have come through the Alamo Colleges education programs are major contributors to the economy and culture of Sa
n Antonio.