An Unlikely Newsletter
September 6, 2017
Sandra Boynton
September 6th is Read a Book Day! Sandra Boynton's hippo is reading about chocolate; coincidentally, Sandra, our Cafe Manager is baking brownies, so the smell of chocolate is everywhere! Come in to shelter from the storm with a good book and a snack. Our tables are laden with new books arriving each day, from witchy histories to spy thrillers. What will you be reading today?
In This Newsletter
Countdown to The Getaway!
The Getaway
We're in the home stretch for the release of the 12th book in the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series: The Getaway! We will be the only bookstore with signed copies on release day, Tuesday, November 7th, so make sure to pre-order your copy here; supplies will be limited.

Thursday, September 7th at 4pm
Join Broadway singer Lisa Batch as she does a musical storytelling for children with her book, The First Song. A smart and brave cavegirl transforms a land of conflict into one of harmony through the universal language of music. Animals and humans sing together in the first song ever sung! Get your tickets now!

Roseann Stoia
Roseann Sdoia, a survivor of the Boston Marathon bombing, will come to An Unlikely Story to talk about how being in the wrong place at the worst time can lead to unexpectedly beautiful things, how traumas in our lives can lead to the most life-affirming moments, the biggest adventures, and the most important relationships. Her new book, Perfect Strangers is about recovery, about choosing joy and human connection over anger and resentment, and most of all, it's about an unlikely but enduring friendship that grew out of the tragedy of Boston's worst day. Register now for this free event!  

Mike Lupica
Thursday, September 14th at 7pm
Mike Lupica, "the greatest sports writer for middle school readers" will visit An Unlikely Story to introduce his new book, Lone Stars, an uplifting story about role models, football, and tackling fear set in the heart of Friday Night Lights country. Register now for this free event!

On the Second Story OldSchool
3 sessions beginning Thursday, September 14th - 6:30pm to 8:00pm
Join us as we use mentor texts of poetry, fiction, and non-fiction to discover our writing selves. Be ready to write, share, laugh! Support and prompts provided by Mary Alice Gruppi, experienced writing facilitator and coach. Three sessions, September 14th, 21st, and 28th. Bring your favorite pen, pencil, and paper, or tablet. Click here for tickets!
The Core Energy Coaching Process helps you develop a personally effective style that positively influences and changes not only yourself, but also those with whom you work and interact, your organization, and even your family and friends. Core Energy Coaching helps people better manage their lives, create greater fulfillment, and identify and live their dreams. Click here for tickets and more information!

Learn the fundamentals of Pilates during this hour-long mat Pilates class. Pilates emphasizes the use of your core and stabilizing muscles, while helping increase strength, flexibility, balance, and coordination. The workout will cover a wide range of functional movements, and body weight exercises. Bring only a yoga mat and yourself, this class is open to all fitness levels. Click here for tickets and more information!
Bookseller recommendations Recommendations
Kinda recommends:
A Paris All Your Own
A Paris All Your Own
edited by Eleanor Brown

As if your mind has decided to shut down and fly off to Paris, this anthology celebrates the experiences of 18 bestselling women authors living in Paris. It is beautiful, light, insightful, and you will feel closer than ever to the writers as they share their most memorable and even least favorite times at the city of light.

Kym recommends:
The Child Finder
The Child Finder  
by Rene Denfield

Naomi finds missing children, with the uncanny insight gained from her childhood experience as a kidnap victim. Madison has been missing for three years, and her parents turn to Naomi as a last, desperate chance to find their daughter. Naomi searches Oregon's Skookum National Forest for clues, and continues to grapple with the aftermath of her own experience. This is an incredible novel, perfect for fans of Emma Donaghue's Room.  
Jenna recommends:
The Kiss of Deception
The Kiss of Deception  
Mary E. Pearson
Princess Lia is running away from an arranged marriage to find her own way. What she doesn't know is that the two young men courting her are the very prince she jilted, and an assassin from a rival kingdom, both in disguise. Sophisticated, articulate, and romantic, get your girl power fix here!

More staff picks  »
Cards & Gifts Gifts
One benefit to the end of Summer is the beginning of football season! The Pats first game is this Thursday, and we have just what you need to show the love. Brady socks, Patriots flags and signs, and best of all: Tackle Buddy! Inflate your Patriots, Red Sox or Bruins Tackle Buddy and get ready for the game! There's also a smaller version: the mini-Bop bag.  
In Our Community Community
Scores of King Philip High School students, coaches, sports captains, and athletes are joining forces with leaders of the community and dozens of others to help a fellow student and his Plainville family meet the overwhelming costs involved in fighting a challenging battle against a fierce, life-limiting competitor, Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy (DMD). Activities will include basketball, home run derby, volleyball, flag football, a golf ball drop, face painting, DJ, raffles, food, and more. Raffle prizes include an exclusive Wimpy Kid Studio Tour, Patriots tickets, Celtics tickets, and more! Click here to visit the Raise Up Ryan Fundraiser page.
New in Hardcover NewReleases
The World of Tomorrow
A Legacy of Spies
A Secret History of Witches
Under a Pole Star
Drive for Five
The World of Tomorrow
Brendan Mathews
John le Carré
Louisa Morgan
Under a Pole Star
Stf Penney
Drive for Five
Christopher Price
New in Paperback
The Wonder
The Other Alcott
Born to Run
Belichick and Brady
Being Mortal
Emma Donaghue
Elise Hooper
Bruce Springsteen
Michael Holley
Atul Gawande
New in Childrens

Store Hours:
Monday - Saturday 9:00am - 9:00pm
Sunday 9:00am - 6:00pm

Phone: (508) 699-0244

Happy Reading!
Kym Havens
An Unlikely Story

Like us on Facebook   Follow us on Twitter   View on Instagram