WEBSITE     ABOUT US     STORE INFO     CAFÉ     EVENTS
An Unlikely Newsletter
May 10, 2017
Sandra _ Leo
Do you recognize those smiling faces to the left? We are so lucky to have Sandra DePina leading our Café and Leo Landry leading our Bookstore! They are amazingly talented, voracious readers, and just the nicest people you would ever want to work with. Stop by  say hello next time you're in the neighborhood.  Congratulations to them both!
In This Newsletter
Saturday, May 13th at 4:00pm
We're delighted to introduce an author with a career in funny! Marty Pants #1: Do Not Open! is Mark Parisi's debut novel, but he's no stranger to making people laugh. Since 1987, his comic strip series, Off the Mark, has been running daily in newspapers around the country. Mark comes highly recommended by one of our Unlikely favorites, Lincoln Peirce, author of the Big Nate series: "Funny and engaging. Marty Pants is a surefire hit!" Register now for this free event.

Benjamin Ludwig
Come meet Benjamin Ludwig in the Unlikely Café where he will read from and sign his stunning debut novel,  Ginny Moon. Through an extraordinarily unique and compelling narrative that gets deep inside the head and heart of an autistic girl, Ludwig constructs a story that is at once big-hearted, suspenseful, moving, funny, and heart-rending. The accolades have begun: Graeme Simsion,  New York Times bestselling author of  The Rosie Project, calls it "a brilliant debut," and Margot Livesey, New York Times bestselling author of Mercury and The Flight of Gemma Hardy says, "Benjamin Ludwig does such a wonderful job of conjuring Ginny onto the page and of making us turn those pages at breathless speed. Ginny Moon is a sparkling debut." Register now for this free event.

Victoria Kann
Sunday, May 21st at 2pm
We are tickled PINK to welcome Victoria Kann, the author-artist of the Pinkalicious series of picture books, to introduce her new picture book, Peterrific, starring Pinkalicious' brother Peter, whose adventures are sure to be terrific. We have lots of exclusive goodies for attendees including sparkly pencils, Peterrific growth charts, tattoos, stickers, crowns, and I Can Read journals! Register now for this free event!

More Unlikely Events  »
On the Second Story OldSchool
Beginning Saturday, May 13th at 10:00am
Come join us for our first ever parent and child yoga class with Diane from Yoga Strong. This will be a fun bonding experience for parents and children and will encourage movement, positive energy and restorative practices. This class is recommended for parents and children ages 1-3. Diane will have some extra yoga mats but if children are able to bring in their own, it would be much appreciated. Various dates - click here for registration!

Saturday, May 20th, 7:00pm
As springtime hits full-swing, we celebrate the nutritional abundance of fresh, local food with another Farm-To-Table Dinner.  Farmer Sam will grow, gather and prepare an omnivorous meal featuring crisp spring greens, shoots, fungi and more.  Attendees should expect a filling four course meal complete with music and the ambiance of a truly community based event.  To register, and for more information, click here.

Beginning Wednesday, May 17th at 7:00pm
Six evenings devoted to exploring the ins and outs of screenwriting, geared for those with little or no previous experience. This course prioritizes screenwriting basics, correct format for screenplays, steps to strengthening your storyline with Blake Snyder's structure map, and tips to revising scenes. By participating in a workshop, you will receive coverage of dialogue writing and character development, advice on creating loglines and structure maps, various writing exercises, and more! To register, and for more information, click here.
In the Café Cafe
Coffee House Night
Back by popular demand, we are THRILLED to re-introduce our Coffee House Nights with a unique twist, beginning Thursday, May 11th at 6pm! To encourage creativity in the local community, we are seeking artists to play original music and/or read their poetry. Each act will be given 15 minutes to perform and there will be a 5-minute break in between performances for breakdown and set up. Since our store is a family-friendly environment, we ask that the material from each performer be appropriate for all ages. To register for a performance time slot, please call the store at 508-699-0244 or email Shaelyn at shaelyn@anunlikelystory.com. Dates for the series are listed on the Events page of our website.
Storytime SummerReading
Sunday, May 28th at 3pm
Rock, Paper, Scissors, SHOOT!  You've played the game,  now join us when we read the hilarious legend of the three great warriors who started it all:  The Legend of Rock, Paper Scissors by Drew Daywalt!  Following the reading, we will host a Rock, Paper, Scissors Tournament with prizes for the winner and runner up.  Tournament players will also have the opportunity to paint rocks.  This event is for children ages 7+ and limited to 32 participants;  put on your BATTLE PANTS and be a part of this special weekend event as we celebrate our second anniversary here at An Unlikely Story. Register HERE!
Bookseller recommendations Recommendations
Kym recommends:
Since We Fell
Since We Fell
by Dennis Lehane

Dennis Lehane is incredible. I started reading Since We Fell, thinking I was reading a particular novel. Then halfway through, the story reaches the top of the roller coaster and off you go, hanging on for dear life and cheering on the characters. Guaranteed to be a bestseller!


Lynda recommends:
Rise _ Shine Benedict Stone
Rise & Shine Benedict Stone
by Phaedra Patrick
From the author of The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper comes the story of a man stuck in quiet, unchanging ordinariness. Arthur lives in the same small town, the same house that he grew up in and continues to run the jewelry business his parents started many years ago. He and his wife, Estelle, have not been blessed with a child, which in his mind would complete their family. Estelle moves out, Arthur's estranged brother's daughter, Gemma, arrives and life begins to blossom again in delightful ways. (Available May 16th)

Lisa recommends:
Real Friends
Real Friends
by Shannon Hale and LeUyen Pham

Shannon Hale's story about learning how to navigate friendships - from wanting to be part of the group but still be yourself to learning what a "true" friend is - is spot on. LeUyen Pham's wonderful illustrations add to the understanding of the character's emotions. Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's books and Victoria Jamieson's Roller Girl.

More staff picks  »
Cards & Gifts Gifts
Mother's Day Specials!
Join us on Saturday and choose from a wide array of books, cards, and gifts for Mom! As always, enjoy personal shopping assistance from our booksellers throughout the day, and help from our gift buyers from 10am - 4pm.
Purchase a coloring card and stop by the complimentary Coloring Station to color and add your own message. Free gift wrapping!
New in Hardcover NewReleases
Into the Water
House of Names
Woman No. 17
Since We Fell
Between Them
Into the Water
Paula Hawkins
Colm Tóibín
Edan Lepucki
Since We Fell
Dennis Lehane
Between Them
Richard Ford
New in Paperback
Commonwealth
The Girls
Dark Matter
Falling
Valiant Ambition
Ann Patchett
Emma Cline
Blake Crouch
Jane Green
Nathaniel Philbrick
New in Childrens

Store Hours:
Monday - Saturday 9:00am - 9:00pm
Sunday 9:00am - 6:00pm

Phone: (508) 699-0244

Happy Reading!
Kym Havens
An Unlikely Story

Like us on Facebook   Follow us on Twitter   View on Instagram