Advocate Alert Masthead


Arizona Legislature Allocates $1 Million to State Arts Commission

 

 

Dear advocates,

 

We are extraordinarily pleased to announce that as a result of a huge bipartisan effort in the Arizona Legislature, the FY14 state budget signed by Governor Janice K. Brewer includes an additional $1 million for the Arizona Commission on the Arts.

 

This is a significant restoration of funding the general fund appropriations the Arts Commission lost during the budget crisis of the last five years.  It was the result of long-term dedicated effort by arts-friendly legislators, members of the Arizona Commission on the Arts and arts advocates like you across our state.

 

The $1 million will come  from the interest earned on the state's so-called "rainy day fund." Under the amendment first conceived by Senator Steve Farley, D-Tucson, Arizona State Parks also will receive $1 million for capital projects to restore and repair parks facilities.

The new Arts Commission funding is in addition to the approximate $1.4 million received from the Arts Trust which is derived from a portion of business fees paid to the Arizona Corporation Commission.  

 

According to Arts Commission chair, Mark Feldman, "This landmark funding will be applied to the Arts Commission's statewide grantmaking activities, which catalyze nonprofit arts organizations, community groups and schools to provide opportunities for Arizonans to participate in and experience the arts. New funding will not be applied to agency operations." (Click here for the Chair's full statement.)

 

While this is a one-time appropriation, it is a major step forward in changing how arts and culture are perceived at the Legislature. This is the most positive thing to happen in the recent memory and it would not have been possible without the relationships that advocates like you have built up with our legislators over the last several years.

 

Now, we need your help to thank the legislators who made this possible.

 

Throughout the process, Senator Farley, a member of the Arizona Citizens Action for the Arts board, championed this amendment with strong support from State Senators John McComish, Steve Pierce and Michele Reagan, and State Representatives Ethan Orr, Karen Fann, Kate Brophy McGee (also an AzCAA board member) and Bob Robson.

 

This core group was joined by the other Republican legislators who joined with the Democratic caucus to pass the Arts and Parks amendment along with Governor Brewer's budget and Medicaid expansion plan.  

 

Please take some time today, to contact the following members of the Legislature who chose to stand up for Arizona arts and culture, and thank them restoring funding for the remarkable contributions arts and parks make to local jobs and businesses, tourism, quality of life and education of our young people.

 

State Senate Members

 

Steve Pierce, R-1,  spierce@azleg.gov 

Linda Lopez, D-2,  llopez@azleg.gov

Olivia Cajero Bedford, D-3,  ocajerobedford@azleg.gov

Lynne Pancrazi, D-4,  lpancrazi@azleg.gov

Jack Jackson Jr., D-7, jjackson@azleg.gov

Barbara McGuire, D-8,  bmcguire@azleg.gov

Steve Farley, D-9,  sfarley@azleg.gov

David Bradley, D-10,  dbradley@azleg.gov

Rich Crandall, R-16, rcrandall@azleg.gov

John McComish, R-18,  jmccomish@azleg.gov

Anna Tovar, D-19,  atovar@azleg.gov

Michele Reagan, R-23, mreagan@azleg.gov

Katie Hobbs, D-24,  khobbs@azleg.gov

Bob Worsley, R-25,  bworsley@azleg.gov

Ed Ableser, D-26,  eableser@azleg.gov

Leah Landrum Taylor, D-27,  llandrum@azleg.gov

Adam Driggs, R-28,  adriggs@azleg.gov

Steve Gallardo, D-29,  sgallardo@azleg.gov

Robert Meza, D-30,   rmeza@azleg.gov

 

 

House of Representative Members

Rosanna Gabald�n, D-2,  rgabaldon@azleg.gov

Sally Ann Gonzales, D-3,  sgonzales@azleg.gov

Macario Saldate IV, D-3, msaldate@azleg.gov

Juan Carlos Escamilla, D-4, jescamilla@azleg.gov 

Lisa Otondo, D-4,  lotondo@azleg.gov

Doris Goodale, R-5, , dgoodale@azleg.gov

Jamescita Peshlakai, D-7,  jpeshlakai@azleg.gov

Albert Hale, D-7,  ahale@azleg.gov

Frank Pratt, R-8,  fpratt@azleg.gov

T.J. Shope, R-8,  tshope@azleg.gov

Victoria Steele, D-9,  vsteele@azleg.gov

Ethan Orr, R-9 , eorr@azleg.gov

Stefanie Mach, D-10,  smach@azleg.gov

Bruce Wheeler, D-10,  bwheeler@azleg.gov

Heather Carter, R-15,  hcarter@azleg.gov

Doug Coleman, R-8,  dcoleman@azleg.gov

Jeff Dial, R-18,  jdial@azleg.gov

Bob Robson, R-18,  brobson@azleg.gov

Lupe Chavira Contreras, D-19, lcontreras@azleg.gov

Mark A. Cardenas, D-19,  mcardenas@azleg.gov

Chad Campbell, D-24, chcampbell@azleg.gov

Lela Alston, D-24,  lalston@azleg.gov

Juan Mendez, D-26, , jmendez@azleg.gov

Andrew Sherwood, D-26,  asherwood@azleg.gov

Ruben Gallego, D- 27,  rgallego@azleg.gov

Catherine H. Miranda, D-27,  cmiranda@azleg.gov

Kate Brophy McGee, R-28,  kbrophymcgee@azleg.gov

Eric Meyer, D-28, emeyer@azleg.gov

Mart�n J. Quezada, R-29,  mquezada@azleg.gov

Lydia Hern�ndez, D-29, lhernandez@azleg.gov 

Jonathan Larkin, D-30,  jlarkin@azleg.gov

Debbie McCune Davis, D-30, ddavis@azleg.gov  

 
STAY CONNECTED

Like us on Facebook       Follow us on Twitter