Boston Light: Tales of a Lighthouse Keeper

Hear stories of America's first lighthouse from its 70th keeper. 

Sally Snowman, PhD, will be at the Central Library on Wednesday, May 16 at 6 PM to share about her life as a lighthouse keeper in the Boston Harbor. She will present illustrations and photographs that chronicle the 302-year history of Boston Light. 

For more information contact Julie at (617) 623-5000 ext. 2966 or jwalker@minlib.net or visit our Facebook event page.
Library Closed for Staff Development on Friday, May 18

We_re training to better serve you 
The Central and East Branch Library will be closed from 9 AM to 1 PM on Friday, May 18 for Mental Health Awareness  training.*
 
The  training  will be a hybrid presentation of how mental illness presents and tips for de-escalation, and will be facilitated by Mary Shannon Thomas, LICSW.  
 
This program is sponsored by the Massachusetts Library System and Massachusetts Department of Mental Health to help support residents in need of shelter and mental health services. 
 
*The West Branch is open 2 PM to 6 PM on Fridays. 
   
Adult Recommendations 
This issue's recommendations come courtesy of Mary, Meg, Lilly, and Cassie at the Central Library.
 
Less: a Novel by Andrew Sean Greer (Winner of the Pulitzer Prize)
How do you escape the dreaded wedding of a former lover? Well, take a trip around the world with this comic hero, enjoying his misadventures, encountering challenges, and all along the way finding love!  Beautiful and amusing, with wistful humor and heartache, Less is not less!
Recommended by Mary
 
less book cover
It doesn't always feel like things are getting better, but we are living longer, healthier, and happier lives than at any other point in history. Steven Pinker examines data and trends over the last five centuries, which show how science has improved quality of life worldwide and will leave you feeling cautiously optimistic about our collective future.
Recommended by Cassie
 
enlightenment now
Refreshingly unconcerned with authenticity, and more "supermarket to table" than "farm to table," Atlanta's Eddie Hernandez mashes up regional Southern and Southwestern cooking traditions and techniques with those of his native Mexico. The result is a collection of recipes with bold and inventive flavors that are somehow comfort food all the same.
Recommended by Meg
turnip greens
Do you dream of living the ex-pat life in your own Paris apartment? Follow along as famous food blogger David Lebovitz chronicles the triumphs, trials, and tribulations of buying and renovating his dream
 apartment in the City of Lights, all while shopping for the day's best produce.

Recommended by Lilly
lappart book cover

Still looking for more? See the Staff Picks page! 
YA (Young Adult) Recommendations
This issue's YA recommendations come from Lilly and Cassie at the Central Library.
 
When Tiffany's mother dies, she is forced to leave Chicago and move in with the her father, who she has never met, and his family in California. Tiffany must decide how much of her former life she is willing to sacrifice to fit in with her new, stricter family. 
Recommended by Cassie
Tiffany Sly
Zélie Adebola lives in Orïsha, a once magical land now ruled by a tyrant king. When Zélie stumbles into a  rogue princess, she is forced on a quest to restore magic to the kingdom and fight against the monarchy. This stellar and highly anticipated debut fantasy novel will not disappoint! 
Recommended by Lilly

children of blood of bone
Maya Aziz's family is the only Indian family in the mostly-white suburb  she calls home. She tries to be herself, fit in at school, and plan for college, while still respecting the wishes of her parents. When a suspected terrorist attack occurs near her home, she and her family face anti-Islamic violence, making her parents even more protective. Maya must decide how she will move forward in the face of so much change and tension. Will she be true to herself or let fear determine her future?
Recommended by Cassie
love hate and other filters

  Tyler Johnson Was Here by Jay Cole 
A read-alike to The Hate U Give and All American Boys, Tyler Johnson Was Here raises the issue of police brutality in the United States. When Tyler Johnson is shot by a police officer at a party, his twin brother Marvin is left to mourn his loss. Marvin tries to cope in the aftermath and take care of his grieving mother, while making sure that his brother's memory is more than a hashtag.
Recommended by Cassie
Tyler Johnson Book Cover

Looking for a couple extra recommendations? Check out our YA Staff Picks  from Ron and Ellen! 
Children's Recommendations
This issue's recommendations come courtesy of Ann and Annamarie at the Central Library.
 
Hello Universe is about fate, destiny, and friendship. Virgil Salinas is shy boy who wants to introduce himself to Valencia Somerset, a deaf girl in his class. Virgil seeks help from Kaori Tanaka,  a self-proclaimed psychic whose hand-made business card he finds at the supermarket. Chet, the neighborhood bully, pulls a prank that traps Virgil and his pet guinea pig at the bottom of a well. Through fate and destiny Valencia, Kaori, and her little sister Gen set out to find and eventually rescue the missing Virgil. 
Recommended by Annamarie

hello universe book cover
Rescue & Jessica: a Life-Changing Friendship by Jessica Kensky and Patrick Downes
This is a story about Rescue, a service dog, and Jessica, a young girl and recent amputee. Rescue helps Jessica regain the abilities she lost from her disability, and Jessica helps Rescue in his role as a service dog. Although Jessica Krensky and her husband Patrick Downes were both injured in the 2013 Boston Marathon bombing, they have left that part of the story out, instead focusing on the work that Rescue does to help Jessica with her everyday tasks and their special bond.
Recommended by Annamarie 
rescue and jessica book cover
This dystopian middle grade novel from the  Shadow  Children series makes for a fast-paced read. Luke, an illegal third child, is now out of hiding after twelve years inside his home. In order to survive in the world, he must learn how to blend in and put aside his fears.  
Recommended by Ann


among the imposters book cover
Children will love helping Crocodile find his way home by going door-to-door in this interactive book. Beautiful and entertaining, this story is a great one to read aloud over and over again. 
Recommended by Ann
what_s next door book cover
Chromebooks Available at the Central Library

chromebook
Would you like to use a computer but not be tied to a desk?

Check out one of our new Chromebooks for use in Wellington Hall. They are fast, lightweight, extremely portable, and can be checked out for two hours at a time. 

For more information, contact the Reference Desk at sommail1@minlib.net or 617.623.5000 ext. 2955. 
Friends of the Library Spring Book Sale

The Friends of the Library Spring Book Sale will be held at the Central Library on the dates and times below:
  • Wednesday, May 95-8 PM
  • Thursday, May 105-8 PM
  • Friday, May 11: 12-4 PM
  • Saturday, May 12: 10AM-2 PM
  • Sunday, May 131-5 PM
If you are interested in learning more about the Friends or becoming more involved with them, email them or read the recent Somerville Journal article about the Friends.
STAY CONNECTED:
Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
View on Instagram