Welcome to The Bookies' Latest Update!                           July 2018 Issue 1
The Bookies Newsletter
Bestselling Author Carol McCloud In Store This Saturday


 
After months of planning and patiently waiting for our turn, The Bo okies is excited to have Carol McCloud finally making her return to us on her latest nationwide tour.  
 
 
BUCKETS, DIPPERS, AND LIDS
The latest book from Carol is here
to teach us all how we keep our happiness in our bucket and how we share it with others. She'll be here this Saturday, July 14th, to discuss it all and to answer questions any parents, teachers, or kids have about her books and her bucket-filling ideas. All of Carol's books will be available for purchase and signing, and she can't wait to meet you!



We are expecting a large crowd so get here early and be ready to have your bucket filled! Can't make it? Don't worry, we have all of Carol's books for sale on our website, and we can put anything on hold for you in the store or ship it to you.




Fresh Ink
Ready to dive into a new book? Get ready to discover the wonder of our latest recommendations below.

Robin Page & Steve Jenkins
There's a reason these books are award-winning, as they instantly engage young readers with incredible photography and truly interesting animal facts.



Carol McCloud
The latest offering in the award-winning bucket-filling series. This volume explores how we use our 'invisible lid'. Carol will be in store on Saturday, July 14th (see story above) to sign her books and explain a concept we all need to hear: How do we keep the happiness we've gathered?    
 
The Harry Potter 20th Anniversary Editions
J.K. Rowling & Brian Selznick
The highly anticipated volumes which celebrate twenty years of Harry are finally out! Not only do these collector's items feature brand-new, breathtaking covers by Brian Selznick, the covers also fit together to form a giant piece of art showcasing the entire series. A perfect addition for the 'Potter Fan Who Has It All' or for your little reader who hasn't yet received their first set.



Thane Maynard
Little Fiona is known as the 'World's Most Famous Baby Hippo', and in this wonderful book you'll see why. Filled with actual photos taken by the staff who helped save the first premature baby hippopotamus raised by humans.   

Rashin Kheiriyeh
The first English-language picture book by award-winning author and illustrator. Kheiriyeh provides a wonderful trip through cultures and the common ideas that cross all languages. Based on an actual early event in her life, which fans can hear more about on the most recent Scholastic Book Club podcast, this story focuses on Iran, New York and, most importantly, ice cream!  

Nothing Stopped Sophie
Cheryl Bardoe & Barbara McClintock
Keeping up with the popular trend of women who deserve to have their stories told, this intricately illustrated picture book explores the truth of the first woman to win a grand prize from the Royal Academy of Sciences. A remarkable story of resilience and commitment.
 
 
The Truest Heart
Jayne Sbarboro
This first book by former teacher and current Bookie, Jayne Sbarboro, is a bona fide hit! Already selling out in our store, we're eager for everyone to discover this wonderful picture book and its important message of being more than the sum of your hurt.   
 
 
 
Front Desk
Kelly Yang
Another author recently featured on the Scholastic Book Club podcast, Yang tells a gripping story set in the 90's of immigration, bullying, race, and what it truly means to be an American. A family of Chinese immigrants helps maintain a motel that quickly becomes a hotspot for troubles and controversy in this book which will resonate with readers today.   

 
 
Badly Drawn Beth
Knife & Packer
There's a reason this series won the Scholastic 'BEST LAUGH OUT LOUD BOOK FOR 6-8's'. Goofy fun in a combination of comic book and novel. Fans of Captain Underpants and Diary of a Wimpy Kid will jump right into Beth's life and adventures.



Treasure Hunters: Danger Down the Nile
James Patterson & Chris Grabenstein
The second Treasure Hunters is now in paperback! Fun adventures and illustrations make this a perfect summer read as readers once more journey with Bick, Beck, Storm, and Tommy Kidd.


 

Bikes + Books + Bucks

The Bookies staff enjoyed our time with everyone at Bike to Work in June. We met hundreds of our neighbors and commuters in the Glendale area and gave out as many gift cards as we could carry. Thank you to everyone who stopped by and said hello! 
Storytime is MONSTROUS in July!

All through July,
we're hosting special MONSTER-themed storytimes every Tuesday from 10:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. We've had two so far and have three to go, ending in a very special celebration of the 200th anniversary of Frankenstein! Watch our Facebook page for more details about all the fun to come!
Bookie Jayne Sbarboro's Book Launch Party

The Bookies is thrilled to host the exclusive launch of Jayne Sbarboro's first book, The Truest Heart. Please join us for this special event celebrating the work of our very own Bookie on Sunday, July 22, from 6:30 p.m. - 8 p.m.