Computer Science and Engineering
Monica Nicolescu in the robotics lab The Department: By the Numbers


608 B.S. students


51 M.S. students

46 Ph.D. students


5 National Merit Scholars


25 Presidential Scholars

Academic Programs

B.S., M.S., Ph.D. in computer science and engineering

Minor and graduate certificate in cyber security

Minor in digital interactive games

Minor in unmanned autonomous systems

Research Productivity

19 tenure-track faculty

1 lecturer

1 research professor

$3.1 million in research awards

$2.2 million  in research expenditures

Department News
Eelke Folmer and a graduate student
Navatar, developed by computer science and engineering professor Eelke Folmer, launched this month on the Android platform
computer servers
Big data offers big opportunities for wind energy 

Armed with the tools of computer science, Lei Yang aims to tame the world's inherent randomness

Full story >>
Shamik Sengupta
Nevada teachers get cybersecurity, computing training

University hosts National Science Foundation summer program to support teaching, research and outreach.

Richard Kelley flies a drone demo New lab with NASA enables research of air traffic platform concepts for unmanned aircraft

Led by department alum Richard Kelley, Ph.D., a team of University researchers are developing software to coordinate autonomous aircraft.

Full story >>
New Faculty
Feng Yan
Feng Yan
Assistant Professor
Software Systems
Ph.D., College of William and Mary
Dongfang Zhao
Dongfang Zhao
Assistant Professor
Intelligent Systems
Ph.D., Illinois Institute of Technology
Awards  and Honors
Shamik Sengupta
Shamik Sengupta won the
 Department's Best Researcher Award
Elizabeth Xu
Elizabeth Xu won the
Outstanding Alumni Award.
Niki Silveria and Fred Harris

Niki Silveria
was named the College of Engineering Senior Scholar for Spring 2016. Her mentor is Computer Science and Engineering Professor Fred Harris. 
Renee Iinuma
Renee Iinuma won the
 Department's Outstanding Senior Award.
Camille Bourquin
Camille Bourquin won the
Deparment's Outstanding Service Award.
Banafsheh Rekabdar
Banafsheh Rekabdar won the
 Department's Outstanding
 Graduate Thesis Award.
Suman Bhunia

Suman Bhunia
won the
Department's Outstanding
Graduate Student Award.
Congratulations to our 2015-2016 Graduates!
B.S. Graduates
Jeff Bigham
Joshua Blankenburg
Martin Boren
Jeffrey Bouchard
Camille Bourquin
Erin Brown
Truman Chan
Charles Coulton
Joshua Curtis
Derek Dalbey
Tyler Dewitt
Moez Echargui
Jesus Flores-Padilla
Christopher Forkner
Matthew Fredrickson
Eli Gabay
Spencer Gibb
Eric Gilchrist
Brian Goga
Shubham Gogna
Samantha Grant
Tarrayna Grieves
Molly Headland
Miguel Henares
Timothy Ice
Taylor Ice
Renee Iinuma
Wesley Kepke
Connor Kirby
Sarah Koh
Ernest Landrito
Kyle Lee
Alexander Levine
Salah MJ Majadly
Frank Mascarich
William Medrano
Andrew Menard
Garrett Minky
Cristian Ortega
Jonathan Peterson
Vance Piscitelli
Borzuyeh Rahmanifar
Michal Rempala
Fiona Rice
Marco Rivas Alvarez
Anthony Royle
Thomas Rushton
Brandon Salmon
Daniel Sanchez
Jesus Sanchez
Rayhan Shihab
Byron Shure
Niki Silveria
Amardeep Singh
Nicholas Smith
Walker Spurgeon
Gregory Stayner
Royal Stewart
Conor Sullivan
Jennifer Tang
Jaydee Thom
Hardy Thrower
Jonathan Towle
Bradley Walsh
Benjamin Wendell
Evan West
Pearson White
Aaron Whitehead
Ryan Wilmington
Douglas Yan
Ryan Yee
Ricky Yu
Brian Zabo
M.S. Graduates
Vamsi Alluri
Vahid Behzadan
Chase Carthen
Angela Chan
Marlon Daniel Chavez
Ibrahim Coskun
Adeline Duong
David Frank
Luke Fraser
Alexander Gamino
Terence Henriod
Mohammad Jafari
Christine Johnson
Sandeep Matthew

Lisa Paul Palathingal
Manoj Kumar Popuri
Cameron Rowe
Raja Harpreet Singh
Jessica Smith
Rui Wu
Huayu Zhou

Get Involved  

Colloquia Series

We host some computing experts from around the world in our Colloquia Series,  held on Fridays from 12-1 pm. 

Submit an Update

We want to hear from you! Update your contact information and sign up to receive additional information from the Department.