2013 Governor's Arts Awards
And the Nominees are . . .


Congratulations are in order for the 62 organizations and individuals nominated in six categories for the 2013 Governor's Arts Awards. The awards recognize substantial and outstanding contributions to arts and culture statewide in the areas of arts education, business support, individual support, community contribution and artistic effort.     

Winners will be announced on Wednesday, March 6, at The Herberger Theater Center, 222 E. Monroe.  The Governor's Arts Awards are presented by Arizona Citizens Action for the Arts in partnership with the Arizona Commission on the Arts and the Office of the Governor.     

Since 1981, 152 artists, individuals, arts and cultural organizations, educators and businesses have received Governor's Arts Awards

Nominees, by category, and their hometowns are



Lee Berger, Phoenix
Charles Bruffy, Phoenix
Daniel Buckely, Tucson
Michael Christie, Phoenix
Bobb Cooper, Phoenix
Barbara Dahlstedt, Glendale
Maria Isabel Delgado, Chandler

Shawna Franks, Phoenix
Deb Gessner, Mayer
Kristine Kollasch, Phoenix
Bruce Marion, Chandler
Fredric Myers, Apache Junction
Monica Saldana, Goodyear
Mike Vax, Dewey
Jim Waid, Tucson


Annica Benning, Scottsdale
Kathryn Blake, Phoenix
Dennis Bourret, Tucson
Simon Donovan, Tucson
Patti Hannon, Phoenix
Marion Kirk Jones, Phoenix
Sherry Koopot, Paradise Valley

Barbara Nueske Perez, Gilbert
Charles St. Clair, Glendale
Joshua Thye, Phoenix

ARTS IN EDUCATION - Organization

Arizona Dance Education Organization, Phoenix
Copperstar Repertory Company, Chandler
The Glendale Arts Council, Glendale
Lovena Ohl Foundation, Scottsdale
Marshall Magnet Elementary School, Flagstaff
OpendanceAZ, Phoenix
Phoenix Conservatory of Music, Phoenix
The Phoenix Symphony, Phoenix
Sonoran Glass School, Tucson
 UAPresents, Tucson
West Valley Conservatory of Ballet, Surprise



BMO Harris Bank, Phoenix
LDVinci Art Studio, Chandler
Southwest Ambulance, Mesa


Alwun House Foundation, Phoenix
Contemporary Forum, Phoenix
Del E. Webb Center for the Performing Arts, Wickenburg

Flagstaff Cultural Partners, Flagstaff
James E. Garcia, Phoenix
KXCI Community Radio, Tucson
Mesa Arts Center, Mesa
Release the Fear, Phoenix
Scottsdale International Film Festival, Scottsdale
Virginia G. Piper Charitable Foundation, Phoenix

Warehouse Arts Management Organization, Tucson
Young Arts Arizona Ltd., Phoenix


Marco Albaran, Tempe
Richard A. Bowers, Phoenix
Ted G. Decker, Phoenix
Faith Hibbs-Clark, Phoenix
Kaitlyn Mackay, Glendale
Constance W. McMillin, Sun City
Nichole Newman-Colter, Litchfield
Hope Ozer, Paradise Valley
Rebecca Taylor, Yuma


The Governor's Arts Awards is presented by Arizona Citizens Action for the Arts, The Arizona Commission on the Arts and the Office of the Governor.

Wednesday March 6, 2013
Herberger Theater Center
222 E. Monroe
Phoenix, AZ  85004
Individual Tickets are $150 each and $135 for Members*

*Members should call for the Member Rate, 602 253-6535.

For details and options  click HERE
Buy an ad in the Arizona Capitol Times  2013 Governor's Arts Awards Commemorative Program.

Full Page - 8.5 x 11"  - $850
1/2 Page - 8.5 x 5.5" $600

Space Deadline - February 1
Art Deadline - February 8
Publication Date - March 1

Details HERE 


We will post all current  info regarding the Governor's Arts Awards on the event website

Also, follow along on your favorite social networks.

Like us on Facebook 

 Follow us on Twitter

Send this email to a friend!