Dear Students, Parents, Teachers & Friends of Education,

Dan Cromer Scholarship Recipient 

The Peach State Federal Credit Union's Board of Directors has awarded the Dan Cromer Scholarship to Apalachee student Grace Gerely. The scholarship is awarded to a high school senior who wishes to pursue an education degree. To be considered for this scholarship, students had to submit a copy of their SAT scores, a transcript indicating high school grade point average, a two-page essay expressing their desire to become a teacher including the reason why and two letters of reference. Grace received $2,500. towards continuing her education. 

                                High Progress Schools

The following BCSS schools received 2017 Title 1 Reward School - High Progress recognitions for the State of Georgia:

Bramlett Elementary
County Line Elementary
Holsenbeck Elementary
Statham Elementary
Yargo Elementary
Bear Creek Middle
Haymon-Morris Middle
Russell Middle

This recognition is based on the definition of Reward Schools found in the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) Flexibility waiver. High-Progress Reward Schools are among the highest 10-percent of Title I schools in the state. Calculations to identify these schools are based on the achievement of the "all students" group in terms of proficiency on the statewide assessments. Highest-Performing Reward Schools are identified annually.

A Delicious Partnership

Since January, Freddy's Frozen Custard & Steakburgers has provided over 1100 servings of delicious, hand-dipped, vanilla and chocolate frozen custard for our staff and student attendance winners; along with gifts of over 1500 FREE combo cards for future meals at Freddy's. The classroom and lunchroom interaction with students gave Drew and Ethan the opportunity to share a mini-character education lesson about the importance of being dependable and having regular attendance in the workplace.

The Barrow County School System would like to say a BIG thank you to Freddy's Frozen Custard and Steakburgers for their partnership and investment in the staff and students of our school system!

Pictured above:  Drew Skellie (FFC), Ellen Petree (BCSS), and Ethan Key (FFC).
                                      * * *

Dr. Chris McMichael

Board Members
Debi Krause
Garey Huff Sr.
Connie Wehunt
Michael Shelley
Lynn Stevens
Rickey Bailey
Suzanne Angle
Rolando Alvarez
Mark Still 


*    *    *    *    *

May 22-June 30
Summer Meal Program

June 27
BOE Work Session

July 3 & 4
4th of July

July 25
New Teachers
BOE Work Session

*    *    *    *    *
*   *   *   *   *

Barrow County
School System:

Boldly Committed to
Student Success

Ensuring an exceptional education that leads each student to become a high achieving and responsible citizen.

179 West Athens Street
Winder, Georgia  30680
(770) 867-4527
*   *   *   *   *