- December Newsletter - 

Stay up-to-date with all of the exciting happenings going on at Whelden this month.
We look forward to seeing you!



The Friends of Whelden Library endeavor to provide extra programs and services to West Barnstable residents and other library users, supporting the library in various ways.
Members meet at the library on the second Friday of the month at 10:00 a.m.
New members are always welcome!


Upcoming Events  





***** 
- FINE FORGIVENESS -
For every bag or bundle of donated groceries you provide, Whelden will forgive your fines!
$10 maximum. DOES NOT include lost materials.
*****




Stitching at Whelden

Stop by during the 2nd or 4th Wednesday of each month between 2:00-4:00 pm for an informal get-together. Come to knit, crochet, sew or enjoy any other type of needlecraft. Bring a project and work in the company of our cozy library. 

Beginners welcome!




JANUARY PROGRAMS

Author Talk with John Carafoli
Wednesday, January 10th, 6:00 p.m.
Discussing his newest work, including 
Great Italian American Food in New England: History, Tradition & Memories

"Identifying Early Family Photographs" with Mark Wentling
Thursday, January 11th, 11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.
A professional genealogist with more than 20 years of experience, Mark will
help attendees identify 19th-century forms of photography and 
learn to tell when pictures have been taken. 


OTHER THINGS TO LOOK FORWARD TO THIS WINTER:
INTERACTIVE STORYTIMES, ADULT AND YOUTH CRAFT EVENTS, AUTHOR TALKS


The Children's Room 





Whelden Book Corner 

- Staff Picks -
What we're loving this month...
Highly Recommended:
Ellie Alexander's Bakeshop Mysteries 
{Submitted and Adapted by Ellen Russon}

Jules Capshaw worked for years as a pastry chef on a cruise ship based in Europe, where she met and married her chef husband aboard ship. Now separated, Jules goes home to work at her family's Torte Bakeshop in Ashland, Oregon, which hosts the Oregon Shakespeare Festivals. But a new member of the Festivals board, and one of Torte's customers, is found dead in the bakeshop. Jules teams up with Thomas, the investigator on the case and her old high school sweetheart, to solve the crime. With the characters' backgrounds and the setting, the Bakeshop Mysteries offers a lovely mix of baking and cooking/cruise line/Shakespeare and theater lore. The first book in the series is Meet Your Baker. For a chronological list of the seven titles so far, see: http://ww2.kdl.org/libcat/whatsnext.asp
 
"I highly recommend this series to readers who enjoy clever plots, likable characters, and good food. Knowledge of Shakespeare's plays is purely optional."- Mystery Scene Magazine

"Four-star rating! This delicious debut mixes a quaint bakeshop in Oregon, an eclectic community of artists and a diabolical murder. Delicious pastries and food are a focus of this fast-paced mystery that presents a shocking murder and several possible suspects. From the troubled young homeless boy to a local artistic director, no one is above suspicion."-
RT Book Reviews

"Alexander weaves a tasty tale of deceit, family ties, delicious pastries, and murder against a backdrop of Shakespeare and Oregon aflame. Meet Your Baker starts off a promising new series."- Edith Maxwell

"This debut culinary mystery is a light s oufflé of a book (with recipes) that makes a perfect mix for fans of Jenn McKinlay, Leslie Budewitz, or Jessica Beck."-
Library Journal
 
ELLIE ALEXANDER describes herself as "a Pacific Northwest native who spends ample time testing pastry recipes in her home kitchen or at one of the many famed coffeehouses nearby. When she's not coated in flour, you'll find her outside exploring hiking trails and trying to burn off calories consumed in the name of research." 

- New Additions to Our Collection -
Some of our latest and greatest...

The Armageddon File 
By Stephen Coonts

The next exciting thriller from  New York Times  bestselling author Stephen Coonts!

Jake Grafton and Tommy Carmellini race to solve the mystery of a potentially stolen election before Americans' faith in our democracy, sovereignty, and federal government become completely undone. 
-Goodreads


 

OTHER NEW & NOTEWORTHY READS:
"Tom Clancy Power and Empire" by Marc Cameron
"Haunted Boston Harbor" by Sam Baltrusis
"QB: My Life Behind the Spiral" by Steve Young
- What's New for Kids -
Princess picks, turkey trots and final fall favorites...
The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street 
By Karina Yan Glaser

A modern classic in the making reminiscent of the Penderwicks series, 
The 
Vanderbeekers 
of 141st Street is about the connections we make and the unexpected turns life can take.

The Vanderbeekers have always lived in the brownstone on 141st Street. It's practically another member of the family. So when their reclusive, curmudgeonly landlord decides not to renew their lease, the five siblings have eleven days to do whatever it takes to stay in their beloved home and convince the dreaded Beiderman just how wonderful they are. And all is fair in love and war when it comes to keeping their home. 
-Goodreads 

- WML Monthly Display -
~ 'Tis the Season ~
It's that time of year...for cozy dressing, fires crackling and a good stack of all things holiday. Stop by the library to peruse our stack of Christmas reads. 
Let us know if you'd like us to add something to your list!






We've been amping up our media presence and would love for you to join the conversation.
Be sure to 'LIKE' us on Facebook to follow along with our library journey.
Feedback and questions are always welcome!