Better organizations. Better results.
December 8, 2017
The  Baldrige Excellence Framework is a systems approach to improving your organization's performance, empowering your organization to reach its goals, improve results, and become more competitive. 

2018 Wisconsin Forward Award Intent to Apply forms are being accepted through 
December 15, 2017 for 50 page narrative or the Baldrige Express survey plus results option.

There is NO BETTER TIME to take the next step.  Questions?  Contact us 
and we can walk you through the assessment and 
recognition  process that is best for you. Newly revised  Challenger Profile and Fast Forward applications will be available in early 2018.  

Declare your intent to 
submit an application to Wisconsin Forward Award. 
Applications for our winter cycle are due February 15, 2018.  
Call for Examiners
Expand your prospects, elevate performance excellence in Wisconsin, and network with an accomplished group of individuals who use their time and insights help organizations advance their goals and better serve  their stakeholders. Make 2018 the year you serve on the Wisconsin Forward Award Board of Examiners. Our winter training program will begin in February 2018 with a range of applicants and opportunities. Application materials are available on our website.  Be sure to submit your application by January 15, 2018 to participate in winter training.  
MetaStar receives Excellence recognition
  Eight organizations were honored with 2017 Wisconsin Forward Award recognition at an annual gala held on November 16th.

MetaStar, Inc earned the prestigious Wisconsin Forward Award of Excellence. Since the program was founded in 1997, only 17 organizations have attained the excellence designation. To do so, applicants must participate in a multi-step assessment, and exhibit world-class processes that serve as role models for others. The Honorable Tommy G. Thompson presided over the evening's festivities that celebrated applicants and the Board of Examiners.
The Honorable Tommy G Thompson with MetaStar CEO Greg Simmons, 
and WCPE Board Members Joe Kinsella and Neil Fauerbach.

Concordia University School of Education, Mequon and Royal Credit Union, Eau Claire, were honored with the WFA Challenger Recognition. Milwaukee's Curative Care Network, the School District of Janesville and the West Bend School District received the Commitment Award. Goodwill Retail Services in Racine will receive the Proficiency Award. Columbus Community Hospital, is the recipient of the Mastery Award. Read more about the 2017 recipient organizations. photos A gallery of gala photos can be accessed here using the password quality.
WCPE Leadership Changes Announced
With deep appreciation for long-time leadership and service, the WCPE Board of Directors accepted the retirements of Board Chair Joe Kinsella (Plover) and veteran board member Steve Laking (McFarland/Eagle River). 

Julie Furst Bowe presents Steve Laking (L) and Joe Kinsella with special commendations for their WCPE Board service.

At its final quarterly meeting of 2017, the Board elected Katheen Roach, President and CEO of Special Olympics WI, Inc as chair, with Julie Furst-Bowe, Chippewa Valley Technical College  as vice chair, Michelle Naples, Lutheran Social Services, secretary and Paul Neitzel, MetaStar, treasurer. 
In addition, Liz Menzer has returned to WCPE as executive director. 
WCPE looks to a sustainable future, working collaboratively with the National Baldrige Performance Excellence Program, and the Alliance for Performance Excellence, ASQ chapters and other groups and individuals who support the program's mission.

Liz is a national alumni examiner with the Baldrige Performance Excellence program, and served as a national training facilitator for more than seven years. She was co-leader of the first training case study in the non profit eligibility category. She has led to international Baldrige-based site visits, and served as a site visit mentor and judge for the US Army Communities of Excellence program.  Menzer serves on the national Baldrige Board of Overseers, and chairs the Alliance of state, local, and regional Baldrige-based quality award programs. 
Many thanks to interim executive director Brett Remington, who will continue to support the program in various ways.
Learning from the Best of the Best: Lessons in Excellence
Yesterday at the Baldrige Overseers meeting, we had the pleasure of meeting Dr. Walter Copan, the new Under Secretary of Commerce for Standards and Technology and NIST Director. An excerpt from Dr. Copan's recent blog post on the 2017 Baldrige recipients rings true for Wisconsin Forward Award recipient organizations as well. Congratulations to all these role model organizations. 
"Although the winning organizations represent a diverse range of markets... the leaders of Baldrige winning organizations have several core principles in common. First and foremost, they have empowered their people and strive to demonstrate that everyone representing them is valued and is focused on delivering value to the customer. From the receptionist at the front door to their senior leadership team, everyone knows their organization's goals and how their actions lead to achieving them.
Each of these exemplary organizations also promotes:
  • Long-term over short-term gains;
  • A culture of active collaboration with employees, customers and stakeholders;
  • Strong corporate citizenship and participation in the community; and
  • A tireless focus on operational excellence.
It should also be no surprise that - by embracing these positive, inclusive and often altruistic goals - the Baldridge winners also excel at producing solid financial results. They increase sales and profits, save their customers money, meet their financial obligations, pay their employees fairly and consistently invest in employee development and growth."

Invest in the mission of the Wisconsin Center for Performance Excellence.  To learn more, click  here.    WCPE is a 501c3 non profit organization. Your membership support expands our mission.
Leadership Members
Metastar logo-white