Dear Hall of Famers,
Time is getting short for submitting nominations for the Arizona Veterans Hall of Fame, Class of 2018.  They must be postmarked by 31 March 2018.  It is important that you submit a professional packet that strictly conforms to the guidelines and is free of misspellings and poor grammar.  Here is the nomination form and instructions.   

The 21 April Patriotic Gala is creeping up on us as well.  You can register two ways, register online or download the fillable and printable registration form and mail it in with your check.  This issue includes an article on our Copper Sword recipient, Mrs. Susan Kee, who will receive her award at the Gala.  Both the Society and the Unified Arizona Veterans will be presenting other “Copper” awards as well.  You can expect more information and articles concerning the Gala in future editions of this newsletter.

Our Annual Membership Meeting for 2018 is on track for 10 October at the Arizona Capitol.  This promises to be a great meeting that will include a visit to the Arizona Veterans Hall of Fame Kiosk in the Capitol Museum.  More information will be forthcoming.

We welcomed some new board members at our January General Membership meeting.  Geographically, we are expanding out from the Valley by bringing in Society members from more rural areas into our leadership.  The Board now has members from Kingman, Lake Havasu City and Sierra Vista. 

Tom Hessler
AVHOFS President
Class of 2007


The AVHOFS was proud to support women veterans in our “Socks that Rock’ project at the recent Phoenix Standdown.  We provided socks for homeless and at-risk women veterans who use them not only on their feet, but for their hands and to store items.  This is another way our Society is supporting our veterans.

The AVHOFS held its General Membership meeting on January 10th at the Phoenix Veterans Home. Several members from around the state were in attendance. They came from Kingman, Lake Havasu City, Sierra Vista and many from Maricopa County. President Tom Hessler, class of 2007, presented Kathy Laurier, class of 2012, and Lew Bradley, class of 2008 with certificates of appreciation for their outstanding contributions to the society. Kathy has served in many positions from Supply Custodian, Board Director, Patriotic Vice Chair multiple times and is the current chair for this year’s Patriotic Gala in April. Lew Bradley has served as the Sergeant at Arms and the Supply Custodian. President Hessler swore in three new directors, Pat Farrell, class of 2015, Joe Little, class of 2016, Jim Monroe, class of 2014; treasurer Jerry Wojtas, class of 2011 and supply custodian Roy McClymonds, class of 2017.

New society officers and Directors on the board were also sworn in. Pictured from left to right are: Pat Farrell, Joe Little, Jim Monroe, Jerry Wojtas and Roy McClymonds. President Tom Hessler administered the oath.

A number of members attended and President Tom Hessler presented Kathy Laurier with a certificate to thank her for her continued support to the AVHOFS.


Our Copper Sword Award Recipient

The 2018 Copper Sword Award will be presented to Mrs. Susan Kee.  Susan emigrated from South Korea to the United States when she was 5 years old with her parents who were also survivors of the Korean War. Read More

Have you registered for the Galat? Register online or download the fillable and printable registration form and mail it in with your check. 


12 April
Patriotic Gala
Embassy Suites, Scotsdale