Need to take a Hunter Safety Course, but don't want to attend the tradition two-day class? The Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fishers is now offering a Hunter Safety "Home Study Course" which allows you to take a portion of Hunter Safety Course online, and then attend a "Field Day" to complete the course.
The Lafourche Parish Sheriff's Office will be hosting two Hunter Education Field Days this summer for those looking to complete their online Hunter Safety Course. Both Field Days will take place from 8am to 1pm at the LPSO Shooting Range located at 3451 Hwy. 182 in Raceland. Attendance is FREE, but advance online registration is required. To register, click on the link for the Field Day you want to attend:
Field Day #1: Tuesday, June 25
Field Day #2: Tuesday, July 16
There will be a written test required to complete the Field Day. Students should NOT bring firearms or ammunition, but snacks are permitted.
REMEMBER, before you can attend a Field Day, you MUST first complete the Home Study Course and obtain your course completion voucher. Field Day entry will be denied without the completion voucher. The cost for the Home Study Course is $15.
CLICK HERE for the Home Study Course.
Classroom Hunter Education Courses
For those wishing to enroll in the traditional two-day Hunter Safety Course, LPSO is also offering two of those courses this summer. These courses are FREE but advance online registration is required. To register, click on the link of the course you wish to attend:
Course #1: Wednesday, June 26 - Thursday, June 27
Wednesday: 8am-5pm at Lafourche Fire Dist. #3 Galliano Station (17462 W. Main St.)
Thursday: 8am-11am at LPSO Shooting Range (3451 Hwy 182, Raceland)
Course #2: Tuesday, July 23 - Wednesday, July 24
Tuesday: 8am-5pm at Thibodaux Branch Public Library (705 W. 5th St.)
Wednesday: 8am-11am at LPSO Shooting Range (3451 Hwy 182, Raceland)
For more information, contact the LPSO Training Academy:
(985) 449-4480 - Weekdays from 8am to 5pm
*Anyone born after September 1, 1969, who wishes to obtain a hunting license in Louisiana, must successfully complete a hunter education course. Exceptions may be granted by the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries for active or veteran members of the United States armed services, for any P.O.S.T.-certified law enforcement officer, or for persons who are under the direct supervision of a person 18-years or older who is already licensed and has taken the approved course. Exceptions must be applied for and approved by Department of Wildlife and Fisheries.