MPTs: Articles
from the Field

Issue #41 - 15 September 2017

Dear Colleagues,

The Multipurpose Prevention Technologies (MPTs) field is steadily evolving and expanding. Provided below are links to recent publications, media articles, and other resources relevant to MPTs to keep you up-to-date. Please note that contents are neither endorsed by nor necessarily represent the views of the Initiative for Multipurpose Prevention Technologies (IMPT), and that due to publication copyright and permissions restrictions, full-text versions of resources may not be publicly available.
If you have a resource to include in our next issue, please send to Nica Daria at . Previous issues are available on the IMPT website .


IMPT Secretariat Staff


Join the IMPT on Thursday, 28 September 2017 at 7:00 a.m. PT / 10:00 a.m. ET / 15:00 BST / 16:00 CEST / 16:00 SAST for the final webinar in a series of this year's webinars about critical issues in the rapidly developing MPT field: "MPT End-User Research: Updates from the Field."  This 60-minute webinar will focus on the priority area of research in order to better understand the MPT end-user context. It will highlight new research exploring the acceptability of and preference between potential MPT product types, drivers of future product use, and other important end-user considerations. To register, click  here
Journal Articles

A fresh look at an old problem. Zydowsky, TM. (2017, August 23). The Lancet Infectious Diseases.

Divergent Preferences for HIV Prevention: A Discrete Choice Experiment for Multipurpose HIV Prevention Products in South Africa. Quaife, M., Eakle, R., Cabrera Escobar, M.A., Vickerman, P., Kilbourne-Brook, M., ... Terris-Prestholt, F. (2017, September 1). Medical Decision Making. 
Dapivirine Ring: The Case for Action . (2017 September). FSG.
In the Blogosphere 
Putting Women's Voices at the Heart of MPT Development . Thomas, V. & Dellplain, L. (2017, August 21). CTI Exchange.
Funding Opportunities 
RFA-AI-17-028  Next Generation Multipurpose Prevention Technologies (NGM) (R61/R33 - Clinical Trials Optional) - NIAID and NIMH will be accepting applications to support the development of new and innovative multipurpose prevention technologies (MPTs) with the dual purpose of contraception and HIV prevention. View the link above for more detailed information. Letters of Intent due February 19, 2018.

Also, stay tuned as the IMPT will highlight technical priorities and gaps in the MPT field that may align with the scope of this RFA.
Visit and
for more resources on MPTs.

Facebook    Twitter

IMPT Secretariat

308 Natoma Street, Suite 150
Folsom, CA 95630