The Tom Wood Group Indianapolis Speedrome Powered by Lincoln Tech hosted its most unique motorsports program of the year Saturday June 9th. Headlining the wild side portion was a 22-car front wheel drive demolition derby. After lots of crowd-wowing smashes and crashes, it wound down to 3 surviving bumper-bashers. Alex McCracken was the last man standing over Brad Brooks and Graylann Grayer. Brooks was the victor earlier in the 15-lap thrilling trailer figure 8 topping “real deal” Willinger Neal and Jedi Cluxton. Andy McDowell gassed the 8-car bracket in the street legal oval drags. Jordan Hahn was second and Jack Wilson third.

For the first time in several years, the Speedrome hosted a national qualifier for the INEX Legends. The Superior Finish Lawn & Landscape division saw Alec Webb tops in qualifying at 13.348 seconds. The 50-lap feature had a wild start with several prime contenders caught up in a front stretch melee. Ohio’s Ryan Miller, who has had some great results here so far in 2018, was on a mission after the restart. He held off a hard-charging Taylor Webb for his first season feature triumph. Taylor’s runner-up was an impressive drive from the tail after his crew repaired damage received earlier in that big wreck. Caleb Heady finished third.

The Stock class was back in action. A star-studded roster came to play for another resurgent season evening. Preliminary heat races were captured by All Star 200 winner Kimmie Greig and southern invader Mike Kestler. Several side-by-side battles took place early inside a hot top 10. Emerging through was former point champion Speedy Teepe. He stretched it out in the waiting circuits for the victory. Kestler had his hands full but hung on to second over “Fireboy” Ricky Schaeffer III.

It was kidney bean course night for the Last Chance Wrecker Factory Front Wheel Drives. This puts a chicane on the back stretch for racers to negotiate each lap. Afternoon heat races were won by Josh Fults, Aaron Latham, Joseph Liggett, and Andrew Brown. The feature saw Brayton Laster blast out to the early lead. A mid-race red flag bunched everyone back up. The lead scramble had Matt Witty leading the way to the checkered flag. His win was however disallowed after dangerous conduct on the track post-race. Fults was awarded the win, his initial victory of 2018 followed by Josh Garr and Byron Turner.
NGAIF Car Show 9am to 2:30pm

Late Model Jake's Memorial 150-Lap Figure 8, Factory FWD, Thundercars, Jr Faskarts, Bike Races Ages 8-10

Late Model Oval & 50-Lap Figure 8, Factory FWD Chip Branham Memorial 44, Stocks 100-Laps, Jr Faskarts, Kenyon Midgets

Tom Wood Group Night at the Races, Late Model Clockwise Oval & 50-Lap Reverse Direction Figure 8, Factory FWD April-May-June Championship, Thundercar April-May-June Championship, Adult Faskarts, Legends

$5 Admission
$2,000-to-win Late Model 75-Lap Figure 8, Factory FWD, Thundercars, Adult Faskarts, 8pm Start

USA Insulation presents Fireworks Night
$15 Ages 13 and Up
$10 Ages 9 to 12
Free Ages 8 and Under
Late Model Mike Greig Sr Memorial 75-Lap Figure 8, Factory FWD, Thundercars, Jr Faskarts
Home of the World Figure 8 Championship
Indianapolis Speedrome
802 S. Kitley Avenue, Indianapolis, IN 46219
Phone: (317) 353-8206 | Email: