CFE 2011 logo
Milton Foundation For Education Newsletter
April 24, 2014
From many nominations, seven outstanding teachers 
have been chosen.
Come celebrate at the 
2014 Outstanding Teachers 
of the Year Ceremony.


Monday, April 28, 2014, 6pm

Milton High School, Winchester Auditorium



Milton High School: Scott Devlin, Guidance

Pierce Middle School: Mary Shapiro, 8th Grade Math

Collicot School: Julie Ostrowski, Third Grade

Cunningham School: Marie-Laure Brown, First Grade

Glover School: Carol Kenney, Special Education

Tucker School: Caitlin O'Brien, First Grade


Dr. Mary Grassa O'Neill Leadership Award: 

Assistant Superintendent John Phelan 




Don't miss this wonderful evening celebrating seven of Milton Public School's amazing teachers. Once again, Winchester Auditorium will be filled with family, friends, students and faculty. We'll hear from our honored teachers and celebrate with their students, current and past. It's one evening you won't want to miss!



Our 2014 Honorees

Mary Shapiro, Pierce
 "Mary Shapiro brought the notion of a blended learning environment to the Pierce Middle School. She was featured on WBZ for her efforts. Her innovative ideas have also led to the establishment of a coding club at the Pierce."

 Carol Kenney, Glover

"Carol Kenney is a highly skilled reading interventionist who understands the most subtle nuances of her students' learning processes. Ms. Kenney shows her commitment to the children each afternoon as she safely escorts children to their rides home." 


Julie Ostrowski, Collicot
"Julie Ostrowski dedicates herself beyond the school day through extended day English Language Arts and Math Clubs. Ms. Ostrowski also serves on the One Book, One School committee to select the book and plan Adventure Night." 


Scott Devlin, Milton High School

"Scott Devlin is an outstanding advisor, advocate and confidant for all the students on his caseload, and even those beyond. Mr. Devlin also takes the lead on SATs, MCAS, the Recycling Club, and is the former advisor of the Gay-Straight Alliance."  

Caitlin O'Brien, Tucker

"Caitlin O'Brien's reach is felt not only in Tucker's first grade, but across the school in Title I and enrichment opportunities. She led the way in developing Tucker's first Spelling Bee Club, resulting in the Tucker sending its first student to the statewide Spelling Bee." 

Marie-Laure Brown, Cunningham

"Marie-Laure Brown instills the will to learn and achieve in every student. Her class regularly conducts experiments requiring them to think, write and reflect. She takes quarterly trips to Cunningham Park to explore nature in each season. She teaches students to be astute observers and understand the world around them."

John Phelan, 

Assistant Superintendent

"John Phelan is an extraordinary educator, administrator and most importantly, person. Students of all ages, teachers, support staff, administrators, parents and guardians all recognize John is an exemplary leader. His vision of excellence, high standards, work ethic and compassion combine to make him a uniquely qualified and outstanding school administrator. John Phelan has left an indelible mark on the Milton Public Schools."