The Learned Owl Book Shop, Mid-November 2016

  Kate's Corner


Happy Thanksgiving! 

2016 has been a doozy so far with cicadas, oak mites, water damage, construction, and a presidential campaign the likes of which have never been seen. As we head towards a new year, I choose to focus on the things I'm thankful for: stores like Target realizing that Thanksgiving is a sacred holiday and staying closed; Main Street construction wrapping up for the winter before (fingers crossed) Thanksgiving weekend; having my brother home for the first time in three years and having our entire immediate family together for the first time in over eight years; my mom's turkey gravy and pumpkin pie; my Learned Owl family that has been working so hard to get the store ready for the holiday season; our amazingly supportive family, friends, and community that allow us to do what we love every day.

Wishing you all a safe and happy holiday, and looking forward to seeing you in the store soon. Happy reading!
- Kate
Share The Owl 

Like us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

Coming up at
The Learned Owl

Saturday, Nov. 19, 10 AM-noon (at The Owl)
Author Robert J. Roman with his new book Ohio State Football: The Forgotten Dawn.

Saturday, Nov. 19, 1-3 PM
(at The Owl)
Local authors Lana Wayne Koehler and Gloria G. Adams will visit us with their book Ah-Choo! Children aged 4-8 are invited to come hear the story, meet a very special puppet, learn a new song and enjoy a cookie while doing a craft. Please call to reserve your spot: 330-653-2252.

Sunday, Nov. 20, 2 PM
(at The Owl)
Wear your favorite pajamas to The Learned Owl for our Llama Llama Red Pajama storytime! We'll have an activity and a snack, and we ask that you bring a pair of new pajamas with you to donate to those in need this winter.  Please call to reserve your spot: 330-653-2252.

Sunday, Nov. 20, 2 PM
(at The Owl)
Join our History Book Club for a discussion about the History of the Rubber Industry with guest author Steve Love ( Wheels of Fortune: The Story of Rubber in Akron).

Monday, Nov. 21, 6:30 PM
(at the Hudson Library)
Meet Lindsay Mattick, author of the Caldecott Award winning book Finding Winnie: The True Story of the World's Most Famous Bear. Mattick will speak about the making of the book, as well as about her family's connection to the beloved bear who would become a household name to generations of children. Please register for this event online at hudsonlibrary.org, or call 330-653-6658.

Saturday, Nov. 26, 1-3 PM
(at The Owl)
Tom Wood, author, photographer and self-professed Rustbelt Refugee, will visit with his books, Car Bombs to Cookie Tables: The Youngstown Anthology and Trading Steel for Stone.

Wednesday, Nov. 30, 7 PM
(at the Hudson Library)
Author and researcher Robert K. Elder will discuss his book Hidden Hemingway: Inside the Ernest Hemingway Archives of Oak Park. Register for this free program online at hudsonlibrary.org, or call (330) 653-6658 x1010.

Saturday, Dec. 3, 10 AM-3 PM (at The Owl)
Drop-in gingerbread house decorating! All supplies will be provided; we ask that those who attend bring something for The Landing, a food pantry in Akron.
Quick Links
New fiction

by David Baldacci
[Grand Central Publishing, $29.00]
John Puller may be the US Army's most tenacious investigator, but he is not equipped to face the truth about his mother's disappearance thirty years ago. New evidence has come to light suggesting that Puller's father - a highly decorated army veteran - may have murdered his wife. When Puller's friend, intelligence operative Veronica Knox, arrives on the scene, he realizes that there is far more to this case than he first thought. He knows that nothing will prevent him from discovering what really happened to his mother - even proving that his father is a killer. Meanwhile, Paul Rogers has just been paroled after spending ten years in a high-security prison for murder - and with his freedom comes a desire to pay back old debts. As both men uncover a trail of deception that stretches back decades, they realize that the truth will bind them together in ways they could never have imagined.

by Michael Chabon
[Harper, $28.99; Nov. 22]
In 1989, fresh from the publication of his first novel, The Mysteries of Pittsburgh, Michael Chabon traveled to his mother's home in Oakland, California, to visit his terminally ill grandfather. Tongue loosened by powerful painkillers, memory stirred by the imminence of death, Chabon's grandfather shared recollections and told stories the younger man had never heard before, uncovering bits and pieces of a history long buried and forgotten. That dreamlike week of revelations forms the basis for this novel.
Moonglow unfolds as the deathbed confession of a man the narrator refers to only as "my grandfather". It is a tale of madness, of war and adventure, of sex and marriage and desire, of existential doubt and model rocketry, of the shining aspirations and demonic underpinnings of American technological accomplishment at midcentury; and, above all, of the destructive impact and the creative power of keeping secrets and telling lies. [read more]

The Whole Town_s Talking
Preorder book
Preorder eBook
The Whole Town's Talking by Fannie Flagg
[Random House, $28.00; Nov. 29]
Elmwood Springs, Missouri, is a small town like any other, but something strange is happening at the cemetery. Still Meadows, as it's called, is anything but still.
Original and profound, The Whole Town's Talking, a novel in the tradition of Thornton Wilder's Our Town and Flagg's own Can't Wait to Get to Heaven, tells the story of Lordor Nordstrom, his Swedish mail-order bride, Katrina, and their neighbors and descendants as they live, love, die, and carry on in mysterious and surprising ways.

Night School Indie Next Night School
by Lee Child
[Delacorte Press, $28.99]
The incomparable hero of Never Go Back takes readers to school in his most explosive novel yet. After eleven straight global #1 bestsellers, discover the thrillers that The New York Times calls utterly addictive.
[read more]
Buy the book Buy the eBook

Swing Time
Buy the book

Buy the eBook
Swing Time by Zadie Smith
[Penguin Press, $27.00]
Two girls dream of being dancers but only one, Tracey, has talent. The other has ideas: about rhythm and time, about black bodies and black music, what constitutes a tribe, or makes a person truly free. It's a close but complicated childhood friendship that ends abruptly in their early twenties, never to be revisited, but never quite forgotten, either.
Tracey makes it to the chorus line but struggles with adult life, while her friend leaves the old neighborhood behind, traveling the world as an assistant to a famous singer, Aimee, observing close up how the one percent live.
But when Aimee develops grand philanthropic ambitions, the story moves from London to West Africa, where diaspora tourists travel back in time to find their roots, young men risk their lives to escape into a different future, the women dance just like Tracey - the same twists, the same shakes - and the origins of a profound inequality are not a matter of distant history, but a present dance to the music of time.

Victoria
Preorder book
Preorder eBook
Victoria by Daisy Goodwin
[St. Martin's Press, $26.99; Nov. 22]
Drawing on Queen Victoria's diaries, which she first started reading when she was a student at Cambridge University, Daisy Goodwin - creator and writer of the new PBS/Masterpiece drama Victoria and author of the bestselling novels The American Heiress and The Fortune Hunter - brings the young nineteenth-century monarch, who would go on to reign for 63 years, richly to life in this magnificent novel.
The Learned Owl's
Wise Readers Club

Just in time for the start of your holiday shopping, we're proud to introduce our Wise Readers Clubs! The Wise Readers Club and Wise Readers Jr. is a special opportunity to sign up and receive a brand new Indie Next hardcover book every month.
The program is available in three, six, and twelve month durations, for either adults or young children. Read more or sign up online at learnedowl.com/wisereaders.
New in paperback
The Slow Waltz of Turtles
The Magic Strings of Frankie Presto
The Guest Room
A Doubter_s Almanac
The Relic Master
Only Love Can Break Your Heart
Dark Corners
The Madwoman Upstairs
"There are worse crimes than burning books. One of them is not reading them."  - Joseph Brodsky