Holmes Center Header
Discover Logo
The mantra of the Holmes Center for Entrepreneurship is to inspire and educate the next generation of entrepreneurs.  We encourage you to get involved and join the 300+ members of the Twin Cities' entrepreneurial business community participating in our classes, clubs and outreach programs.  We hope you enjoy the brief updates below on our researchers, students, alumni and programs. 
Minnesota Cup Offering $200K for Breakthrough Ideas

The largest state-wide new venture competition in the country is seeking innovative new business ideas in the ninth annual Minnesota Cup.  Submit your breakthrough idea by May 17 for a chance to win $200,000 in cash prizes, get connected with leading mentors and investors to advance your business idea.  The Holmes Center organizes the competition alongside alumni co-founders Scott Litman and Dan Mallin.  Open to any Minnesota business with less than $1 million of historical revenue.  Hear about the program from 2012 winner Julie Gilbert.
Professor Shaker Zahra Receives Doctorate


Professor Shaker Zahra, chair of the Department of Strategic Management and Organization, received an honorary doctorate from the Stockholm School of Economics in Sweden. The event conferring the honor took place on March 9, in Stockholm City Hall, the usual gathering place for Nobel Prize ceremonies.

Zahra, also holds the Robert E. Buuck Chair of Entrepreneurship and serves as the academic director of the Gary S. Holmes Center for Entrepreneurship. His expertise lies in the areas of corporate entrepreneurship in science and tech-based industries, entrepreneurship and national policy, and innovation. 

Tech Commercialization Seminars Wrap up April 13


Definity Health and Red Brick co-founder Kyle Rolfing keynotes the fourth spring seminar on April 13th, focusing on "Entrepreneurial Opportunities in Health Care Services".  Developed for graduate and PhD students in technology and science programs across the University of Minnesota, the 3M Seminar series features interactive discussions and case studies on how to bring your ideas from the laboratory to the marketplace.   Jon Foley, Chris Smith and Sean Solberg led seminars earlier this semester.



Recognizing the increasing impact of entrepreneurship education and research at the Carlson School, the Board of Regents formally approved the name change to the Strategic Management and Entrepreneurship department
. Ranked 6th in the nation for faculty research productivity, SME gives students and managers the skills, knowledge, and experience they need to create value in organizations. 
Students in the Entrepreneurship in Action class receive up to $15,000 to launch businesses and experience the actual startup process.  This year's class has launched a non-fat gourmet yogurt spread in 5 retail stores and designed plastic wristbands in the shape of soundwaves.  Student-run businesses from this class have been recognized in Inc and Entrepreneur magazines.  
Abdo Dinner Series 
Larry and Caryl Abdo once again welcomed Carlson MBA students and spouses to their historic Nicollet Island Inn for the 9th installment of the Abdo Dinner Conversation Series.  Over dinner at their award winning restaurant, the Abdos, Dan and Bridget Johnson, and John and Stacey Sturgess led a discussion on the challenges and rewards of being married to an entrepreneur (and their business!).  
TEDxUMN Returns to Campus
The Holmes Center is once again sponsoring the TEDxUMN event.  TEDxUMN2013 conference will be held on April 20th at 12:30 PM. Themed "Where do we go from here?", the second annual conference will bring together speakers from different fields to share their stories regarding how inventions and discoveries are changing our world.  The event will be held in Coffman Memorial Union.   Tickets and more information
10th BizPitch Competition Sparks Interest Across Campus

The 10th BizPitch competition will move to the Carlson School atrium on April 17th to hear innovative student business ideas competing for $1,300 in cash prizes. More.
Van de Ven Named Founding Editor  


Professor Andrew Van de Ven
has been named founding editor of a new journal, the Academy of Management Discoveries, being launched in 2014.  Van de Ven will help to shape this journal and promote the creation and dissemination of new empirical evidence that strengthens understanding of important new or poorly understood phenomena relevant to management and organizations.  Andy holds the Vernon H. Heath Chair of Organizational Innovation and Change, and is a global leader in the study of organizational innovation and change management.
Upcoming Entrepreneurship Events @ Carlson

CEO Dinner - Keynote by Tom Shaver - April 12th @ 6:00 PM

3M Seminar - Entrepreneurial Opportunities in Health Care - April 13th @ 8:00 AM  

BizPitch Competition - April 17th @ 12:00 PM

TEDxUMN - April 20th @ 12:30 PM

Healthbox Accelerator Networking Event - April 30th @ 5:00 PM 

Entrepreneurship in Action - Final Presentations - May 1st @ 3:45 PM

STARTUP Class - Final Presentations - May 13th @ 5 PM

Minnesota Cup - Entry Deadline - May 17th


Get Involved
Fast Facts 2012

4th Largest Major
10 MBA Courses
9 Undergraduate Courses
1,370 Enrollment
28 Interns
31 Student Mentors
44 MN Cup Mentors
25 Businesses Formed
126 Student/Alum Entrepreneurs Advised
2008, 2009
Honorable Mention in Princeton Review Rankings
Holmes Center Advisory Board

Robert Buuck
Judy Corson
Gary Holmes
Joy Lindsay
Dan Mallin
Prof. Myles Shaver
Lloyd Sigel
John Stavig
Roy Wetterstrom
Prof. Shaker Zahra
Thank You
Holmes Center Benefactors

Floyd  Adelman
Anonymous Alumnus
Jennifer & Kevin Amys
Selemon Asfaw
Tom Auth
Jesse Bergland
Norman Bjornnes
Robert Buuck
Buuck Foundation
Laura Carter
Dave & Carolyn Cleveland
Brad Cleveland
Judy Corson
Deluxe Corp. Foundation
Tim & Val Doherty
Geoff Dutton
John Fesler
David Frauenshuh
Harold Goldfine
Heath Foundation
Merle Hilliard
Gary Holmes
Pat Hopf
Hubbard Foundation
Ann & Robert Jackson
Anna & Eugene Karpas
Steve Klick
Tim Kraskey
Bruce Lambrecht
Joy Lindsay
Gerald Magnuson
Chris Mayr
Spence Morley
Rachel Nearhood
Mark Paper
Gary Rappaport
Ron Reimann
Richard Foundation
Dave Ring
Joan Roisum
Harold Roitenberg
Joel Ronning
Bill & Susan Sands
Lloyd Sigel
Mike Sill
Robert Simon
State Farm Insurance
John Stavig
Dale Vesledahl
J.A. Wedum Foundation
Roy Wetterstrom
John Whaley
Thank You
MN Cup Mentors

Floyd Adelman
Kenan Aksoz
David Bagley
Josh Baltzell
Clark Becker
Robert Befidi, Jr.
John Bergstrom
Mary Pat Blake
Rick Brimacomb
Scott Burns
Ed Cannon
Joel Cannon
Nicholas Clementi
Gary Cohen
Judy Corson
Tony Crisman
David Croslin
David Dickey
Greg Frankenfield
Bob French
Dan Grigsby
Linda Hall
Gary Halleen
Franz Hofmeister
Ken Holec
Bonnie Holub
Scott Jagodzinski
Dan Johnson
Aaron Keller
Anne Kelly
Don Keysser
Steve King
Brian Kovalchuk
Tim Kraskey
Patrick Kullman
Ruth Lane
Steve Mase
Peter McCormick
Mary Meehan
Ross Meisner
Mary Merrill
David Milton
Mark Moe
Spence Morley
Steve Nielsen
Kaye O'Leary
Steve Pederson
Mark Price
Prakash Puram
Kathleen Pytleski
Ron Reimann
Jeffrey Robinson
Kerry Rosenhagen
Brett Shockley
Rajiv Tandon
John Tedesco
Jim Thomas
Troy Venjohn
Jeanne Voigt
Roy Wetterstrom
Michael Wright
View our profile on LinkedIn  Contact Information

John Stavig
Professional Director