News from the Nest
Principal's Newsletter
Upcoming Events

Monday, 12/18

Gym Day for Grades:
PK3, PK4, K, 2, 3, 4
________________

Tuesday, 12/19

Gym Day for Grades:
K, 1,4,5,6/7, 8
  • Art Club 
________________

Wednesday, 12/20

________________

Thursday, 12/21

Gym Day for Grades:
1, 2, 3, 5, 6/7, 8

____________ _____

Friday, 12/22
11:15 AM Early Dismissal No After Care
  • 9:00 AM School Mass
__________________

Planning Ahead  
______________
Tuesday, 1/2/18

Return to School after Christmas Break
_______________

Full calendar of events available online.

Visit our website @


Volume:3   Issue: 16 December 17
Dear Friends,

Today marks the third Sunday of Advent also known as Gaudete Sunday. This is the day that we light the pink, or rose colored candle in our Advent Wreath. Guadete is Latin for rejoice, and this week there are many reasons to rejoice.


Our students, and some teachers, might rejoice that there are only four and a half days of school left before the much needed Christmas break. 

Your children might rejoice that there are only eight days until Christmas morning and all of the treats and treasures that come with the holiday. 

You might rejoice at the prospect of spending quality time with family and friends at holiday gatherings over the coming weeks.

Although these are all fantastic and wonderful reasons to rejoice, the true reason to delight is that in just over a week we will be welcoming the arrival of Jesus our Savior.  

Take the time to celebrate the secular traditions, but be mindful in keeping the true meaning of the season and keep Christ in Christmas.
 
Merry Christmas,

Steven J. Santoli
Principal
UPDATED: Pick-Up Procedures

Afternoon Pick-Up

CARS SHOULD PARK IN A MARKED PARKING SPACE
  • A large area in front of the school will be coned off to create a safe walking zone for children and adults.
  • Students will be walked by their teacher into the designated coned area to meet their parents.
  • No student will be allowed past the cones without an adult.
  • Meet your child in the coned area and walk them back to your car.
  • You may exit the parking lot slowly and carefully when you determine it is safe to do so.
Soup Drive for Homes for the Brave
More Than Halfway to Our Goal: 700 Cans All Ready Collected


Mrs. Riehl, Mrs. Loreng, and the PK3 class will once again collect canned soup for Homes for the Brave. Every Monday, until the Super Bowl, students and staff are asked to donate canned soup. As a thank you, Mr. Santoli will allow anybody that donates to wear their favorite football (or any sport) jersey over their uniform. 

Homes for the Brave provides emergency shelter for homeless veterans as well as counseling, housing, and career guidance.

Photos of the Week
Service and Sweaters

This week we had some cure kids celebrate Ugly Sweater Day and classes prepared packages for the Parish Giving Tree service project.



Rediker Parent Plus Portal Open
Monitor Student Progress Online

All parents should have received an email with instructions on how to login to the Parent Plus Portal. This portal allows you to track the academic progress of your children. 

Teachers will update all grades on the 15th and 28th of each month. Please create your account and take the time to check this site frequently.  Once your account is created you may wish to download the Parent Plus App for Apple or Android phones.

If you have not received your instruction email or you need assistance logging in, please contact Mr.Ambrogio at sambrogio@oloaffld.org.
Teacher and Staff Contact Information

Listed below you will find the teacher and staff email list for the 2017-18 school year.  Open communication is paramount to a successful home and school relationship.

Phone messages can be left for all teachers by calling the main office at 203-334-6271.

Position
Name
Email
Principal Steven Santoli principal@oloaffld.org
Administrative Assistant
Jessica Navarro office@oloaffld.org
Director of Enrollment
Karen Guastelle kguastelle@oloaffld.org

School Nurse
nurse@oloaffld.org
Bookkeeper
bookkeeper@oloaffld.org
PK 3  Mary Reihl mreihl@oloaffld.org
PK4  Jean Blaze jblaze@oloaffld.org
Kindergarten Rosa Ferreira rferreira@oloaffld.org
First Grade  Melinda Gremse mgremse@oloaffld.org
Second Grade Kathy Andrade kandrade@oloaffld.org
Third Grade Lisa Kozlowski lkozlowski@oloaffld.org
Fourth Grade Lauren Korres lkorres@oloaffld.org
Fifth Grade Elizabeth Cahill ecahill@oloaffld.org
Sixth Grade/Science Laurie Strazza lstrazza@oloaffld.org
Seventh Grade/English Sunita Yashavant syashavant@oloaffld.org
Eighth Grade/SS/Music Theresa Yoney tyoney@oloaffld.org
Math/Computers
Stephen Ambrogio sambrogio@oloaffld.org
Spanish/Art Monica Scarlato mscarlato@oloaffld.org
Algebra Ken Moran kmoran@oloaffld.org

Assumption Catholic School on the Web
Follow us on social media












The best source of information about our school happenings is our website.  The calendar function of the website is updated frequently. Forms and important information can be downloaded from the yellow envelope tab weekly.






Virtus Registration and Training
All Adult volunteers  must be Virtus Trained 

T o register with Virtus and be eligible to volunteer, coach, or chaperone in school or at a school sponsored event you must register with Virtus, complete a training and agree to a background check.

Click here to visit the Virtus website.  Remember to select Assumption School as your primary location.  Please contact the office with questions or concerns.

Mission Statement
Assumption Catholic School provides an education of academic excellence, rooted in the Catholic Faith, which fosters the spiritual, physical, moral, and intellectual development of all students, so they may realize their full potential as responsible, caring, and contributing citizens of the world.