News from the Nest
Principal's Newsletter
Upcoming Events

Monday, 9/25

Gym Day for Grades:
PK3, PK4, K, 2, 3, 4

________________

Tuesday, 9/26

Gym Day for Grades:
K, 1,4,5,6/7, 8

 

________________

Wednesday, 9/27


________________

Thursday, 9/28

Gym Day for Grades:
1, 2, 3, 5, 6/7, 8
  • Violin Sizing at 3:15 PM

____________ _____

Friday, 9/29
  • Basketball Online Registration Form Due 

_________________

Planning Ahead

Friday, 10/6

First Friday Mass
9:00 AM
___________________

Friday, 10/13

Mass with Monsignor Powers

9:00 AM 
__________________

Saturday, 10/28

Monster Mash
________________

Tuesday, 10/31

Walk-a-Thon

Early Dismissal @ 11:15 AM

After Care Available
______________

Wednesday, 11/1

All Saint's Mass

9:30 AM
______________


Full calendar of events available online.

Visit our website @


Volume:3   Issue: 4 September 24
Dear Friends,

It was wonderful to see so many of our families at Back to School Night last Tuesday. Over 200 people attended this important evening. I appreciate your commitment to your child's education and value you as a resource and supporter of Assumption Catholic School.  

I would also like to extend a special thank you to the campus ministry of Notre Dame High School. NDHS sent 17 high school students to help entertain our students so that parents could attend the evening without the worry of securing child care. We will continue this practice to make it easier for you to attend meetings and events at school.


If you were not able to make the meeting last Tuesday, please review the slide presentation below.

Many Blessings,

Steven J. Santoli
Principal
Welcome To Our New Bookkeeper
Melissa DiLauro to Serve as In-House  Bookkeeper


Assumption is pleased to announce the hire of a new in-house bookkeeper.  Melissa DiLauro will work three days per week right in our school. Among other things, Melissa is responsible for Before and After Care billing and FACTS tuition account payments.

If you have any questions or concerns about financial matters, Melissa can be reached via email at bookkeeper@oloaffld.org or on her direct line, 203-256-9979.
Basketball Registration Deadline, 9/29
Boys and Girls in Grades 3-8 are invited to Join  Our Teams

basketball-basket.jpg

It is time to tip-off the basketball season! All boys and girls in grades 3-8 are invited to participate in our interscholastic basketball program. Teams will have 1-2 practices per week. The games are held in the evenings or during the day on the weekends. Please complete the registration form below.

Registration forms are due by Friday, 9/29. Payments must be made by Monday, 10/2.

Registration is not complete until the registration fee of $100 is paid in full.

Make checks payable to Assumption Catholic School and submit payment to the main office.

Suburban JJV League (Games in Shelton)
Boys in grades 3-4
Girls in grades 3-4

St. Ann JV and V League (Games in Black Rock)
JV Boys in grades 5-6
JV Girls in grades 5-6

Varsity Boys in grades 7-8
Varsity Girls in grades 7-8

Violin and Band Registration Forms
Download Registration Forms Below

Assumption is proud to offer violin lessons for students in grades 1 through 8 and band for students in grades 3 through 8.  Both groups practice on Thursday afternoons and they will perform in the Christmas Concert and a Spring Concert.

If you are interested in registering your child for either of these activities please download the forms below and send it, along with payment to school by the deadline.


Rediker Parent Plus Portal Open
Monitor Student Progress Online

All parents should have received an email with instructions on how to login to the Parent Plus Portal. This portal allows you to track the academic progress of your children. 

Teachers will update all grades on the 15th and 28th of each month. Please create your account and take the time to check this site frequently.  Once your account is created you may wish to download the Parent Plus App for Apple or Android phones.

If you have not received your instruction email or you need assistance logging in, please contact Mr.Ambrogio at sambrogio@oloaffld.org.
Art Room Donations Needed
Mrs. Scarlato Needs your Newspapers and Cardboard


Don't throw out your old newspaper and cardboard boxes. Send them into the Art Room so we can turn your trash into beautiful artistic treasures.  
Photos of the Week

Eighth graders completing their morning jobs.

First graders practice spelling words with short a sounds.


Ms. Bizub and Ms. Kim teach about  the instruments of the band and orchestra.


Drop-Off and Pick-Up Procedures



It is our goal to have all students arrive and leave school in a safe and orderly fashion.  This is impossible without you strictly following these simple procedures.  The time you might save by cutting corners is not worth the potential of hurting someone. 

Morning Drop-Off
  • The safest and quickest method of drop off is to pull in front of the school and pull forward as far as possible up to the flag pole.  When your car is parallel to the curb, allow your children to leave on the curbside of the car and walk behind the cones to the main door.
  • If you choose to park and help your child carry a large project or other materials, park inside the coned area and cross at the painted crosswalk to the main door.
  • Kindergarten and PK parents should park on the far side of the cones and walk their children into the flagpole doors and to the classrooms.
Afternoon Pick-Up

ALL CARS MUST PARK INSIDE THE CONED AREA
  • Drive forward to the basketball hoop and turn left in front of the school.  Drive to the furthest available row and pull all the way up to the car in front of you facing the church.
  • If you arrive after 3:00 PM, pull forward to the basketball hoop and form a neat straight line to the left and facing the school.
  • Exit your vehicle and walk to the grass area. Your children will be lined up on the sidewalk with their teachers. Make contact with the teacher to indicate you are taking your child. walk your child back to your car and wait for the cones to be lifted to exit the parking lot safely.
NO CONES SHOULD BE MOVED OR CARS MOVING WHILE STUDENTS AND PARENTS ARE WALKING IN THE LOT.

When everyone follows the procedure our entire dismissal process takes no more than 15 minutes. If you have extreme circumstances and need to return to work or you are physically unable to walk to pick up your child, notify the main office and accommodations will be made for you.
Teacher and Staff Contact Information

Listed below you will find the teacher and staff email list for the 2017-18 school year.  Open communication is paramount to a successful home and school relationship.

Phone messages can be left for all teachers by calling the main office at 203-334-6271.

Position
Name
Email
Principal Steven Santoli principal@oloaffld.org
Administrative Assistant
Jessica Navarro office@oloaffld.org
Director of Enrollment
Karen Guastelle kguastelle@oloaffld.org

School Nurse Jennifer Staecker nurse@oloaffld.org
Bookkeeper Melissa DiLauro bookkeeper@oloaffld.org
PK 3  Mary Reihl mreihl@oloaffld.org
PK4  Jean Blaze jblaze@oloaffld.org
Kindergarten Rosa Ferreira rferreira@oloaffld.org
First Grade  Melinda Gremse mgremse@oloaffld.org
Second Grade Kathy Andrade kandrade@oloaffld.org
Third Grade Lisa Kozlowski lkozlowski@oloaffld.org
Fourth Grade Lauren Korres lkorres@oloaffld.org
Fifth Grade Elizabeth Cahill ecahill@oloaffld.org
Sixth Grade/Science Laurie Strazza lstrazza@oloaffld.org
Seventh Grade/English Sunita Yashavant syashavant@oloaffld.org
Eighth Grade/SS/Music Theresa Yoney tyoney@oloaffld.org
Math/Computers
Stephen Ambrogio sambrogio@oloaffld.org
Spanish/Art Monica Scarlato mscarlato@oloaffld.org
Algebra Ken Moran kmoran@oloaffld.org

Assumption Catholic School on the Web
Follow us on social media












The best source of information about our school happenings is our website.  The calendar function of the website is updated frequently. Forms and important information can be downloaded from the yellow envelope tab weekly.






Virtus Registration and Training
All Adult volunteers  must be Virtus Trained 

T o register with Virtus and be eligible to volunteer, coach, or chaperone in school or at a school sponsored event you must register with Virtus, complete a training and agree to a background check.

Click here to visit the Virtus website.  Remember to select Assumption School as your primary location.  Please contact the office with questions or concerns.

Mission Statement
Assumption Catholic School provides an education of academic excellence, rooted in the Catholic Faith, which fosters the spiritual, physical, moral, and intellectual development of all students, so they may realize their full potential as responsible, caring, and contributing citizens of the world.