News from the Nest
Principal's Newsletter
Upcoming Events

Monday, 10/30

Gym Day for Grades:
PK3, PK4, K, 2, 3, 4
________________

Tuesday, 10/31

Gym Day for Grades:
K, 1,4,5,6/7, 8
  • Halloween Walk-a-Thon @ 9:00 AM
  • 11:15 AM Early Dismissal 
  • After Care until 3:00 PM
________________

Wednesday, 11/1
  • All Saint's Mass @ 9:30 AM
  • End of Quarter 1
________________

Thursday, 11/2

Gym Day for Grades:
1, 2, 3, 5, 6/7, 8
____________ _____

Friday, 11/3
  • Living Rosary @ 1:30 PM
__________________

Planning Ahead  
__________________

Saturday, 11/4

Cross Country State Championship @ Wickham Park
________________

Tuesday, 11/7

NO SCHOOL 
ELECTION DAY
______________

Friday, 11/10

NO SCHOOL
VETERAN'S DAY
______________
Saturday, 11/11

Turkey Bingo


Full calendar of events available online.

Visit our website @


Volume:3   Issue: 9 October 29
Dear Friends,

If you were not in the Parish Hall on Saturday night you missed a fantastic evening of family fun.  The Monster Mash was truly a "graveyard smash"!
Those in attendance were dressed in the cutest, scariest, and most creative costumes. They danced the night away as the DJ played the latest and greatest tunes.  The sixth and seventh grade students and their families organized crafts, games, and provided snacks to round out the evening.


This was just the first of many family friendly events hosted by our classes and sponsored by the HSA that we hold every year. Keep a close eye out for updates, invitations, and requests for help to make these events great.

Many Blessings,

Steven J. Santoli
Principal
Halloween Walk-a-Thon 
Fundraising Incentives Announced 



On October 31, the HSA will be hosting our annual Walk-a-Thon.  Pledge forms have been sent home and students are asked to solicit pledges from family and friends.  All money raised goes directly to the HSA to support activities and initiatives to benefit our students in and out of the classroom.  


Each student that raises $400 will will receive this unique drawstring backpack.

100% of money raised will be credited toward your family obligation of the annual HSA Activity Fee.

For more information and to volunteer to help at this event contact the HSA at HSA@oloaffld.org.
Celebrate the Living Rosary, Friday
New Date and Time 


All are welcome to celebrate the month of the Rosary on Friday, November 3 at 1:30 PM.  

Join us as we form a Living Rosary with our students acting as each of the beads.  Share in the saying of this powerful prayer and enjoy this beautiful event.
After Care Available on Halloween  

As a convenience to our working parents we will be offering After Care from 11:15 AM to 3:00 PM on Tuesday, October 31.  All students staying for After Care should bring lunch as the cafeteria will not be open.

If you wish to use this service please notify the main office by Monday afternoon. Email Mr. Santoli at principal@oloaffld.org.
Video of the Week

Watch an excerpt from the Windy City Players performance of Robin Hood, starring some of our students and staff.


Soup Drive for Homes for the Brave
PK3 Accepting Donations Every Monday  Until February


Mrs. Riehl, Mrs. Loreng, and the PK3 class will once again collect canned soup for Homes for the Brave. Every Monday, until the Super Bowl, students and staff are asked to donate canned soup. As a thank you, Mr. Santoli will allow anybody that donates to wear their favorite football (or any sport) jersey over their uniform. 

Homes for the Brave provides emergency shelter for homeless veterans as well as counseling, housing, and career guidance.

Rediker Parent Plus Portal Open
Monitor Student Progress Online

All parents should have received an email with instructions on how to login to the Parent Plus Portal. This portal allows you to track the academic progress of your children. 

Teachers will update all grades on the 15th and 28th of each month. Please create your account and take the time to check this site frequently.  Once your account is created you may wish to download the Parent Plus App for Apple or Android phones.

If you have not received your instruction email or you need assistance logging in, please contact Mr.Ambrogio at sambrogio@oloaffld.org.
Drop-Off and Pick-Up Procedures

It is our goal to have all students arrive and leave school in a safe and orderly fashion.  This is impossible without you strictly following these simple procedures.  The time you might save by cutting corners is not worth the potential of hurting someone. 

Morning Drop-Off
  • The safest and quickest method of drop off is to pull in front of the school and pull forward as far as possible up to the flag pole.  When your car is parallel to the curb, allow your children to leave on the curbside of the car and walk behind the cones to the main door.
  • If you choose to park and help your child carry a large project or other materials, park inside the coned area and cross at the painted crosswalk to the main door.
  • Kindergarten and PK parents should park on the far side of the cones and walk their children into the flagpole doors and to the classrooms.
Afternoon Pick-Up

ALL CARS MUST PARK INSIDE THE CONED AREA
  • Drive forward to the basketball hoop and turn left in front of the school.  Drive to the furthest available row and pull all the way up to the car in front of you facing the church.
  • If you arrive after 3:00 PM, pull forward to the basketball hoop and form a neat straight line to the left and facing the school.
  • Exit your vehicle and walk to the grass area. Your children will be lined up on the sidewalk with their teachers. Make contact with the teacher to indicate you are taking your child. walk your child back to your car and wait for the cones to be lifted to exit the parking lot safely.
NO CONES SHOULD BE MOVED OR CARS MOVING WHILE STUDENTS AND PARENTS ARE WALKING IN THE LOT.

When everyone follows the procedure our entire dismissal process takes no more than 15 minutes. If you have extreme circumstances and need to return to work or you are physically unable to walk to pick up your child, notify the main office and accommodations will be made for you.
Teacher and Staff Contact Information

Listed below you will find the teacher and staff email list for the 2017-18 school year.  Open communication is paramount to a successful home and school relationship.

Phone messages can be left for all teachers by calling the main office at 203-334-6271.

Position
Name
Email
Principal Steven Santoli principal@oloaffld.org
Administrative Assistant
Jessica Navarro office@oloaffld.org
Director of Enrollment
Karen Guastelle kguastelle@oloaffld.org

School Nurse Jennifer Staecker nurse@oloaffld.org
Bookkeeper Melissa DiLauro bookkeeper@oloaffld.org
PK 3  Mary Reihl mreihl@oloaffld.org
PK4  Jean Blaze jblaze@oloaffld.org
Kindergarten Rosa Ferreira rferreira@oloaffld.org
First Grade  Melinda Gremse mgremse@oloaffld.org
Second Grade Kathy Andrade kandrade@oloaffld.org
Third Grade Lisa Kozlowski lkozlowski@oloaffld.org
Fourth Grade Lauren Korres lkorres@oloaffld.org
Fifth Grade Elizabeth Cahill ecahill@oloaffld.org
Sixth Grade/Science Laurie Strazza lstrazza@oloaffld.org
Seventh Grade/English Sunita Yashavant syashavant@oloaffld.org
Eighth Grade/SS/Music Theresa Yoney tyoney@oloaffld.org
Math/Computers
Stephen Ambrogio sambrogio@oloaffld.org
Spanish/Art Monica Scarlato mscarlato@oloaffld.org
Algebra Ken Moran kmoran@oloaffld.org

Assumption Catholic School on the Web
Follow us on social media












The best source of information about our school happenings is our website.  The calendar function of the website is updated frequently. Forms and important information can be downloaded from the yellow envelope tab weekly.






Virtus Registration and Training
All Adult volunteers  must be Virtus Trained 

T o register with Virtus and be eligible to volunteer, coach, or chaperone in school or at a school sponsored event you must register with Virtus, complete a training and agree to a background check.

Click here to visit the Virtus website.  Remember to select Assumption School as your primary location.  Please contact the office with questions or concerns.

Mission Statement
Assumption Catholic School provides an education of academic excellence, rooted in the Catholic Faith, which fosters the spiritual, physical, moral, and intellectual development of all students, so they may realize their full potential as responsible, caring, and contributing citizens of the world.