News from the Nest
Principal's Newsletter
Upcoming Events

Monday, 1/29

Gym Day for Grades:
PK3, PK4, K, 2, 3, 4
  • Opening Prayer Service and Assembly 9 AM
________________

Tuesday, 1/30

Gym Day for Grades:
K, 1,4,5,6/7, 8
  • Spirit Day
________________

Wednesday, 1/31
  • Scholastic Book Fair
________________

Thursday, 2/1

Gym Day for Grades:
1, 2, 3, 5, 6/7, 8


____________ _____

Friday, 1/26
  • First Friday Mass, 9AM
  • Grandparents Special Person's Day
__________________

Planning Ahead  
_______________
 
_______________

Full calendar of events available online.

Visit our website @


Volume:3   Issue: 21 January 28
Dear Friends,

The upcoming week is one of the most exciting weeks at Assumption Catholic School...Catholic Schools Week!  This week is the annual nationwide celebration of Catholic education.  Every Catholic school across the country will be celebrating the unique gifts that we share in our schools.  

Below you will find a detailed calendar and explanation of the events we have planned.  The week kicks off with an opening prayer service hosted by our seventh grade. All are invited to join us Monday morning at 9 o'clock in the Parish Hall.  Friday is also an action packed day. We start with Mass at 9 o'clock, hosted by the third and eighth grade students. This is also Grandparent/Special Person's Day.  All students are asked to invite the special people in their lives to celebrate Mass and visit the school.

We close our week by kicking off our enrollment season by hosting an Open House on Sunday from 10 AM to Noon.  I ask that you help spread the word about the wonderful education and experience you and your children have at Assumption. Spread the good news and invite friends, neighbors, relatives, or even someone in the supermarket to attend the Open House and consider giving their children the gift of Jesus Christ in every aspect of their life.
 
Many Blessings,

Steven J. Santoli
Principal
Current Student Registration Forms Due
February 1 is the Deadline to Register for the 2018-19 School Year



Registration forms were sent home last week and are due in the main office by February 1. Complete this form for all children that are currently enrolled at Assumption and are returning next year. Only one form per family needs to be completed.  The $200 registration fee must be paid to confirm the registration for next year.  Only one fee per family!

Any family interested in enrolling a sibling at Assumption for the first time must complete a New Student Application.  There is no application fee for current families, the $200 registration fee will apply for all siblings for the 2018-19 school year. 

Click links below for registration and application forms:



Bishop's Scholarship Applications Open 
February 1 is the First Day to Apply for Scholarships


Any family seeking financial assistance of any kind for the 2018-19 school year should apply to the Bishop's Scholarship Fund starting February 1.

The application deadline for current families is March 15, so don't delay!  The application process is slightly different this year.  There will be no paper application.  All applications will be processed directly through the FACTS tuition management website.

Please take some time to read the FAQ sheets below and visit the Foundations in Education website for more information.





Helmets Required for Ice Skating



All students in grades 3-8 that wish to ice skate at Sports Center CT on Thursday MUST wear a helmet.  Helmets are not available at the rink and must be brought in by the students. Bike helmets work very well. Please write the student's name in the helmet.

If you have extra helmets please consider sending them in for other students that might not have a helmet to use.

Catholic Schools Week Calendar

Celebrate Catholic Schools Week at two Fairfield University basketball games! Root on our Boy's and Girl's Varsity Basketball teams as they join the Stags on the court at Webster Bank Arena for the National Anthem and play a coed scrimmage at halftime of the men's game on January 29.
Soup Drive for Homes for the Brave
Monday is the Final Day to Donate


Mrs. Riehl, Mrs. Loreng, and the PK3 class will once again collect canned soup for Homes for the Brave. Every Monday, until the Super Bowl, students and staff are asked to donate canned soup. As a thank you, Mr. Santoli will allow anybody that donates to wear their favorite football (or any sport) jersey over their uniform. 

Homes for the Brave provides emergency shelter for homeless veterans as well as counseling, housing, and career guidance.

HSA Hosts the Sweetheart Dance


Download the flyer here

Photos of the Week


Ms. Andrade's second grade students use scientific inquiry to determine the best dough recipe.   


Mrs. Ferreira's Kindergarten students celebrate Winnie the Pooh Day with special crafts and stories.

PreK3 students visit Mr. Santoli to pick from the birthday prize box.

Teacher and Staff Contact Information

Listed below you will find the teacher and staff email list for the 2017-18 school year.  Open communication is paramount to a successful home and school relationship.

Phone messages can be left for all teachers by calling the main office at 203-334-6271.

Position
Name
Email
Principal Steven Santoli principal@oloaffld.org
Administrative Assistant
Jody Gourley office@oloaffld.org
Director of Enrollment
Karen Guastelle kguastelle@oloaffld.org

School Nurse Nancy Pursak nurse@oloaffld.org
Bookkeeper Jessica Navarro bookkeeper@oloaffld.org
PK 3  Mary Reihl mreihl@oloaffld.org
PK4  Jean Blaze jblaze@oloaffld.org
Kindergarten Rosa Ferreira rferreira@oloaffld.org
First Grade  Melinda Gremse mgremse@oloaffld.org
Second Grade Kathy Andrade kandrade@oloaffld.org
Third Grade Lisa Kozlowski lkozlowski@oloaffld.org
Fourth Grade Lauren Korres lkorres@oloaffld.org
Fifth Grade Elizabeth Cahill ecahill@oloaffld.org
Sixth Grade/Science Laurie Strazza lstrazza@oloaffld.org
Seventh Grade/English Sunita Yashavant syashavant@oloaffld.org
Eighth Grade/SS/Music Theresa Yoney tyoney@oloaffld.org
Math/Computers
Stephen Ambrogio sambrogio@oloaffld.org
Spanish/Art Monica Scarlato mscarlato@oloaffld.org
Algebra Ken Moran kmoran@oloaffld.org

Assumption Catholic School on the Web
Follow us on social media












The best source of information about our school happenings is our website.  The calendar function of the website is updated frequently. Forms and important information can be downloaded from the yellow envelope tab weekly.






Virtus Registration and Training
All Adult volunteers  must be Virtus Trained 

T o register with Virtus and be eligible to volunteer, coach, or chaperone in school or at a school sponsored event you must register with Virtus, complete a training and agree to a background check.

Click here to visit the Virtus website.  Remember to select Assumption School as your primary location.  Please contact the office with questions or concerns.

Mission Statement
Assumption Catholic School provides an education of academic excellence, rooted in the Catholic Faith, which fosters the spiritual, physical, moral, and intellectual development of all students, so they may realize their full potential as responsible, caring, and contributing citizens of the world.