News from the Nest
Principal's Newsletter
Upcoming Events

Monday, 3/12

Gym Day for Grades:
PK3, PK4, K, 2, 3, 4
  • Author Visit @ 1PM
________________

Tuesday, 3/13

Gym Day for Grades:
K, 1,4,5,6/7, 8
________________

Wednesday, 3/14
  • Living Stations of the Cross @ 1:30 PM
________________

Thursday, 3/15
  • Museum of Natural History Field Trip
____________ _____

Friday, 3/16
  • St. Patrick's Day Parade @ Noon

__________________

Planning Ahead  
_______________

_______________

Full calendar of events available online.

Visit our website @


Volume:3   Issue: 27 March 11
Dear Parents,

Three snow days in a row and a time change have thrown me for a loop! Sorry for the late newsletter.

I want to thank the first and second grade classes and the HSA for hosting the Easter Bunny Brunch this weekend. Not even Nor'easter Quinn could stop the Easter Bunny from visiting Assumption!



As always I want to thank those that donated supplies or their time to make this a wonderful springtime celebration, even if Mother Nature had other plans. The Dad's Club cooking crew was firing on all cylinders Saturday morning. It was great to trust the task of feeding our guests to a trusted crew. 

I hope our celebration will bring about the springtime weather and prepare us for the coming of Easter. 
 
Many Blessings,

Steven J. Santoli
Principal
St. Ann Basketball League Champions!

Congratulations to the Boy's Varsity Eagles on winning the St. Ann's Basketball League Championship on Sunday. The boys defeated Holy Trinity Catholic Academy of Shelton by a score of 35-24 to take the second and final game in the best of three series.  

A special thank you to head coach, Mr. Guastelle, and team manager, Mrs. Guastelle, for their leadership and guidance throughout the season.
Open Enrollment Now Underway
Register for the 2018-19 School Year

The registration deadline for current students has passed. There is still time to register your children to return to Assumption for the 2018-19 school year, but at this time a spot in the class can not be guaranteed.

Complete the Returning Student Registration form for all children that are currently enrolled at Assumption and are returning next year. Only one form per family needs to be completed.  The $200 registration fee must be paid to confirm the registration for next year.  Only one fee per family!

Any family interested in enrolling a sibling at Assumption for the first time must complete a New Student Application.  There is no application fee for current families, the $200 registration fee will apply for all siblings for the 2018-19 school year. 

Click links below for registration and application forms:



If you will not be able to return to Assumption, please return the registration form and check the box indicating your child will not be returning.
Greater Bridgeport St. Pat's Day Parade
Watch Us March on  Friday, March 16 at Noon

 All students in grades 3-8 are invited to march with us in the Greater Bridgeport St. Patrick's Day Parade in downtown Bridgeport at noon on Friday, March 16.

Students that have returned to permission slip will be given a special parade tee shirt to wear during the parade on Friday. Please have students dressed for the weather and plan to put the tee shirt over their sweatshirts or jackets.  They should wear gym pants and sneakers as well.  

Please pack a bagged lunch with a disposable water bottle to eat at the parade. Parents and families are invited to watch the parade along the routs starting at 12 noon on Friday.
Bishop's Scholarship Applications Open 
February 1 is the First Day to Apply for Scholarships

Deadline to Apply is March 15!

Any family seeking financial assistance of any kind for the 2018-19 school year should apply to the Bishop's Scholarship Fund starting February 1.

The application deadline for current families is March 15, so don't delay!  The application process is slightly different this year.  There will be no paper application.  All applications will be processed directly through the FACTS tuition management website.

Please take some time to read the FAQ sheets below and visit the Foundations in Education website for more information.





Author Jen Catonita t o Visit Assumption 
Monday, March 12

Teacher and Staff Contact Information

Listed below you will find the teacher and staff email list for the 2017-18 school year.  Open communication is paramount to a successful home and school relationship.

Phone messages can be left for all teachers by calling the main office at 203-334-6271.

Position
Name
Email
Principal Steven Santoli principal@oloaffld.org
Administrative Assistant
Jody Gourley office@oloaffld.org
Director of Enrollment
Karen Guastelle kguastelle@oloaffld.org

School Nurse Nancy Pursak nurse@oloaffld.org
Bookkeeper Jessica Navarro bookkeeper@oloaffld.org
PK 3  Mary Reihl mreihl@oloaffld.org
PK4  Jean Blaze jblaze@oloaffld.org
Kindergarten Rosa Ferreira rferreira@oloaffld.org
First Grade  Melinda Gremse mgremse@oloaffld.org
Second Grade Kathy Andrade kandrade@oloaffld.org
Third Grade Lisa Kozlowski lkozlowski@oloaffld.org
Fourth Grade Lauren Korres lkorres@oloaffld.org
Fifth Grade Elizabeth Cahill ecahill@oloaffld.org
Sixth Grade/Science Laurie Strazza lstrazza@oloaffld.org
Seventh Grade/English Sunita Yashavant syashavant@oloaffld.org
Eighth Grade/SS/Music Theresa Yoney tyoney@oloaffld.org
Math/Computers
Stephen Ambrogio sambrogio@oloaffld.org
Spanish/Art Monica Scarlato mscarlato@oloaffld.org
Algebra Ken Moran kmoran@oloaffld.org

Assumption Catholic School on the Web
Follow us on social media












The best source of information about our school happenings is our website.  The calendar function of the website is updated frequently. Forms and important information can be downloaded from the yellow envelope tab weekly.






Virtus Registration and Training
All Adult volunteers  must be Virtus Trained 

T o register with Virtus and be eligible to volunteer, coach, or chaperone in school or at a school sponsored event you must register with Virtus, complete a training and agree to a background check.

Click here to visit the Virtus website.  Remember to select Assumption School as your primary location.  Please contact the office with questions or concerns.

Mission Statement
Assumption Catholic School provides an education of academic excellence, rooted in the Catholic Faith, which fosters the spiritual, physical, moral, and intellectual development of all students, so they may realize their full potential as responsible, caring, and contributing citizens of the world.