News from the Nest
Principal's Newsletter
Upcoming Events

Monday, 2/26

Gym Day for Grades:
PK3, PK4, K, 2, 3, 4

All School Dress Down Day
________________

Tuesday, 2/27

Gym Day for Grades:
K, 1,4,5,6/7, 8

Jump Rope/Hoops For Heart - All Students Wear Gym Uniform
________________

Wednesday, 2/28
  • Living Stations of the Cross 1:30 PM in Our Lady of the Assumption Church
________________

Thursday, 3/1

Gym Day for Grades:
1, 2, 3, 5, 6/7, 8


____________ _____

Friday, 3/2

11:15 AM Early Dismissal for Teacher Professional Development
__________________

Planning Ahead  
_______________

_______________

Full calendar of events available online.

Visit our website @


Volume:3   Issue: 25 February 25
Dear Parents,

The deadline to apply for financial assistance is March 15. There will be no exceptions! If your application is not complete and submitted by March 15 your child will not be eligible to receive financial assistance of any kind for the 2018-19 school year.  

All applications must be submitted online through the FACTS Management website. There is no paper application for the Bishop's Scholarship this year, all documents must be submitted through FACTS.

If you need help with this process please come to our financial aid night, information is listed below. We will grant you access to our computers, walk you through the process, scan documents, and help you upload them that night.

Financial Aid Night
Thursday, March 1, 2018

Assumption Catholic School Computer Lab
6:00PM - 8:00PM

***Please bring copies of your 2017 Tax Return***

If you have not completed your 2017 Tax Return, please bring your 2016 Tax Return and your 2017 W2 forms.

Please know your FACTS account login and password and try to log in prior to arriving on Thursday night.

 
Many Blessings,

Steven J. Santoli
Principal
Jump Rope and Hoops for Heart Event 


Our Jump Rope for Heart/Hoops for Heart Event will  take place on  Tuesday,  Students should bring in any money raised and dress down pass purchases by  Tuesday .  Elementary students should turn in their completed 'Heart Healthy Bingo' Family Project to earn a dress down pass and extra credit on that day as well. 
 

This program is beneficial for our studen ts on several levels.  Students have been learning, in physical education class, about good lifestyle choices which will keep their hearts healthy.  The AHA has donated jump ropes and other physical education equipment to our school to keep our students moving.  

As Catholics this is a fantastic opportunity to serve others through our fundraising for the American Heart Association.  We are hoping all families will participate and donate to the American Heart Association!  

If you have any questions, please email 
Heather Ferullo  HFerullo@oloaffld.org or Karen Guastelle  KGuastelle@oloaffld.org

Open Enrollment Now Underway
Register for the 2018-19 School Year

The registration deadline for current students has passed. There is still time to register your children to return to Assumption for the 2018-19 school year, but at this time a spot in the class can not be guaranteed.

Complete the Returning Student Registration form for all children that are currently enrolled at Assumption and are returning next year. Only one form per family needs to be completed.  The $200 registration fee must be paid to confirm the registration for next year.  Only one fee per family!

Any family interested in enrolling a sibling at Assumption for the first time must complete a New Student Application.  There is no application fee for current families, the $200 registration fee will apply for all siblings for the 2018-19 school year. 

Click links below for registration and application forms:



IF you will not be able to return to Assumption, please return the registration form and check the box indicating your child will not be retruning.
Bishop's Scholarship Applications Open 
February 1 is the First Day to Apply for Scholarships

Deadline to Apply is March 15!

Any family seeking financial assistance of any kind for the 2018-19 school year should apply to the Bishop's Scholarship Fund starting February 1.

The application deadline for current families is March 15, so don't delay!  The application process is slightly different this year.  There will be no paper application.  All applications will be processed directly through the FACTS tuition management website.

Please take some time to read the FAQ sheets below and visit the Foundations in Education website for more information.





Living Stations of the Cross 
All are Welcome to Join Us, Wednesday, 2/28 @ 1:30 PM



Teacher and Staff Contact Information

Listed below you will find the teacher and staff email list for the 2017-18 school year.  Open communication is paramount to a successful home and school relationship.

Phone messages can be left for all teachers by calling the main office at 203-334-6271.

Position
Name
Email
Principal Steven Santoli principal@oloaffld.org
Administrative Assistant
Jody Gourley office@oloaffld.org
Director of Enrollment
Karen Guastelle kguastelle@oloaffld.org

School Nurse Nancy Pursak nurse@oloaffld.org
Bookkeeper Jessica Navarro bookkeeper@oloaffld.org
PK 3  Mary Reihl mreihl@oloaffld.org
PK4  Jean Blaze jblaze@oloaffld.org
Kindergarten Rosa Ferreira rferreira@oloaffld.org
First Grade  Melinda Gremse mgremse@oloaffld.org
Second Grade Kathy Andrade kandrade@oloaffld.org
Third Grade Lisa Kozlowski lkozlowski@oloaffld.org
Fourth Grade Lauren Korres lkorres@oloaffld.org
Fifth Grade Elizabeth Cahill ecahill@oloaffld.org
Sixth Grade/Science Laurie Strazza lstrazza@oloaffld.org
Seventh Grade/English Sunita Yashavant syashavant@oloaffld.org
Eighth Grade/SS/Music Theresa Yoney tyoney@oloaffld.org
Math/Computers
Stephen Ambrogio sambrogio@oloaffld.org
Spanish/Art Monica Scarlato mscarlato@oloaffld.org
Algebra Ken Moran kmoran@oloaffld.org

Assumption Catholic School on the Web
Follow us on social media












The best source of information about our school happenings is our website.  The calendar function of the website is updated frequently. Forms and important information can be downloaded from the yellow envelope tab weekly.






Virtus Registration and Training
All Adult volunteers  must be Virtus Trained 

T o register with Virtus and be eligible to volunteer, coach, or chaperone in school or at a school sponsored event you must register with Virtus, complete a training and agree to a background check.

Click here to visit the Virtus website.  Remember to select Assumption School as your primary location.  Please contact the office with questions or concerns.

Mission Statement
Assumption Catholic School provides an education of academic excellence, rooted in the Catholic Faith, which fosters the spiritual, physical, moral, and intellectual development of all students, so they may realize their full potential as responsible, caring, and contributing citizens of the world.