News from the Nest
Principal's Newsletter
Upcoming Events

Monday, 4/16


Gym Day for Grades:
PK3, PK4, K, 2, 3, 4
________________

Tuesday, 4/17

Gym Day for Grades:
K, 1,4,5,6/7, 8
________________

Wednesday, 4/18
________________

Thursday, 4/19

Gym Day for Grades:  1,2,3,5,6/7,8
____________ _____

Friday, 4/20

__________________

Planning Ahead  
_______________
Monday, 4/28

WINES AND STEINS
Beer/Wine Tasting 
Auction
_______________

Full calendar of events available online.

Visit our website @


Volume:3   Issue: 32 April 15

Dear Assumption Family,

I would like to extend my thanks to Father Cipriani for hosting a Teacher's and Educator's Mass at Our Lady of the Assumption Church today.  

It was a beautiful and uplifting service. Father reminded us of the importance of teaching from the historical and political framework of creating good citizens, but more importantly, he expressed how we as Catholic educators must go one step further and create good people.  We must do as Jesus did, and teach our students to live the way in which God intended.

Like Jesus, Father Cipriani, is a great teacher of the Faith and we are fortunate to have him as our Pastor and spiritual guide. After the Mass, while several of our teachers thanked him for his kind words he said, "Everybody needs a little encouragement from time to time."

He certainly provided the encouragement we needed to return to school after the long spring break and finish out the year filled with God's love to be shared with our students. 

   
Many Blessings,

Steven J. Santoli
Principal
New Uniform Now Available
New Design and Uniform  Supplier for 2018-19 School Year

The official school uniform for Assumption Catholic School will change effective at the start of the 2018-19 school year. Along with the change, a new exclusive provider has been selected. Blake's Uniform in Stratford will be our uniform provider effective immediately. 

The school uniform has been redesigned to include our updated logo and incorporate the color blue to honor our Blessed Mother Mary. Affordability, comfort, and simplicity were guiding principles in the redesign.   

Blake's Uniform is a locally owned and operated business with a convenient location, unparalleled customer service, and a simple to use online ordering system.  Unlike the previous supplier, Blake's has a large variety of items on hand and applies logos while you wait. This means that there should be no shortage or backorder issues on high demand items.

Samples of the uniforms are on display in the main lobby of the school and pictures are included below. Also find attached a spreadsheet outlining the new uniform code and requirements.  

Students are invited to wear the current uniform through the end of this year. Our current supplier will not be able to meet the need for warm weather uniforms this Spring.  On April 16, when we arrive back to school after Spring Break students are invited to wear the updated uniforms supplied by Blake's should they choose.


New Uniforms for Spring 2018


Pre-K Daily Uniform and K-8 Gym Uniform (Warm Weather)

Kindergarten - 5 Girl's Uniform (Warm Weather)
6-8 Girl's Daily Uniform (Warm Weather - Short Sleeve and  Cold Weather - Long Sleeve)
Kindergarten - 8 Boy's (Warm Weather)
Thank You to Our Wines and Steins Sponsors 

Our largest fundraiser of the year is just two weeks away.  The HSA has worked extremely hard to create a fun event for our school and parish community. Join us for live music, food, drink, and fun on Saturday April 28 at 7:00 PM in the Parish Hall.

All are invited to share in the fun and sample local brews, wines, and spirits from our generous sponsors.


































Sample our own special brew, Assumption IPA, only available at the Wines and Steins event on April 28!

Join us for Wines and Steins Tasting and Auction 

Please consider supporting our largest fundraiser of the year by attening the event on April 28 in the Parish Hall. The HSA is also seeking donations from local businesses and services.  If you have any contacts that can donate tickets, items, or provide services please contact the HSA at HSA@oloaffld.org.


An Amazon Wishlist has been created, should you choose to purchase a requested item for the auction.  Visit the link below to view the list.

Open Enrollment Now Underway
Register for the 2018-19 School Year

The registration deadline for current students has passed. There is still time to register your children to return to Assumption for the 2018-19 school year, but at this time a spot in the class can not be guaranteed.

Complete the Returning Student Registration form for all children that are currently enrolled at Assumption and are returning next year. Only one form per family needs to be completed.  The $200 registration fee must be paid to confirm the registration for next year.  Only one fee per family!

Any family interested in enrolling a sibling at Assumption for the first time must complete a New Student Application.  There is no application fee for current families, the $200 registration fee will apply for all siblings for the 2018-19 school year. 

Click links below for registration and application forms:



If you will not be able to return to Assumption, please return the registration form and check the box indicating your child will not be returning.
Teacher and Staff Contact Information

Listed below you will find the teacher and staff email list for the 2017-18 school year.  Open communication is paramount to a successful home and school relationship.

Phone messages can be left for all teachers by calling the main office at 203-334-6271.

Position
Name
Email
Principal Steven Santoli principal@oloaffld.org
Administrative Assistant
Jody Gourley office@oloaffld.org
Director of Enrollment
Karen Guastelle kguastelle@oloaffld.org

School Nurse Nancy Pursak nurse@oloaffld.org
Bookkeeper Jessica Navarro bookkeeper@oloaffld.org
PK 3  Mary Reihl mreihl@oloaffld.org
PK4  Jean Blaze jblaze@oloaffld.org
Kindergarten Rosa Ferreira rferreira@oloaffld.org
First Grade  Melinda Gremse mgremse@oloaffld.org
Second Grade Kathy Andrade kandrade@oloaffld.org
Third Grade Lisa Kozlowski lkozlowski@oloaffld.org
Fourth Grade Lauren Korres lkorres@oloaffld.org
Fifth Grade Elizabeth Cahill ecahill@oloaffld.org
Sixth Grade/Science Laurie Strazza lstrazza@oloaffld.org
Seventh Grade/English Sunita Yashavant syashavant@oloaffld.org
Eighth Grade/SS/Music Theresa Yoney tyoney@oloaffld.org
Math/Computers
Stephen Ambrogio sambrogio@oloaffld.org
Spanish/Art Monica Scarlato mscarlato@oloaffld.org
Algebra Ken Moran kmoran@oloaffld.org

Assumption Catholic School on the Web
Follow us on social media












The best source of information about our school happenings is our website.  The calendar function of the website is updated frequently. Forms and important information can be downloaded from the yellow envelope tab weekly.






Virtus Registration and Training
All Adult volunteers  must be Virtus Trained 

T o register with Virtus and be eligible to volunteer, coach, or chaperone in school or at a school sponsored event you must register with Virtus, complete a training and agree to a background check.

Click here to visit the Virtus website.  Remember to select Assumption School as your primary location.  Please contact the office with questions or concerns.

Mission Statement
Assumption Catholic School provides an education of academic excellence, rooted in the Catholic Faith, which fosters the spiritual, physical, moral, and intellectual development of all students, so they may realize their full potential as responsible, caring, and contributing citizens of the world.