News from the Nest
Principal's Newsletter
Upcoming Events

Monday, 4/30

Gym Day for Grades:
PK3, PK4, K, 2, 3, 4
________________

Tuesday, 5/1

Gym Day for Grades:
K, 1,4,5,6/7, 8

Grade 5 Mill River Field Trip
________________

Wednesday, 5/2

________________

Thursday, 5/3

Gym Day for Grades:  1,2,3,5,6/7,8

Ascension Thursday Mass @ 9:30 AM
____________ _____

Friday, 5/4

NO SCHOOL
DIOCESE WIDE TEACHER PD
__________________

Planning Ahead  
_______________

Wednesday, 5/9

Jeans for  Genes Dress Down Day 
Cystic Fibrosis Foundation
_______________

Full calendar of events available online.

Visit our website @


Volume:3   Issue: 33 April 22

Dear Assumption Family,

Thank you to everybody that made the Wines and Steins Auction Event a smashing success! With the efforts of our dedicated volunteers we were able to raise over $10,000 in one night to support the children and mission of Assumption Catholic School. This event is a monumental undertaking and all those that helped should be proud and rest in the knowledge that their efforts are appreciated and valued.

Our Home School Association is an integral part of our school community. Without the vision, work, and dedication of these volunteers many of our programs would not be possible.  The HSA is responsible for the majority of our fundraising and family events. They coordinate after school activities, host the walk-a-thon, manage the book fairs, and organize the Bunny Brunch and Breakfast with Santa among so many other things.



The HSA needs your help!     

Our current organization is made up of a few dedicated and capable families, but we can always use more volunteers.  As we closeout the year and look forward to another fantastic year at Assumption it is time to prepare for our future. If you want this school to succeed and to be a welcoming and nurturing place for your children I ask that you get involved.  One of the great many advantages of Catholic schools is the community and family atmosphere.  This can only continue if you help!

In the coming weeks we will share opportunities to get involved. There is a place for everybody and every talent. Your support and effort can only improve our already fantastic school community.
   
Many Blessings,

Steven J. Santoli
Principal
Important End of  Year Dates

Grade 8 Final Exams
May 29 to May 31

Grade 8 Class BBQ
May 31

Grade 8 Dinner Dance
June 2

Grade 8 Graduation
June 3

Field Day
June 11
(Rain Date)
June 12

Middle School Final Exams
June 13-15

Pre-Kindergarten Graduation
June 13

Kindergarten Graduation
June 14

Final Day of School
June 19

New Uniform Now Available
New Design and Uniform  Supplier for 2018-19 School Year

The official school uniform for Assumption Catholic School will change effective at the start of the 2018-19 school year. Along with the change, a new exclusive provider has been selected. Blake's Uniform in Stratford will be our uniform provider effective immediately. 

The school uniform has been redesigned to include our updated logo and incorporate the color blue to honor our Blessed Mother Mary. Affordability, comfort, and simplicity were guiding principles in the redesign.   

Blake's Uniform is a locally owned and operated business with a convenient location, unparalleled customer service, and a simple to use online ordering system.  Unlike the previous supplier, Blake's has a large variety of items on hand and applies logos while you wait. This means that there should be no shortage or backorder issues on high demand items.

Samples of the uniforms are on display in the main lobby of the school and pictures are included below. Also find attached a spreadsheet outlining the new uniform code and requirements.  

Students are invited to wear the current uniform through the end of this year. Our current supplier will not be able to meet the need for warm weather uniforms this Spring.  On April 16, when we arrive back to school after Spring Break students are invited to wear the updated uniforms supplied by Blake's should they choose.


New Uniforms for Spring 2018


Pre-K Daily Uniform and K-8 Gym Uniform (Warm Weather)

Kindergarten - 5 Girl's Uniform (Warm Weather)
6-8 Girl's Daily Uniform (Warm Weather - Short Sleeve and  Cold Weather - Long Sleeve)
Kindergarten - 8 Boy's (Warm Weather)
Open Enrollment Now Underway
Register for the 2018-19 School Year

The registration deadline for current students has passed. There is still time to register your children to return to Assumption for the 2018-19 school year, but at this time a spot in the class can not be guaranteed.

Complete the Returning Student Registration form for all children that are currently enrolled at Assumption and are returning next year. Only one form per family needs to be completed.  The $200 registration fee must be paid to confirm the registration for next year.  Only one fee per family!

Any family interested in enrolling a sibling at Assumption for the first time must complete a New Student Application.  There is no application fee for current families, the $200 registration fee will apply for all siblings for the 2018-19 school year. 

Click links below for registration and application forms:



If you will not be able to return to Assumption, please return the registration form and check the box indicating your child will not be returning.
Teacher and Staff Contact Information

Listed below you will find the teacher and staff email list for the 2017-18 school year.  Open communication is paramount to a successful home and school relationship.

Phone messages can be left for all teachers by calling the main office at 203-334-6271.

Position
Name
Email
Principal Steven Santoli principal@oloaffld.org
Administrative Assistant
Jody Gourley office@oloaffld.org
Director of Enrollment
Karen Guastelle kguastelle@oloaffld.org

School Nurse Nancy Pursak nurse@oloaffld.org
Bookkeeper Jessica Navarro bookkeeper@oloaffld.org
PK 3  Mary Reihl mreihl@oloaffld.org
PK4  Jean Blaze jblaze@oloaffld.org
Kindergarten Rosa Ferreira rferreira@oloaffld.org
First Grade  Melinda Gremse mgremse@oloaffld.org
Second Grade Kathy Andrade kandrade@oloaffld.org
Third Grade Lisa Kozlowski lkozlowski@oloaffld.org
Fourth Grade Lauren Korres lkorres@oloaffld.org
Fifth Grade Elizabeth Cahill ecahill@oloaffld.org
Sixth Grade/Science Laurie Strazza lstrazza@oloaffld.org
Seventh Grade/English Sunita Yashavant syashavant@oloaffld.org
Eighth Grade/SS/Music Theresa Yoney tyoney@oloaffld.org
Math/Computers
Stephen Ambrogio sambrogio@oloaffld.org
Spanish/Art Monica Scarlato mscarlato@oloaffld.org
Algebra Ken Moran kmoran@oloaffld.org

Assumption Catholic School on the Web
Follow us on social media












The best source of information about our school happenings is our website.  The calendar function of the website is updated frequently. Forms and important information can be downloaded from the yellow envelope tab weekly.






Virtus Registration and Training
All Adult volunteers  must be Virtus Trained 

T o register with Virtus and be eligible to volunteer, coach, or chaperone in school or at a school sponsored event you must register with Virtus, complete a training and agree to a background check.

Click here to visit the Virtus website.  Remember to select Assumption School as your primary location.  Please contact the office with questions or concerns.

Mission Statement
Assumption Catholic School provides an education of academic excellence, rooted in the Catholic Faith, which fosters the spiritual, physical, moral, and intellectual development of all students, so they may realize their full potential as responsible, caring, and contributing citizens of the world.