News from the Nest
Principal's Newsletter
Upcoming Events

Monday, 5/21

Gym Day for Grades:
PK3, PK4, K, 2, 3, 4

Dress Down Day for St. Jude

Toiletry Drive for Operation Hope
________________

Tuesday, 5/22

Gym Day for Grades:
K, 1,4,5,6/7, 8

May Crowning 9 AM

Toiletry Drive for Operation Hope
________________

Wednesday, 5/23

Breakfast of Chanmpions

Toiletry Drive for Operation Hope
________________

Thursday, 5/24

Gym Day for Grades:  1,2,3,5,6/7,8

Toiletry Drive for Operation Hope
____________ _____

Friday, 5/25

11:15 Early Dismissal
NO AFTER CARE

Toiletry Drive for Operation Hope
__________________

Planning Ahead  
_______________


_______________

Full calendar of events available online.

Visit our website @


Volume:3   Issue: 36 May 21

Dear Assumption Family,

I apologize for the missed and delayed newsletters. I have been spending my weekends volunteering for the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation Great Strides Walk-a-thons throughout the state.  The very early mornings and long days of hard work to help cure this life shortening disease have been extremely fulfilling, but also very exhausting.

This feeling of fulfillment is the rational behind our seventh grade religion students service projects. I want our students to experience this feeling first hand. You will be hearing about several collections and donation opportunities in the coming weeks. I ask that you participate in these projects as best you can.  The students have worked hard to plan and organize these projects, now we need your participation to make them a success.

We are currently collecting toiletries to help the homeless in our community served by Operation Hope.  Please see the flyer below for the specific items each class should donate.


Many Blessings,

Steven J. Santoli
Principal
Tuition Assistance Committee Process
Appeals Accepted until Friday,  May 25

All students receiving financial  assistance for the 2018-19 school year should have received written notification of scholarship awards.  In the event that further aid is needed, please complete the Request for Tuition Assistance form included with your notification letter and return it to the school by Friday, May 25 to be considered by the TAC for further assistance.

Limited funds are available at this time to meet the need expressed by our families. To help the committee determine appropriate awards, they request that each family write a letter explaining the reason for the need for further aid.

Only current families that applied for the Bishop Scholarship Fund and or new families that registered after the BSF deadline are eligible for TAC consideration.  All families applying to TAC, must complete the FACTS Grant & Aid application, register for the 2018-19 school year, and a satisfy the tuition obligation for 2017-18.
Important End of  Year Dates

Grade 8 Final Exams
May 29 to May 31

Grade 8 Class BBQ
May 31

Grade 8 Dinner Dance
June 2

Grade 8 Graduation
June 3

Field Day
June 11
(Rain Date)
June 12

Middle School Final Exams
June 13-15

Pre-Kindergarten Graduation
June 13

Kindergarten Graduation
June 14

Final Day of School
June 19

Teacher and Staff Contact Information

Listed below you will find the teacher and staff email list for the 2017-18 school year.  Open communication is paramount to a successful home and school relationship.

Phone messages can be left for all teachers by calling the main office at 203-334-6271.

Position
Name
Email
Principal Steven Santoli principal@oloaffld.org
Administrative Assistant
Jody Gourley office@oloaffld.org
Director of Enrollment
Karen Guastelle kguastelle@oloaffld.org

School Nurse Nancy Pursak nurse@oloaffld.org
Bookkeeper Jessica Navarro bookkeeper@oloaffld.org
PK 3  Mary Reihl mreihl@oloaffld.org
PK4  Jean Blaze jblaze@oloaffld.org
Kindergarten Rosa Ferreira rferreira@oloaffld.org
First Grade  Melinda Gremse mgremse@oloaffld.org
Second Grade Kathy Andrade kandrade@oloaffld.org
Third Grade Lisa Kozlowski lkozlowski@oloaffld.org
Fourth Grade Lauren Korres lkorres@oloaffld.org
Fifth Grade Elizabeth Cahill ecahill@oloaffld.org
Sixth Grade/Science Laurie Strazza lstrazza@oloaffld.org
Seventh Grade/English Sunita Yashavant syashavant@oloaffld.org
Eighth Grade/SS/Music Theresa Yoney tyoney@oloaffld.org
Math/Computers
Stephen Ambrogio sambrogio@oloaffld.org
Spanish/Art Monica Scarlato mscarlato@oloaffld.org
Algebra Ken Moran kmoran@oloaffld.org

Assumption Catholic School on the Web
Follow us on social media












The best source of information about our school happenings is our website.  The calendar function of the website is updated frequently. Forms and important information can be downloaded from the yellow envelope tab weekly.






Virtus Registration and Training
All Adult volunteers  must be Virtus Trained 

T o register with Virtus and be eligible to volunteer, coach, or chaperone in school or at a school sponsored event you must register with Virtus, complete a training and agree to a background check.

Click here to visit the Virtus website.  Remember to select Assumption School as your primary location.  Please contact the office with questions or concerns.

Mission Statement
Assumption Catholic School provides an education of academic excellence, rooted in the Catholic Faith, which fosters the spiritual, physical, moral, and intellectual development of all students, so they may realize their full potential as responsible, caring, and contributing citizens of the world.