News from the Nest
Principal's Newsletter
Upcoming Events

Monday, 12/4

Gym Day for Grades:
PK3, PK4, K, 2, 3, 4
________________

Tuesday, 12/5

Gym Day for Grades:
K, 1,4,5,6/7, 8
________________

Wednesday, 12/6

PreK4-Grade 5 Trip to see Christmas Elf
________________

Thursday, 12/7

Gym Day for Grades:
1, 2, 3, 5, 6/7, 8

____________ _____

Friday, 12/8
NO SCHOOL
IMMACULATE CONCEPTION
_________________

Planning Ahead  
______________
Saturday 12/9

Breakfast w/Santa
9:00 AM - 11:00 AM
_______________
12/14 & 15
Christmas Boutique
_______________

Full calendar of events available online.

Visit our website @


Volume:3   Issue: 14 December 3
Dear Friends,

Today is the first Sunday of Advent. This is an often overlooked and underrated time in the liturgical year.  This time is clouded with holiday shopping, decorating, and parties. We often miss the real meaning of the season. 

Advent is a time to prepare for the coming of God's greatest gift, his Son.  Similar to a child's anticipation of Christmas morning we are waiting with great anticipation for the birth of our Savior.  As you may prepare your home with decorations and lights to welcome special guests, we must also prepare ourselves to welcome the most special guest, Jesus Christ. 

It is important to take a little time during the hustle and bustle of the season to rest, relax, and prepare yourself with moments of quite reflection.  One of my favorite ways of doing this is through quite contemplation, with a little help from calming music such as this:


I wish you all a Happy Advent.

Many Blessings,

Steven J. Santoli
Principal
Breakfast With Santa 
Volunteers and Donations Needed

We need your help to make this wonderful tradition a success.  Click the link below to sign-up as a volunteer or to make a donation to offset the cost of the event.

All donations must be delivered to school by dismissal time on Thursday. 
 
Santa Claus is Coming to Town!
Save the Date, Breakfast with Santa is 12/9

Download the flyer below: 

Soup Drive for Homes for the Brave
Halfway to Our Goal: 550 Cans All Ready Collected


Mrs. Riehl, Mrs. Loreng, and the PK3 class will once again collect canned soup for Homes for the Brave. Every Monday, until the Super Bowl, students and staff are asked to donate canned soup. As a thank you, Mr. Santoli will allow anybody that donates to wear their favorite football (or any sport) jersey over their uniform. 

Homes for the Brave provides emergency shelter for homeless veterans as well as counseling, housing, and career guidance.

Photos of the Week
Nature's Classroom 2017


Joe and Thomas on top of a beaver during a hike.

Shauna and Bronson make garlic bread during outdoor cooking class.
Whole class warming up before dinner after a long day outside.
Rediker Parent Plus Portal Open
Monitor Student Progress Online

All parents should have received an email with instructions on how to login to the Parent Plus Portal. This portal allows you to track the academic progress of your children. 

Teachers will update all grades on the 15th and 28th of each month. Please create your account and take the time to check this site frequently.  Once your account is created you may wish to download the Parent Plus App for Apple or Android phones.

If you have not received your instruction email or you need assistance logging in, please contact Mr.Ambrogio at sambrogio@oloaffld.org.
Drop-Off and Pick-Up Procedures

It is our goal to have all students arrive and leave school in a safe and orderly fashion.  This is impossible without you strictly following these simple procedures.  The time you might save by cutting corners is not worth the potential of hurting someone. 

Morning Drop-Off
  • The safest and quickest method of drop off is to pull in front of the school and pull forward as far as possible up to the flag pole.  When your car is parallel to the curb, allow your children to leave on the curbside of the car and walk behind the cones to the main door.
  • If you choose to park and help your child carry a large project or other materials, park inside the coned area and cross at the painted crosswalk to the main door.
  • Kindergarten and PK parents should park on the far side of the cones and walk their children into the flagpole doors and to the classrooms.
Afternoon Pick-Up

ALL CARS MUST PARK INSIDE THE CONED AREA
  • Drive forward to the basketball hoop and turn left in front of the school.  Drive to the furthest available row and pull all the way up to the car in front of you facing the church.
  • If you arrive after 3:00 PM, pull forward to the basketball hoop and form a neat straight line to the left and facing the school.
  • Exit your vehicle and walk to the grass area. Your children will be lined up on the sidewalk with their teachers. Make contact with the teacher to indicate you are taking your child. walk your child back to your car and wait for the cones to be lifted to exit the parking lot safely.
NO CONES SHOULD BE MOVED OR CARS MOVING WHILE STUDENTS AND PARENTS ARE WALKING IN THE LOT.

When everyone follows the procedure our entire dismissal process takes no more than 15 minutes. If you have extreme circumstances and need to return to work or you are physically unable to walk to pick up your child, notify the main office and accommodations will be made for you.
Teacher and Staff Contact Information

Listed below you will find the teacher and staff email list for the 2017-18 school year.  Open communication is paramount to a successful home and school relationship.

Phone messages can be left for all teachers by calling the main office at 203-334-6271.

Position
Name
Email
Principal Steven Santoli principal@oloaffld.org
Administrative Assistant
Jessica Navarro office@oloaffld.org
Director of Enrollment
Karen Guastelle kguastelle@oloaffld.org

School Nurse Jennifer Staecker nurse@oloaffld.org
Bookkeeper Melissa DiLauro bookkeeper@oloaffld.org
PK 3  Mary Reihl mreihl@oloaffld.org
PK4  Jean Blaze jblaze@oloaffld.org
Kindergarten Rosa Ferreira rferreira@oloaffld.org
First Grade  Melinda Gremse mgremse@oloaffld.org
Second Grade Kathy Andrade kandrade@oloaffld.org
Third Grade Lisa Kozlowski lkozlowski@oloaffld.org
Fourth Grade Lauren Korres lkorres@oloaffld.org
Fifth Grade Elizabeth Cahill ecahill@oloaffld.org
Sixth Grade/Science Laurie Strazza lstrazza@oloaffld.org
Seventh Grade/English Sunita Yashavant syashavant@oloaffld.org
Eighth Grade/SS/Music Theresa Yoney tyoney@oloaffld.org
Math/Computers
Stephen Ambrogio sambrogio@oloaffld.org
Spanish/Art Monica Scarlato mscarlato@oloaffld.org
Algebra Ken Moran kmoran@oloaffld.org

Assumption Catholic School on the Web
Follow us on social media












The best source of information about our school happenings is our website.  The calendar function of the website is updated frequently. Forms and important information can be downloaded from the yellow envelope tab weekly.






Virtus Registration and Training
All Adult volunteers  must be Virtus Trained 

T o register with Virtus and be eligible to volunteer, coach, or chaperone in school or at a school sponsored event you must register with Virtus, complete a training and agree to a background check.

Click here to visit the Virtus website.  Remember to select Assumption School as your primary location.  Please contact the office with questions or concerns.

Mission Statement
Assumption Catholic School provides an education of academic excellence, rooted in the Catholic Faith, which fosters the spiritual, physical, moral, and intellectual development of all students, so they may realize their full potential as responsible, caring, and contributing citizens of the world.