Nominations Open for 2017 USHJA Annual Awards
Member nominated awards include Amateur Sportsmanship Award, Lifetime Achievement Award, Youth Leadership Awards and more


Lexington, Ky.
---- June 8, 2017 ----  The United States Hunter Jumper Association is now accepting nominations for 2017 annual awards to recognize the significant accomplishments of members. The following awards are based on member nominations: Amateur Sportsmanship, Jane Marshall Dillon, Lifetime Achievement, Mrs. A.C. Randolph Owners Legacy, Youth Leadership, USEF Youth Sportsman's, and Vital Horse Show Staff awards.
Deadlines vary for nominations with some ending as early as July 31. The USHJA invites all members to nominate those most deserving of these awards. The recipients will be recognized and presented with their awards at the USHJA Annual Meeting, presented by HITS, which takes place this year in San Antonio, Texas, December 10-14, 2017.
The USHJA Amateur Sportsmanship Award recognizes Amateur Owner and Adult Amateur competitors who exhibit a degree of excellence and integrity by supporting their fellow competitors and volunteering their time and resources to various aspects of the industry. Nominations for the award may come from exhibitors, trainers, colleagues or peers. The nominee must be an Active or Associate member of the USHJA. In 2016, Nancy Crary Jones, of Little Rock, Ark., won the award. Nominations must be submitted by July 31.
The USHJA Lifetime Achievement Award  honors members whose lifelong involvement in the sport and with USHJA has benefited the industry. Recipients have dedicated their lives to furthering the disciplines of hunters and jumpers on a national platform. Last year, Chrystine Tauber, of Wellington, Fla., and Raymond Francis, of Centreville, Md., won the award. Nominations must be submitted by July 31.
Bill Moroney presenting the USHJA Lifetime Achievement Award to Chrystine Tauber at the 2016 USHJA Annual Meeting, presented by HITS. Photo credit: Tricia Booker/USHJA Archives

The   Jane Marshall Dillon Award recognizes an individual who has devoted their life to teaching and mentoring riders who are beginning their education in the hunter/jumper discipline. Last year, USHJA presented this award to Patty Ball, of Penryn, Calif.; Glenn Moody, of Charlottesville, Va.; and Joan Waterman, of New Caney, Texas. Nominations must be submitted by July 31.
The Mrs. A.C. Randolph Owners Legacy Award honors an owner who has created a legacy of giving back to the hunter/jumper sport through continued dedication and support. Last year, Jeannie and Hunter Harrison, of Wellington, Fla., received the award. Nominations must be submitted by July 31.
Each year, young riders from every discipline apply through their affiliate organizations to be considered for the USEF Youth Sportsman's Award, which is presented annually to a USEF member under the age of 18. The USHJA is accepting nominations for this award, which recognizes equestrians who demonstrate an ongoing commitment to the promotion of equestrian sport, serve as positive role models for their peers, are involved in community activities and exhibit characteristics that exemplify positive sportsmanship principles. Last year, Chloe Bellerive, 17, of Keedysville, Md., was the USHJA nominee for this exciting award. Nominations must be submitted to the USHJA by mail (3870 Cigar Ln., Lexington, KY, 4011) by September 1.
Junior members of the USHJA between the ages of 12 and 15 have an additional opportunity to be considered for the USHJA Youth Leadership Award. This award and the USEF Youth Sportsman's Award aim to identify potential future leaders in the equine industry while recognizing youth for their achievements. Last year, Ella Doerr, 13, of Wellsville, Pa., was selected as the USHJA Youth Leadership Award recipient. Nominations must be submitted by September 1.
The USHJA Vital Horse Show Staff award recognizes two committed horse show staff members-one from the East Coast and one from the West Coast-who often work behind the scenes but are essential to the success of our horse shows. Nominees do not need to be active members of the USHJA. This award is meant for those individuals who are currently not participating as a competitor, rider, owner, A-rated show manager or licensee, but rather someone who provides the support that makes showing, judging and managing competitions and participating in educational events something to enjoy. Last year, Mike Puffer, of Roscoe, Ill., and Denise Wiemers, of Fresno, Calif., received the  Vital Horse Show Staff Award for the East and West coast, respectively. Nominations must be submitted by October 7.
For more information about USHJA Annual Awards, visit
Media Contact:
Megan Lacy
(859) 225-6723

United States Hunter Jumper Association
3870 Cigar Lane
Lexington, KY 40511
P: 859.225.6700
F: 859.258.9033