SALE THIS MONTH!
30% OFF!
All Adult Clothing,  Children's Clothing, &
   Adult Jewelry 
 
Where have we been, where are we
now and where are we going as a species? Pitched for the general reader with clarity, humor and many "aha" examples, we journey from the dawn of humanity to the current Anthropocene Era dominated by man and the religion of Humanism. While pointing out possible pitfalls in our continuing evolution (including self-extinction), Harari remains cautiously hopeful. What separates human consciousness from other species is imagination and the drive to tell stories and Science, Politics and Religion are the tools. Is consciousness simply a sophisticated series of algorithms? Will the continued development of artificial intelligence eventually put an end to the species? We are currently in the Age Of Dataism where information IS religion. Should be required reading for all. Magnificent, profound and delightfully readable. - Karen Frank
New Releases

Norse Mythology
By Neil Gaiman
 
Neil Gaiman has long been inspired by ancient mythology in creating the fantastical realms of his fiction. Now he turns his attention back to the source, presenting a bravura rendition of the great northern tales.


Paul Auster's 
greatest, most heartbreaking and satisfying novel a sweeping and surprising story of birthright and possibility, of love and of life itself: a masterpiece.


Why is everyone talking about the  ending?? Pinborough's  new novel takes the modern day love triangle and not only turns it on its head, but completely reinvents it in a way that will leave readers reeling!


Viet Thanh Nguyen's (winner 
of the 2016 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction) next fiction book,  The Refugees, is a collection of perfectly formed stories written over a period of twenty years, exploring questions of immigration, identity, love, and family. 


 
A closer look at the mind-bending nature of the universe from 
"The man who makes physics sexy . . . the scientist they're calling the next Stephen Hawking." --
The Times Magazine

By Min Jin Lee
 
A father's gentle nature, a mother's sacrifice, a daughter's trust, and a son's determination are the cornerstones of this grand, multilayered saga. Pachinko follows one family through an ever-changing cultural landscape, from 1910 Korea to 1989 Japan.



Each month Northshire Bookstore's award-winning booksellers will select the perfect book and send it to your friend, loved one or yourself!

Each book will arrive beautifully wrapped with a gift card.

 

Gift Giving Made Easy

Gift Card

Consider purchasing a Northshire Bookstore Gift Card , and take the guess work out of shopping!
Used Books
We have hundreds of great books in stock in our Manchester store and not enough room to display them all. Please ask a bookseller if there is one you are looking for or browse the section for one you did not know you wanted!     

For more information on any of the used and rare books in our store, send an email 
Manchester, VT  
Find us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter
Saratoga Springs, NY 
Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter
Do you want to receive weekly event reminders for our Saratoga Springs or Manchester store, including author events, children's events, and store promos? 

Vermont has been blessed with many fine writers,
Rest in Peace
Howard Mosher
and

Northshire Bookstore has hosted some of the best. This past week,
Chris Bohjalian celebrated his 19th book,
The Sleepwalker at the store and over the years we have hosted
Galway Kinnell, John Irving, John Gardner, Archer Mayor, Julia Alvarez, Sue Halpern, and
Bill McKibben, among others.

But one of Vermont's most beloved and prolific authors was Howard Mosher, who - shockingly and sadly - died this past Sunday of cancer, surrounded by his family in his beloved Northeast Kingdom. He visited us just last fall, when he drove 3 1/2 hours each way to join the Northshire family to celebrate our 40th anniversary. Early last week, he sent out a message on Facebook to his legion of friends around the state and beyond, announcing his illness, saying he was comfortable and at peace and was so grateful to booksellers, among others, for supporting him over the years.  Just like Howard, one of the most thoughtful, generous, and insightful writers we knew, to think of others as he shared the end of life. His new book, Points North, will be published in the coming months. 

Howard, we love you.

Barbara Morrow

    
A brilliantly imagined novel about a fourteen year old girl of peculiar upbringing who becomes entwined in the lives of a neighboring family. It is a rare novel whose story and astonishing writing style grab me on the very first page. This is the work of an amazing talent. - Stan Hynds (Buyer - Northshire Bookstore)
Read more reviews  here ...about one of the biggest "BUZZ" books of the season by "a new author of  enormous range and talent!" - Stan Hynds
Ian Rankin
Saratoga Springs, NY 
Friday, February 10th 
7:00 pm 

A twisted tale of power, corruption, and bitter rivalries in the dark heart of Edinburgh, 
Rather Be the Devil
showcases Rankin and Rebus at their unstoppable best. 


 
Join beloved board book author & illustrator Sandra Magsamen for a Valentine's Day Party!
Story Time - Scavenger Hunt -  Crafts!Craft



A haunting, gloriously imagined novel by the acclaimed author of 
History of a Pleasure Seeker , set in Germany in the early twentieth century colonial Cape Town, and a forest full of witch doctors, stingless bees, and hungry leopards.



Jay Rogoff
has published five previous books of poetry, and writes about dance for the
Hopkins Review  and
Ballet Review.  He lives in Saratoga Springs, NY where he teaches at Skidmore College.



Join us for an evening of culinary inspiration as renowned chef  Evan Mallett  presents his new book,  Black Trumpet , featuring more than 250 innovative recipes that respect and transcend regional food traditions.


CHILDREN'S BOOKS


Welcome, welcome to  Caraval,  Stephanie Garber's sweeping tale of two sisters who escape their ruthless father when they enter the dangerous intrigue of a legendary game.


By Eileen Christelow
 
In this visually stunning picture book that features comic-book panels combined with painterly illustrations,  Eileen Christelow  tells the story of two young robins' first year, and reveals plenty of little-known facts that are sure to captivate young naturalists.


The 
By Amy Ephron
 
In the tradition of Edward Eager and E.. Konigsburg, a novel about the excitement and the dangers of wishing.

 

Independently Published 
at Northshire Bookstore  by ShiresPress. 

Charting the intertwined lives of a father and daughter as they face a terminal illness, Gone Bolshevik offers a fresh and deeply insightful look at love, loss, and the troubled bonds of family.



Manchester Reading Groups 
this month at the Northshire, click here to see what we're reading, then join us!

Northshire Classic Mystery
Northshire History Reading Group
Northshire Mystery and Thriller
Northshire Women Read
Northshire Cookbook Reading Group
The Dark Side Reading Group
Northshire Poetry Reading 
Northshire Writer's Support Group

Saratoga Reading Groups. 

Email ReadingGroupsNY@northshire.com 

if you're interested in any of the following groups: 

 

Truth and Tales Reading Group

Knit Wits Reading Group

Parent Child Reading Group

Thank you for Supporting Independent Bookselling!

Northshire Bookstore

Both Store Hours: 
Open Daily at 10 am 
Sunday - Thursday until 7 pm 
Friday - Saturday until 9 pm

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street 
Junction of Routes 7A & 11/30 
Manchester Center, VT 05255
VT 800-437-3700 
VT 802-362-2200
 
Northire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866