MCU is Committed to Conservative Governance, nothing less
 These and more Details in the Newsletter.
 
If you are not seeing the full Newsletter scroll down to the
bottom and hit  "View  entire message."             
                             
 In This Issue We see a poll on State of the Union, CPAC review and links to talks by Trump, Pence, Conway, Bannon, Priebus and Farage; Who voted against a modest tax cut, Rallies on Saturday, Plans for MiCPAC, illegal murders veteran, legislative issues, MORE!
Your support, readership and sharing is making a difference and is much appreciated. We change public policies by changing pubic opinions. We saw the polls fail as they could not read our work and the silent majority. Perhaps we have been given a reprieve to restore God and His principles to out great land. The work is not done. Please help!
Godspeed! Let's make 2017 Great and we make America Great Again.   Link


Please forward to associates wanting lower taxes and less government!
If you want to option out please open the newsletter and scroll to the link on the bottom.
 
"You shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free." John 8:32
THE HEAVENS DECLARE THE GLORY OF GOD;AND THE FIRMAMENT SHEWETH
HIS HANDIWORK. Holy Bible, Psalms 19:1
"It takes a great deal of bravery to stand up to our enemies,
but just as much to stand up to our friends." J. K. Rowling

 "if we can but prevent the government from wasting the labours of the people,  under 
the pretence of taking care of them, they must become happy."   Thomas Jefferson   
A Declaration...To Secure there Rights... Video


 
Conservatives Are Invited to strategize and network at MiCPAC 2017

MiCPAC 2017 - Holt, MI.
VIP Reception 4/28/2017 networking with key speakers and Michigan conservative leadership, supporting and enabling the grass roots!
Conference 4/29/2017 with major speakers, elected officials and group leaders from across the state. 
Sponsorships, Program advertising and tables available; email micpac.hughes@gmail.com    (subject to approval)

March 2, 2017
Dr. Ben Carson was confirmed as Secretary of HUD today!
He is the 3rd Cabinet member with Michigan ties!
Spring is 18 days away! 
I PLEDGE ALLEGIANCE TO THE FLAG,
OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA ,
AND TO THE REPUBLIC, FOR WHICH IT STANDS,
ONE NATION UNDER GOD,
INDIVISIBLE, WITH LIBERTY AND JUSTICE FOR ALL!
 
"Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit is, there is Liberty"  1Cor.3:17

State of The Union Review
Michigan voters; one from Bay City voted for Obama twice, hearing Trump
he cannot see himself voting Democrat again. Video (Thanks, Nick)

   Tuesday evening, President Trump spoke to a joint session of Congress - and gave what was obviously the best speech of his career. Several commentaries remarked that the speech moved Trump from campaign mode to the Presidency.
   The best moment was obvious, too: his tribute to the widow of Navy SEAL William 'Ryan' Owens:  As his widow wept and mouthed to heaven, "I love you, baby," Trump led a round of applause that lasted two minutes.   Video
  Wealth up $3T and the Stock market roars to records after Trump speech, up 330 points to  21,149 setting another record for the 13th day in a row, as optimism grows in the Trump Agenda and Plan.   Link


     And House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi (D-CA) sat there and didn't cheer as the incredible moment progressed, along with Senator Bernie Sanders and others -  

Democrat Congresswomen protested in all white
Top Democrats refused to stand in two min. ovation -
Sobbing widow of slain Navy Seal receives 2 minute standing ovation. Debbie Wasserman Schultz & Keith Ellison stay firmly seated, no claps

++ Viewers loved the speech! The CNN/ORC survey found 57 percent of viewers had a very positive reaction to the speech - and about 7-in-10 said the speech made them feel more optimistic about the direction of the country.
   According to the poll, nearly 7-in-10 said the president's proposed policies would move the country in the right direction, and almost two-thirds said the president has the right priorities.
   Among other findings, the survey showed:
  • 72 percent said Trump's remarks on proposed economic policies went in the right direction, while 70 percent said his anti-terror policies were on the right track.
  • 64 percent thought his proposals on taxes were headed in the right direction, 62 percent felt that way about his immigration proposals, and 61 percent felt that way about his healthcare plans.
  • 57 percent said they had a very positive reaction to Trump's speech - a figure that outpaces marks received by President Barack Obama for any of his recent State of the Union addresses.    More
++ Van Jones: Trump 'became president' in moment honoring Navy SEAL widow - Jones, a liberal commentator who frequently criticizes Trump, said the president did something "extraordinary. "Van Jones praised President Trump for honoring the widow of a Navy SEAL killed during a raid in Yemen, saying "he became president of the United States in that moment, period." "There are a lot of people who have a lot of reason to be frustrated with him, to be fearful of him, to be mad of him, but that was one of the most extraordinary moments you have ever seen in American politics, period,"
   Jones said on CNN. "For people who have been hoping that maybe he would remain a divisive cartoon, which he often finds a way to do, they should be a little bit worried tonight. Because that thing you just saw him do, if he finds a way to do that over and over again, he's going to be there for eight years." "And for people who had been hoping he would become unifying, hoping that he might find someway to become presidential, they should be happy with that moment," Jones said.  More (Thanks, Troy and David) 

Local rallies at Grand Rapids, Lake Orion, Mancelona, Sterling Heights, Traverse City, Gratiot, Oakland, others 
"The time for empty talk is over."
President Trump outlined a clear vision for the nation:  America first.
 Let's show our support!
 
Rally at State Capitol in Lansing, Mi. Saturday March 4, 2017 12 Noon to 3 PM
Other locations Here

Lansing Speakers include
Thayrone Xington, Dave Agema, Scott Hagerstrom,
Mark Gurley, Patrick Colbeck
and MCU Chair Norm Hughes 

++   A seditious fringe has resolved to sabotage this restored purpose.  An insidious propaganda apparatus intends on further shredding the truth.  Our cities are being assailed, our police are under attack, and our livelihoods are being given away.  From radical Islamic terrorism to our deliberately undermined military, the challenges posed from without are just as dangerous.
   In his CPAC speech last week Vice President Pence called upon conservative leaders to forge a counter campaign to those who are trying to destroy America. Confrontation - not physical violence but an exchange of ideas and taking the message to our families and communities. We change public policies by changing public opinions! It is up to u

 
National CPAC Review  Video  
Among  Presenters:
           
 Don't miss MiCPAC, Holt, Mi. 4/29.2007!
About 10,000 conservatives (and a few populists) assembled in National Harbor, Md. last week at the annual Conservative Political Action Conference (CPAC) planned by American Conservative Union. Your editor was asked to "staff" the Conference working security and logistics for speakers and VIP. It was a very brisk pace with long days, and several break-outs and book signings as main ballroom events were happening. It was great to reconnect.
 
++ President Trump received a raucous reception at the annual Conservative Political Action Conference Friday, thanking the "power of the people" for electing him and slamming the "fake news" media for much of his address. "Now you finally have a president, finally!" Mr. Trump told the cheering crowd at National Harbor. "It took you a long time. And it's patriots like you that made it happen. The media didn't think we would win." Trump's Remarks

++ President Trump's top advisers assured conservatives Thursday that he will keep pressing on "all of those promises" that got him elected, rejected reports of chaos within the  White House and accused a hostile press of trying to undermine the new administration.  Chief of Staff  Reince Priebus  and senior counselor Stephen K. Bannon, making a rare joint public appearance at the Conservative Political Action Conference, said that in picking a Cabinet, nominating a Supreme Court justice, rolling back regulations and pursuing stiffer immigration policy, the president made good on the conservative promises he has made dating back to 2011, his first appearance at CPAC.
   "There's a new political order that's being formed out of this," Mr. Bannon said, adding that Mr. Trump has found a way to unite a movement based on economic nationalism and the belief that the U.S. has "a culture and a reason for being."
    "As economic conditions get better, as more jobs get better, they're going to continue to fight. If you think they're going to give you your country back without a fight, you are sadly mistaken," said Mr. Bannon, who is the former head of Breitbart News. "Every day, it is going to be a fight." More  
 "Men and women of the conservative movement - this is our time," 

++ Nigel Farage - European Leader Stands with Trump, Slams Obama at CPAC:  - America's favorite British citizen Nigel Farage addressed a raucous crowd at CPAC 2017, promising to stand with President Trump and taking a minute to thank President Obama for traveling to London to threaten British citizens into abandoning their sovereignity. 
   "Our real friends in the world speak English, have common law, and stand by us in times of crisis," Mr Farage told the room of Trump supporters. 
   He ripped the mainstream media, chastised Barack Obama, and applauded the decision that America made to elect Donald Trump.
   "My favorite part of that evening [Election Day], was watching the faces of the CNN presenters!" Farage said to the cheering crowd. Farage has yet to forgive Obama for his comments he made before Britain's formal vote to leave the European Union, and remin ded CPAC that he thanks Obama to this day. "I will, to my dying day, be grateful that President Obama came to my country, intervened in the referendum, and told the United Kingdom's people -- America's greatest friend and ally in the world -- that if we voted to get our independence, we would go to the back of the line," he said.  Video


    Nigel Farage, whom your editor met and talked with at CPAC last Friday, was at the Trump Hotel Saturday night when the President and party showed up for dinner. Sec. of State Tillerson and his wife there on  a date and were greeted by the President.
   Farage was invited to join the President for dinner. He later told a reporter:
   " Well it's really quite wonderful. But as I've gotten to know Donald, it really just does not surprise me. You know what amazes me about your President? He is a regular bloke. Truly. Just a normal chap. Upstairs at dinner, he spoke to the table like any regular guy out to dine with friends and family. There is no pretension at all." More
 
++ Trump ends EPA control over water puddles:   Video
 
+++++++++++++++++++++
++ Errata: In our last issue we had a typo of potential significance that we want to correct. In our  Final thoughts for the week the comment was made:  "What Conservative would not change or eliminate the 13th or 17th Amendments? Revering to and defending  the Constitution does not hinder the Conservative from wanting to improve it."
What was meant was the 16th and 17th Amendment.   
   The 17th established the popular election of United States Senators.
   The 16th Amendment states: The Congress shall have power to lay and collect taxes on incomes, from whatever source derived, without apportionment among the several States, and without regard to any census or enumeration.
   The 13th Amendment to the Constitution declared that "Neither slavery nor involuntary servitude, except as a punishment for crime whereof the party shall have been duly convicted, shall exist within the United States, or any place subject to their jurisdiction."
   Of course modern conservatives would not seek to repeal the end of slavery. We believe in freedom and liberty for all, including freedom for the next generations from oppressive debt brought on by wanton governments and greedy recipients of largess.
   We thank W. B. Allen, Emeritus Dean and  Professor of Political Science formerly of Michigan State University, for calling this out! We are blessed with such great readers!

+++++++++++++++++++++
 
++ Claire Lopez - We are not fighting terrorism. We are fighting the forces of Islamic jihad and Sharia - to live free of Islamic law, Sharia - Claire's CPAC Speech  (Thanks, Dick; great panel!)
 
++ Illegal Immigrant Brutally Kills Navy Veteran - Article  (note, this website has annoying pop-ups)

++ Two Centuries of Immigration. How many came from where for each decade? Note the change after 1970 (thanks. Larry)  See Video

++ Feds Paid $1 Billion in Social Security Benefits to Individuals Without a SSN - Errors occurred because the agency did not keep paper applications supporting an individual's case to receive benefits. The agency's inspector general found errors in the government's documentation for representative payees, otherwise known as individuals who receive retirement or disability payments on behalf of another person who is incapable of managing the benefits themselves.
   Over the last decade, the agency paid $1 billion to 22,426 representative payees who "did not have an SSN, and SSA had not followed its policy to retain the paper application."
Only six percent of representative payees had SSNs that were properly recorded, based on the audit's sample of 100 beneficiaries.
   Government benefits are also going to illegal aliens through the representative payee system. 17 percent of representative payees in the sample did not have an SSN recorded because they were undocumented noncitizens, the inspector general said.  More

++ The Election WAS hacked - by Obama's Dept. of Homeland Security - Department of Homeland Security (DHS) officials tried to hack Indiana's state electoral system with at least 14,800 "scans" or hits between Nov. 1, 2016, to Dec. 16, 2016, The Daily Caller News Foundation Investigative Group has learned.
   Former Indiana Gov. Mike Pence was also Trump's vice presidential-elect during much of the period covered by the DHS scans of the Indiana system.
   The attacks are the second confirmed IT scanning assault by DHS officials against states that resisted then-President Barack Obama's attempt to increase federal involvement in state and local election systems by designating them as "critical infrastructure" for national security.
   DHS, for its part, is claiming that this was part of the investigation into Russian hacks of the DNC. Which would make sense. If state election systems were online. But as Pollock notes, election machines and their infrastructure are not connected to the internet.  
   Members of the National Association of Secretaries of State voted Saturday at their winter meeting to oppose the designation. They are asking President Donald Trump to overturn it. More
 
++ Migrant punk thug tries to beat bus driver - gets pummeled into submission - Here



               
++ THE TEN WORST CASES OF 'VERY FAKE NEWS' - A lying press is the enemy of the people. Link 

BIG GOVERNMENT
=   BIG PROBLEMS!
                                          
++ President Trump is planning for a $54 Billion Defense budget increase in what he is calling, "a historic increase in defense spending to rebuild the depleted military." He is aiming for budget cuts in other areas of government in order to fund this increase.
   "This budget will be a public safety and national security budget," Trump said. He said the plan would include a "historic increase in defense spending to rebuild the depleted military."  Article


   Gov. Snyder called 12 "Republican" state reps. to thank them for voting against their constituents.
     The 12  voted with Snyder and other Democrats to stop even a very modest reduction of income taxes promised years ago.
   Check out the  Michigan section of this Newsletter for the names of the 12 and details on how even a watered down bill failed.
   A zero-based review of every expenditure is long overdue. If Republicans do not get control of the situation they will not win statewide offices in 2018.  



++ AT CPAC Texas Sen. Ted Cruz rocked the room when he said he anticipates another vacancy on the U.S. Supreme Court will arise in a matter of months.
   "I think we'll have another Supreme Court vacancy this summer," Cruz said at the Conservative Political Action Conference Thursday. "If that happens, as much as the left is crazy now, they will go full Armageddon meltdown because the next vacancy is where we'll have the ability to act and restore basic constitution protections." Though Cruz was not more specific, as a former law clerk to Chief Justice William Rehnquist, he enjoys access to a network of former clerks privy to the plans of their former bosses.  Source


++ Off FB
Estelle Oliansky - MY PRESIDENT, DONALD TRUMP, WILL MAKE AMERICA GREAT AGAIN! I am inspired!
Mike Hewitt   - Outstanding, President Trump!
Erica Ayers-Watkins  - My President 
Randy Bishop - If I die tonight,...I will be at peace knowing that we all helped to get President Trump/V.P. Pence elected, believing we saved America!!!
Robert Gjonaj Donovic - This is the best speech Trump has ever given.  
Dave Boehringer -"The time for trivial fights is over", as he motions to the Democrats side
Rebecca Moon - Well listen to MSNBC, CNN and NBC, they obviously didn't hear the same speech. Sheez. And those ladies in white, blatant disrespect. For Petes sake, GROW THE HECK UP.   Rebecca Moon  - He's MY President
Greg Langley  - CNN and Van Jones just praised Trump. Am I in La La Land?
Nanette Pritts - "I will not be the PRESIDENT of the world. I will be the PRESIDENT of the United States."
Angela Rigas - I haven't watched a Presidential speech in 8 years. I was impressed.
John Dalton - Tonight's address to Congress is by far the best speech Donald Trump has ever given. He delivered a wonderful message positivity, national unity, helping those in need, and unleashing the untapped potential of our country. We are very fortunate to have president who loves our nation and promotes all it can be.
Gerry Mason - feeling optimistic.   President Trump gave one of the best Joint Session Speeches that I have ever seen. America first. Americans first. Better jobs. Better roads. Better schools. Return to greatness. Hope for all. Dare to be great. President Trump gets it.
Marcy Desmond Jankovich   - These are tacky people. How can you not stand for a hero...perhaps they were too busy pouting to actually hear his words.
Darrin Moore  - Did he just call ISIS a bunch of savages?!?!? I love it!...  Daaaayum! He's just called out Iran! And he stood up for Israel.
Dan Tollis  - The media is not only at war with this administration, it's at war with the American public

Megan Edison  - Recently switched to a HD-HSA insurance plan. Today I refilled a script. It used to cost a $30 co-pay with the "your insurance saved you $180" memo on my pharmacy receipt. I was cringing at my cash pay price today. It was $14.
    Ryan Neuhofel  - I've seen a receipt/EOB for 30 days of generic citalopram ($10 copay) at a retail pharmacy that told the patient their insurance plan saved them $475 vs. the "retail price". The pharmacy across the street had it on their $4 cash list. My wholesale price for it is $0.86. 
   Christine 'Chris' McCoy  - Such insanity.  
Michael Warren - "the experiment [freedom of speech] is noted, to prove that, since truth and reason have maintained their ground against false opinions in league with false facts, the press, confined to truth, needs no other legal restraint; the public judgment will correct false reasonings and opinions, on a full hearing of all parties; and no other definite line can be drawn between the inestimable liberty of the press and its demoralizing licentiousness. If there be still improprieties which this rule would not restrain, its supplement must be sought run the censorship of public opinion." Thomas Jefferson, Second Inaugural Address, March 4, 1805.
    Jefferson's admonition is wise counsel today. Both of his Inaugural Addresses are timeless and timely. Amazing how the wisdom of the Founding Fathers is still vibrant hundreds of years later.
Dave Agema - I can't believe some republicans are hesitating on dumping Obama's "affordable healthcare" which is not affordable. The youth don't want to pay for what they think is not necessary, the working class and businesses can't afford it and those that don't pay get the benefits- it's called socialism folks. Socialized medicine always promises much and delivers little. There must be personal responsibility. Healthcare is not a constitutional right. My parents and those before them survived without government help by shopping for what the wanted from private insurance companies. Competition lowers cost, not a single payer system run by bureaucrats.
Michael Moon   - Tort reform, and purchasing insurance across state lines has never been tried. Why wouldn't you applaud that?

 April 29, 2017 MiCPAC Conference in Holt, Michigan.
This is Michigan's foremost annual gathering of conservative leaders from all branches of the movement. Cost $50 (MCU Members $40; Tables of 8 $ 350). Limited capacity. Book today! Please put in on your calendar. 
Among confirmed speakers are authors Lee Edwards (Heritage), John Anthony, President at Sustainable Freedom Lab (Obama wraps HUD in climate change Link); New Zealand's Patriot Trevor Louden, and several Michigan conservative leaders, Richard. Thompson, William Wagner and others.   Please join HERE!


Michigan News and Views
++ Free speech restored at GVSU -  The student group "Turning Point USA at Grand Valley State University," was critical of GVSU's Free Speech Zone Policy in its December lawsuit for limiting expressive activity to "two small speech zones" on campus and requiring students to gain prior university permission for free-speech activities. Under the settlement agreement announced March 1, the university adopted a revised policy and agreed to pay the legal fees and costs of the plaintiffs totaling $11,025. More

++ Turning Point USA was founded by an 18 year old student five years ago. Now they have a presence on 1100 campuses including several in Mchigan, an annual budget of $ 7 Million and a full field staff. MCU is working with them, as well as YAF (Young Americans for Freedom), MFCR (Michigan Federation of College Republicans) and other youth to help the next generation defend against oppressive government and Yuuge debt. Come meet these dynamic youth and MiCPAC 2017!

++ 'CENTURIES OF RELIGIOUS CONFLICT' NOW ON U.S. SOIL' - "To leave would be like giving up on our Constitution'.  After the Sterling Heights City Council agreed to settle a lawsuit with the U.S. Justice Department and allow a third mosque to be built in the city, this time right in the midst of a neighborhood populated by Christian refugees who escaped persecution from Islam, some residents said they planned to move out of the city.
   Sterling Heights, Michigan, is home to the nation's second largest community of Chaldean and Assyrian Christians, many of them coming directly from Iraq where their families were the victims of a genocide by ISIS, al-Qaida and other Islamic militants over the past 50 years.
   In her blog Thursday, Ann Corcoran, a watchdog over the refugee program for the past decade, called the Obama-appointed U.S. attorney's accomplishment of getting a mosque approved in the heart of an Iraqi Christian community a "travesty." She said this is how refugee resettlement is used to transform American cities, changing the nation by changing its demographics, one city at a time. "Iraqi Christians will now be pushed out of this community in Sterling Heights, a win for the Islamic supremacists," Corcoran said.  More  (Thanks, Dick)
FREE ENTERPRISE = FREE LIVES + MORE JOBS!

Please Join
MCU-SE as we meet March 14, 2017
7PM (Dutch treat dinner after 6PM), at
American-Polish Cultural Center
2975 E Maple Rd, Troy, MI 48083
Featuring
Hon. Norman R. Hughes, Chair
MCU and Michigan Freedom To Work
and former Reagan Official
With reports on CPAC and MiCPAC
and the Conservative Movement;
and Youth on the move!
Also: Education; HealthCare
Get an inside report on the Trump Administration and National conservatives!


 
Legislative Accountability!
It is OUR responsibility to know the issues and the players, and to inform others so that we Change Policies by changing public opinions!       Start HERE!
 

++ Last week the Michigan House voted down a proposal to fulfill a long promise to reduce the state income Tax.  The chief Sponsor was Speaker ProTem Lee Chatfield. Failure to pass it was a shot at the new leadership. The Governor had blasted Republicans for having the audacity of proposing a modest long-promised tax cut. House Bill 4001 failed by 55-52 vote.
   The original bill was to cut the income tax from 4.25 to 3.9 and then phase it out by 0.1 a year for 39 years. That version never came up for a vote.
   It was amended Wednesday to be changed to a cut from 4.25 to 3.9 over 4 years, wit h no total phase out. That version was also never voted on.
   Another amendment was made to phase from 4.25 to 4.15 in year 1, then to 4.05 in year 2. At that point, it would only continue to go down if the rainy day fund was over 1 billion. Basically it was a safety valve to stop the increase if necessary. If the cuts were requiring us to use those emergency dollars to fund government, the fund would clearly go down and the cuts would automatically stop. If it was still over 1 billion, the cuts would proceed to 3.95 in year 3 and finally 3.9 in year 4. That was the version they voted on The bill did not pass, 52-55. (Thanks Beth for the description)
    The measure would have cut the state income tax from 4.25 percent to 4.15 percent in 2019 to  4.05 in 2020 and possibly to 3.95% in 2021 and 3.90% in 2022. Twelve Republicans rejected their leadership to join with Democrats in defeating the bill. The roll call of shame includes:
Jason Sheppard, Temperance
Chris Afendoulis, Grand Rapids Township
Julie Calley, Portland
Kathy Crawford, Novi
Daniela Garcia, Holland
Larry Inman, Williamsburg
Jim Lilly, Park Township
Dave Maturen, Vicksburg
Michael McCready, Bloomfield Hills
Brett Roberts, Eaton Township
Dave Pagel, Berrien Springs
Scott VanSingel, Grant                                    More   (Thanks, MCPP)

++ Gov. Rick Snyder calls and Thanks the 12 Dissenting Republicans - On Thursday, Snyder called all 12 dissenters individually to thank them for their vote on  HB 4001 . Among them was Rep. Dave PAGEL (R-Berrien Springs), who described the call as a "highlight" on an otherwise grim day. Snyder was unequivocal in his opposition to the tax rollback plan run by House Republican leadership. On Tuesday, he we as far as issuing a statement that read he had "a $1 billion worth of concerns" on a revised plan to move the income tax rate from 4.25 to 3.9 percent (See " Snyder: 'I Still Have A $1B Worth On Concerns' About Income Tax Cut ," 2/21/17).  Link
 
Opinion: We have had massive tax increases the past two years - indexed to automatically increase. That diminishes legislative authority to make decisions based on extant conditions. While public school students are decreasing several thousand each year, and there are no quality improvements, Snyder has jammed through another $250 Million a year increase, We approached him about a zero-based review of expenditures but he was not interested. There is no accountability. The government has too much money. Sort out the fat, waste, duplication and competing with the private sector. For the next two years expect battle after battle to stop more tax increases. The GOP has little chance of electing a governor in 2018 unless they stop this insanity.        See another opinion: Right Michigan
 
++ HB 4220 To Stop Extra Fees RE: "Smart Meters."  Link to Bill

++ House Bill 4251: Repeal vehicle registration tax hike  - Introduced by Democrat Rep. Scott Dianda, one of the more conservative members of the Legislature.  H.B. 4251  to repeal GOP  2015 Law

++ House Bill 4264: Increase income tax personal exemption - Introduced by Democrat leader Rep. Tim Greimel (D) on February 23, 2017 To increase the state income tax personal exemption from $4,000 to $6,000. It is noted a Republican bill is pending that would increase the exemption to $ 4,400, a savings of about
 
++ House Bill 4253: Accelerate vehicle trade-in "use tax on the difference" Introduced by Rep. Michael Webber (R)  To accelerate the 24-year phase-in of a 2013 law that exempted from use (and sales) tax the value of a trade-in when buying a motor vehicle, titled watercraft or recreational vehicle.

++ House Bill 4266: Exempt home use and de minimis farm sales - Introduced by Rep. Tim Kelly (R) on February 23, 2017 To exempt production of farm products on a family's homestead for consumption, trading or farm-stand sale in small quantities from licensure mandates or other state government restrictions. (Long overdue!). HB4266

We thank Mackinac Center for Public Policy for alerts on bills!  

++ Michigan Lawmakers Hit Trails, Talk New Bill That Could Repeal Common Core - 
Michigan would reject the Common Core State Standards, adopt Massachusetts' standards from the 2008-09 school year and give parents the right to opt their kids out of any testing if they see fit under legislation that faced mixed reviews during a legislative hearing today in Lansing.
   The bill, sponsored by Rep. Gary Glenn, R-Midland, and backed by 28 fellow House members, is the latest attempt to repeal the Common Core standards in Michigan. Previous efforts have faltered.  But this effort could have some momentum, given President Donald Trump is anti-Common Core and the two newly elected members of the State Board of Education - Tom McMillin, R-Rochester Hills, and Nikki Snyder, R-Pinckney - favor repealing Common Core. More

++ Less than half "pass": Why Michigan M-STEP results are cause for concern -  Link
++ Average SAT score for Michigan students: 1001 out of 1600  In reading and writing, the average score statewide was 507.5; the math score was 493.7. The College Board, which produces the SAT, considers 480 in reading and writing and 530 in math to be the minimum necessary for a student to be considered college or career ready. Article
++ Find the scores in  Your School  
 
++ bill package (HB 4148 - 4157) will make the executive branch subject to the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) and create a similar records disclosure system for the state House and Senate called the Legislative Open Records Act (LORA). The package is similar to legislation that was put forth by House members in 2016 that did not have the opportunity to reach the Governor's desk before the conclusion of the 2015-16 legislative session. (Thanks, Martin)
 

++ Rep. Glenn sets hearing on protecting homeowners from 'smart meter' fees - 
HB 4220 - The House Energy Policy Committee will hear public testimony from 9 a.m. to 10:30 a.m.  March 7, in Room 519 of the House Office Building.
   Michigan homeowners could reject the installation of 'smart meters' with no charge under bipartisan legislation introduced this week by Rep. Gary Glenn, R-Midland. Among the 17 co-sponsors are four Democrats, including Rep. Rose Mary Robinson of Detroit.
   The bill will be the subject of a public hearing this Tuesday in the House Energy Policy Committee, which Glenn chairs, and again on March 7.
   "Republicans and Democrats alike agree it's all about individual freedom of choice and homeowners' private property rights," Glenn said. "Homeowners should have the ultimate authority to decide what technology is installed in their homes - not utilities whose government-protected monopoly prevents homeowners from choosing a competing electricity provider."
   The bill would support Attorney General Bill Schuette's court brief saying utility officials have no authority to charge fees to customers who wish to opt out of advanced metering technology. The fees were allowed by the Michigan Public Service Commission.
   Glenn's bill would ban utilities from charging homeowners fees if they don't want smart meters. Some reject the new technology, with reasons varying from cost to privacy concerns to property rights. Concerns include the potential to track energy usage patterns to determine when homes are empty or how many people live at a particular address through data transmitted by smart meters.
   "It's a cyber-security concern," Glenn said. "We live in a wired world. We need to safeguard homeowners' privacy and private property rights so people have the option to limit these intrusions and threats to exposure of their private information."  More


An Invitation - A lot has transpired in the last year! Although we never thought we lost it, We have our groove back! We have renewed hope for America returning to its greatness and to traditional values. Thank YOU! Now for Michigan.... Will we work together. or be plowed under? 
    MiCPAC 2017 is provisionally titled: "Conservative Governance - our next steps." We have had MANY successful campaigns, giving us many elected officials in the legislature, county, township, school boards and city/village offices. Some officials we helped elect are doing great things. Lower ing taxes, increasing transparency, improving governance. We will meet some of them and hear some of their stories. We will discuss ethics in office and politics, and how to stay true in the face of so much temptation and pressure. We will discuss a conservative agenda in the legislature and our fundamental programs - Operation Watchdog, Projects Kirk and Friedman, and how they are designed to assure conservative governance. We will have at least one presentation on pressures the Federal government is putting on Michigan, probably the forced settlement of unvetted aliens and refugees. We have a lot to be proud of. Let's learn from it and grow!
   We are pleased to add Richard Thompson, Esq., head of the Thomas More Law Center to the speakers for MiCPAC in Holt, MI   April 29 . Richard is former Oakland County Prosecutor, succeeding L. Brooks Patterson. The Thomas More Law Center has been at the forefront of defending America against radical Islam. Among their notable successes was defending the preacher who protested the stoning of Christians at a Muslim festival in Dearborn.  Link
   Renowned as a national nonprofit public interest law firm, based in Ann Arbor, Michigan. The mission of the Thomas More Law Center is to: Preserve America's Judeo-Christian heritage; Defend the religious freedom of Christians; Restore time-honored moral and family values; Protect the sanctity of human life; Promote a strong national defense and a free and sovereign United States of America.  The Law Center accomplishes its mission through litigation, education, and related activities.   Web Site
   Also confirmed is Professor William Wagner, Esq., head of Salt & Light Global who will speak of ethics and politics, and apologetics. William was head of the Appellate Division in the Reagan Department of Justice, a Federal Prosecutor and Judge, then a college professor of law and the Constiution.   All will be able to discuss SCOTUS and tchang with a Justice Neil Gorcush. 

April 29, 2017  MiCPAC Conference 
The location is Capitol City Baptist School
  5100 W Willoughby Rd, Holt, MI 48842

   Saturday's  agenda will include registration and continental breakfast staring at   8AM, program starting at   9AM  continuing to 5"30 PM. The conferecnce includes the Reagan Memorial Banquet lunch. There will be a VIP reception   Friday  night   4/28/2017
   This is Michigan's foremost annual gathering of conservative leaders from all branches of the movement. Cost $50.   MCU and MCU-SE Members get a 25% discount. 
   On October 24, 2015 MCU, UpRight Michigan PAC and Unique Strategies held Campaign toolkit, a candidate and campaign school. The result was a number of local candidates and legislative candidates who won seats   November 8. They are facing the pressures and temptations of serving. At MiCPAC we will learn what they have learned, and encourage them to stay true to conservative principles. What does it take? Should YOU run? What can we do ouitside a political Party to make a huge difference? Together we can! 
   The fight is far from over. Please take a few minutes and watch this  Video
Project Kirk is designed for us to better understand the true precepts of what he called "The Permanent Things." Russell was the writer that Reagan, Goldwater, Wm. F. Buckley, Jr. and so many others read and referred to as the founder of modern conservatism. Share his wisdom with others

Kirk on The 10 Principles of Conservatism:  Link

Dr. Lee Edwards, a leading historian of American conservatism and the author or editor of 25 books, headlines MiCPAC 2017
   Dr. Lee Edwards on Dr. Russell Kirk: (Kirk's) 
  Kirk argued that conservatism as a philosophy is based on six canons, condensed here:
  1. A divine intent as well as personal conscience rules society, "forging an eternal chain of right and duty which links great and obscure, living and dead."
  2. Traditional life, as distinguished from "the narrowing uniformity and equalitarianism ... of most radical systems," is filled with variety and mystery.
  3. Civilized society requires orders and hierarchy-"if a people destroy natural distinctions among men, presently Buonaparte fills the vacuum."
  4. "Property and freedom are inseparably connected."
  5. "Man must put a control upon his will and his appetite," knowing that he is governed more by emotion than reason.
  6. "Society must alter ... but Providence is the proper instrument for change."  Read More 
Be sure you meet and hear Dr. Lee Edwards at MiCPAC 4/28-29/ 2017!

   NEW!    Excerpts for an interview of Ian Crowe is an associate professor of history and Edmund Burke Society director:  Prominent thought leaders such as  Winston Churchill and  Russell Kirk  were influenced by Edmund Burke's writings. What about this eighteenth-century British statesman captivates?
   I think we are back to language and imagination here: both Churchill and Kirk were craftsmen of imagination and great wordsmiths: they speak so as to hold in tension the conflicts and paradoxes of man's life in society. I think they can do this - and   Lincoln  achieved it, too - because they are able to use words and imagery that reveal the universal in the particular, and vice versa. That ability to reason and observe on two levels simultaneously, as it were, serves to rein in the impulsive energy of power, and this is why it is such an unwelcome facet of political thinking for those politicians who see short-term pragmatism on the one hand and, on the other hand, the pursuit of ideological goals (however humanitarian) as their main focus.
    To borrow from  The Enduring Edmund Burke , just how did Burke endure?  Precisely in his being an admonition to the exercise of power, while committed to political action as duty. This is the insider/outsider who, I believe, is caught so well in the writings of  David Bromwich  and Russell Kirk in particular. It echoes the inner check that civilizations require to progress or develop in a healthy way.  Interview  (Thanks, Nick)

See you at MiCPAC! Apply below or at MiCPAC 2017 or at Eventbrite (fees apply) 

Business Name | Email Address | Phone number | Website
See what's happening on our social sites:
Place article copy here. Be sure to make the articles short and concise as people tend not to read much more than a couple of paragraphs. Place article copy here.