Conservative Groups Oppose HB 4111 - Obamacare Dollars

Vote will be "scored" for future consideration



For immediate release                                                                                       February 27, 2013

Contact: Jack Hoogendyk



Kalamazoo - Several conservative groups have banded together to oppose HB 4111, the appropriation of $30.6 million for the implementation of the Obamacare Health Insurance exchange partnership. A final vote is expected on the bill at noon, Thursday on the house floor.


"Most Conservatives and Republicans in Michigan do not want anything to do with Obamacare," said Jack Hoogendyk, President of Citizens' Alliance for Life and Liberty. "These exchanges are being forced on us by the federal government and now, in an attempt to make it more palatable, the feds are offering us a $30.6 million 'gift' to help us with setting up the technology to eventually accept a flawed health care law with thousands of pages of rules and regulations that will transfer control of our health care to bureaucrats in Washington. It will only serve to drive up the cost of insurance on hardworking Michigan families and the resulting tax increases on business will kill jobs in the state.


"Now it appears that the governor and the Speaker, knowing they do not have the votes on the Republican side of the aisle, are looking to the Democrats for 51 of the 56 votes needed to pass the bill. This is unacceptable."


"We will be tracking the votes of legislators who are looking to reelection in 2014," said Hoogendyk. "There are thousands of grass roots activists who are ready to go to work to elect or UN-elect lawmakers in the primary of 2014, based on their loyalty to conservative principles."


The following groups have joined in opposing HB4111:

  • Citizens' Alliance for Life and Liberty, Jack Hoogendyk, President
  • Madison Project of Michigan
  • Northern Michigan Patriots, Randy Bishop, President
  • American for Prosperity-MI, Scott Hagerstrom, Director
  • Michigan Conservative Union, Norm Hughes, Chairman
  • Independents for Responsible Government (I4RG)
  • Grassroots in Michigan, Joan Fabiano
  •, Randy Jasky, Director
  • Southwest Michigan Tea Party Patriots, Gene Clem, President
  • VanKal Tea Party Patriots, Jack Hoogendyk, President
  • Docs4Patient Care, Michigan Chapter
  • Lapeer County Tea Party Patriots, Bill Gavette, Director
  • Tea Party Patriots of West Oakland County, Ben Di Ponio
  • Mid Michigan Patriots, Larry Miller, Co-Chair
  • Manistee Area Tea Party, Tom Biggs
  • Brighton Area Tea Party
  • Tea Party of west Michigan, Tina DuPont
  • Wayne County  Taxpayers Association, Rose Bogaert
  • RetakeOurGov, Wes Nakagiri
  • Willow Run Tea Party Caucus, Dennis Moore, Director
  • Rattle With Us Tea Party, Sharon Lollio
  • Proud Legacy Alliance, Mike Konners
  • Center Right of Michigan
  • Western Washtenaw Tea Party
  • AA Patriots