Tourism Industry Association of Canada Logo

Tourism Industry Association of Canada

Association de l'industrie touristique du Canada

 116 rue Lisgar Street, Suite 600

Ottawa, Ontario, K2P 0C2



For Immediate Release

TIAC Announces Recipients of 2011 Canadian Tourism Awards


OTTAWA, November 24, 2011 - Fourteen organizations and individuals were honoured tonight by the Tourism Industry Association of Canada (TIAC) as recipients of the 2011 Canadian Tourism Awards, presented by The Toronto Star.


The awards were presented earlier this evening at a gala ceremony at the Fairmont Chateau Laurier in Ottawa. 


"TIAC wishes to congratulate the fourteen recipients of the 2011 Canadian Tourism Awards," said TIAC President and CEO David Goldstein. "This outstanding group of individuals and organizations have demonstrated ingenuity, perseverence and determination on the path to success and are a testament to the strength of Canada's tourism industry.  We are very pleased to recognize them as organizations and individuals who help make Canada a world-class destination."


The 2011 recipients are:


(Note: Abridged biographies are available online at


Air Canada Business of the Year Award
  • CN Tower (Toronto, ON)
Hilton Worldwide Small or Medium-sized Business of the Year Award
  • Meridian Reservation Systems (Niagara Falls, ON)
Delta Hotels and Resorts New Business of the Year Award
  • Ottawa Convention Centre (Ottawa, ON)
Deloitte Innovator of the Year Award
  • Stonehammer Geopark (Saint John, NB)
Corporate Partner of the Year Award
  • Waterfront Development Corporation (Halifax, NS)
Metro Toronto Convention Centre Event of the Year Award
  • Le Carnaval de Qu�bec (Qu�bec, QC)
Fairmont Hotels & Resorts Marketing Campaign of the Year Award
  • Find Yourself - Newfoundland and Labrador Tourism (NL)
WestJet Social Media Initiative of the Year Award
  • 48 Half Hours Contest - Newfoundland and Labrador Tourism (NL)
Parks Canada Sustainable Tourism Award
  • Nahanni River Adventures and Canadian River Expeditions (Whitehorse, YK)
National Cultural Tourism Award
  • Celtic Colours International Festival (Cape Breton Island, NS)
CTHRC Award for Excellence in Human Resources Development
  • White Point Beach Resort (White Point, NS)
Traveller Experience Award
  • Le Village historique de Val-Jalbert (Chambord, QC)
Via Rail Canada Community Service Award
  • Le Buffet des Continents (Gatineau, Qu�bec)
InterContinental Hotels Group Employee of the Year Award
  • Wilma Anderson, Guest Services Manager and Purchaser, Elmhirst's Resort (Keene, ON)
For more information, please contact:

Kevin Desjardins
Vice-President, Strategy and Public Affairs,

Tourism Industry Association of Canada 

(c) 613-240-7225

About the Canadian Tourism Awards


The Canadian Tourism Awards were established in 2003 to recognize success, leadership and innovation in Canada's tourism industry, and to honour those people, places, organizations and events that have gone above and beyond to offer superior visitor experiences to travelers in Canada.  Showcasing the nation's best tourism products, services and experiences, the Canadian Tourism Awards ceremony has become an annual highlight of The Tourism Congress, TIAC's annual convention.  

About The Tourism Industry Association of Canada:

The Tourism Industry Association of Canada is the only national organization representing the full cross-section of Canada's $74 billion tourism industry. TIAC's members include air and passenger rail services, airport authorities, local and provincial destination authorities, hotels, attractions and tour operators.