Extension Series Logo


Remembering the Ladies: 
Researching Your Female Ancestors

Join us for a Webinar on Saturday, October 1
Reserve your Webinar Seat Now at:

 https://www1.gotomeeting.com/register/974648280

Join us for this FREE webinar sponsored by the Southern California Genealogical Society. The Jamboree Extension Series allows genealogists from around the world to take advantage of the types of sessions that are offered at the Southern California Genealogy Jamboree in Burbank, California. The Jamboree Extension Series is offered as a service to the genealogical community.

Women ancestors can be difficult to trace but not impossible. This presentation goes over resources for tracing the women in your family. Sources discussed include federal and state census records, immigration, vital records, church records, journals, newspapers, court records, library archives and manuscript collections.

Gena Philibert Ortega
Gena Philibert-Ortega has a Master's degree in Interdisciplinary Studies and Religion. She is the author of over 100 articles published in various genealogical newsletters. Her writings can also be found on her blogs, Gena's Genealogy and Food.Family.Ephemera. She is the author of the book, Cemeteries of the Eastern Sierra (2007).

Gena's research interest centers on women's lives and how the materials they left behind can be used in genealogy. Specifically she is researching women's diaries, signature quilts and community cookbooks. Gena serves as Vice-President for the Southern California Chapter of the Association of Professional Genealogists. She is also a Regional Director for the California State Genealogical Alliance.

Jamboree Extension Series presentations will be scheduled on the first Saturday and third Wednesday of each month. Saturday sessions will be held at 10am Pacific time / 1pm Eastern time; Wednesday sessions will be scheduled 6pm Pacific time / 9pm Eastern time. Jamboree Extension Sessions will be archived and available to SCGS members approximately three days following the webinar. Membership information can be found at www.scgsgenealogy.com.

Title:
Jamboree Extension Series: "Remembering the Ladies: Researching Your Female Ancestors"

Date:
Saturday, October 1, 2011

Time:
10:00 AM - 11:30 AM PDT
11:00 AM - 12:30 PM MDT
12:00 PM - 1:30 PM CDT
1:00 PM - 2:30 PM EDT
Time Zone Converter for other time zones

System Requirements
PC-based attendees
Required: Windows® 7, Vista, XP or 2003 Server
Macintosh®-based attendees
Required: Mac OS® X 10.5 or newer