Summer Reading 2017        Facebook    Twitter    YouTube
Build a Better World
Children's Summer Reading:
Build a Better World

June 23 - August 15

Register for programs and reading log tracking starting 3PM on Monday, June 19.

Friday, June 23
RML Side Lawn
Picnic + Toe Jam Puppet Band

Thursday, June 29
RML Community Room
Author of "Marty Pants" Mark Parisi

Tuesday, July 11
RML Community Room
Cactus Head Puppets

Monday, July 17
RML Community Room
Wildlife Encounters (ages 5-11)
pick up tickets for this program at the library starting July 10

Saturday, July 22
RML Parking Lot
Trucks Around Town

Tuesday, August 8
RML Side Lawn
Steve Blunt

Tuesday, August 15
Hills Garrison Cafeteria
Magician Norman Ng
Kid in a Box
  • June 26: Toddler Box Build (reg)
  • June 30: Rokenbok Day (reg)
  • July 1: LEGO Brick Day
  • July 6: Quadro Giant Building Set
  • July 18: Rokenbok Day 
  • August 9: Tinker Lab
  • August 14: Quadro Giant Building Set


  • July 14-15: Cardboard Box Maze
  • July 31-Aug 5: Escape Room

Start times vary! Check the events calendar for full details. 

Kids Build BLocks
More Fun Programs
Visit the event calendar for a complete listing and more details about all activities.

Age birth - 18m:
  • Books + Babies, June 23, 10:30AM
  • Books + Babies, June 27, 10AM
  • Books + Babies, July 20, 10AM
Age birth - 3y:
  • Peek-a-boo Playtime, July Fridays, 9:30AM-12PM
Age 3y - 5y:
  • Not a Box Story Time, July 10, 6:30PM
  • Not a Box Story Time, July 13, 10AM
Age 7y - 10y:
  • Active Chefs! July Mondays, 10:30AM
Age 7y-12y:
  • Engineering Challenge! July Wednesdays, 2PM
  • Sleepover, July 14 OR July 28, 5:30PM
Build a Better World
Teen Summer Reading
Build a Better World

Sign up now at:

Log your reading from any computer or mobile device.

Many of our programs have limited space. While registration is not required, unless otherwise stated, not registering means your place is not guaranteed. Once the limit for a program is reached, other teens will be turned away at the door. Preference will ALWAYS be given to those who register in advance, as long as they are on time for the program.

tl;dr: Register to guarantee a spot! Check the Events Calendar for a complete list of programs!
Girls Who Code Camp
Tue, June 27, 6:30PM - 8:30PM
Thu, July 6, 6:30PM - 8:30PM
Tue, July 11, 6:30PM - 8:30PM
Tue, July 18, 6:30PM - 8:30PM
Tue, July 25, 6:30PM - 8:30PM
Tue, August 1, 6:30PM - 8:30PM

Coding With Minecraft
Wed, June 28, 1:30PM

Raspberry Pi Robots
Wed, June 28, 4PM

Mother-Daughter Bookclub
Wed, June 28, 6:30PM
Wed, July 26, 6:30PM
Wed, August 23, 6:30PM

Laser Tag 
Fri, June 30, 8PM

Improv Theater Group
Tue, June 27, 4PM - 5PM
Wed, July 5, 4PM - 5PM
Tue, July 11, 4PM - 5PM
Tue, July 18, 4PM - 5PM
Tue, July 25, 4PM - 5PM
Tue, Aug 1, 4PM - 5PM

Chocolate Olympics
Wed, July 12, 3PM
Build a Cardboard Maze
Thu, July 13, 6PM

3D Printing Workshop
Wed, July 19, 2PM

Wed, July 26, 2PM
Wed, July 26, 3PM

Birds of Prey
Thu, July 27, 2PM

Escape Room
Mon, July 31
Tue, August 1
Wed, August 2
Thu, August 3
Fri, August 4
Sat, August 5

SAT/ACT Information Session
Thu, August 3, 3PM - 4PM

Proctored SAT Practice Test
Sat, August 5, 9AM

SRP Finale!
Tue, August 8, 2PM - 3:30PM

Proctored ACT Practice Test
Sat, August 12, 9AM
Adult Summer Reading
Pages for Prizes
July 1 - August 31

Get a raffle ticket for every library book, eBook and audiobook you read or listen to!  Earn extra tickets for attending library events.

Weekly Prize Drawings: prizes include gift certificates to local restaurants and stores. Get a coupon for a free book at the Second Hand Prose booksale for participating.

Tell circulation how many items you've read, or register online and track your reading yourself. Visit
Summer Concerts
Bel Airs Doo Wop
Bel Airs Doo Wop
Friday, July 7, 7PM

Fallen House
Fallen Houses
Friday, August 18, 7:30PM

Mark Wahlberg
Free Friday Film Fest
Fridays, July 10 - August 25, 3:30PM 

July 7: Beauty and the Beast (2017)
July 14: Fences
July 21: La la Land
July 28: Hacksaw Ridge
Aug 4: A Street Cat Named Bob
Aug 11: The Zookeeper's Wife
Aug 18: Going in Style
Aug 25: Patriot's Day

Free Family Films
Saturday, 10AM

June 24: Lego Batman
July: TBA
August: TBA