Senate Badge
November 19, 2012
For Immediate Release

Liz Flowers
Senate Democratic Caucus


Senate Dems Elect Leadership Team for 2013-14 Term

Women influential part of caucus efforts


Atlanta, Ga. - November 19, 2012 -The Georgia Senate Democratic Caucus elected today its leadership team for the 2013 - 2014 term.


Re-elected to serve as Leader of the Senate Democrats was Steve Henson (Tucker). Sen. Vincent Fort was re-elected as Caucus Whip. Sen. Horacena Tate (Atlanta) was elected to serve as Caucus Chairwoman, becoming the first woman to serve as as caucus chairperson in the Senate.


Senate Democratic Caucus Leadership Team for 2013 - 2014:

  • Steve Henson - Leader
  • Vincent Fort - Whip
  • Horacena Tate - Chair
  • Valencia Seay - Vice Chair
  • Gloria Butler - Vice Chair: Campaigns and Fundraising
  • Nan Orrock - Secretary

"Our caucus team is comprised of experienced leaders who will work to improve the standing of Democrats in Georgia. We are committed to building a strong and prosperous economy, creating jobs that pay well, improving education and creating an open and transparent government," Henson said. "Each of us was elected by our constituents to represent them in state government. As a team, we are working hard to improve the lives of Georgians across the state."


Women are an influential part of the Senate Caucus, making up more than 50 percent of the Senate Democratic leadership team positions.


The Senate Democratic Caucus elections were open to the public and media at the Georgia State Capitol.