seamless_fall_header.jpg  
Rockport Public Library Newsletter
     November - December 2016

Learn about the First People
of Cape Ann - Saturday, Nov. 5
      Mary Ellen is an independent researcher studying the early history of Cape Ann for a book she is writing. She has a Master's degree in anthropology from BU and has participated in a salvage dig in Ipswich, excavated an Iron Age site in Botswana, and led fieldwork in Saudi Arabia. 
Native tribes lived in this area thousands of years before the first Europeans reached the shores of New England. Who were the first inhabitants? Where and how did they live?
         Don't miss this fascinating presentation by Mary Ellen Lepionka on Saturday, Nov. 5, at 2 o'clock in the Brenner Room.
 
There is archeological evidence of settlements at Riverview,  Wingaersheek Beach, Stage Fort Park and Annisquam in Gloucester, near Old Garden Beach in Rockport and various other sites on Cape Ann.
       Mary Ellen will discuss the people who lived near the Annisquam River estuary. The research she is doing for a new book  is based on archaeological and ethnological evidence, including the use of Poles Hill as a ceremonial site for Algonquian-speaking people in a nearby village called Wenesquawam.  

Children's Events
Awesome Book Club  
Thur., Nov. 3 & Dec. 1, 3:30 p.m.
Readers in Grades 4-6, come share an awesome book with friends!. Registration required. 
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Music Together
An Interactive Family Program
Sunday, Nov. 6 & Dec. 4, 3 p.m. 
For ages newborn - 5 and their families. Come & make music together! 
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stories and More
For the preschool set!
Tuesdays at 10 a.m.
Nov. 8, 22, 29, & Dec. 13. Children's Room open 9:30-11:30. 
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Club Lego: 
Tues., Nov. 8, @2 p.m. (No School Day)
AND Thur., December 29  
We supply the Legos, you provide the creativity. Ages 5+ welcome! 
-------------------------------------------------------------------  
PJ Family Story Time 
Wed., Nov. 30 & Dec. 21, 7 p.m.
  Wear your PJs & bring a stuffed animal friend.
Suitable for ages 4+ and families.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Finding Dory
1/2 School Day Movie Special  
Wednesday, Dec. 7, 2 p.m.  
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Family Movie Special: The BFG
Tuesday, Dec. 27, 2 p.m., Brenner Friends Room 
--------------------------------------------------------------------------  
snowman_snowy_dec.jpg
Intergenerational
Holiday Special
Seasonal Stories and Songs
with Davis Bates & Roger Tinknell 
Wednesday, Dec. 28, 2 p.m. 
Can't come to us? We'll come to you!
If you are unable to come to the library on a short- or long-term basis, we can delivery library materials to you at home. The Outreach Librarian can deliver and pick up books, magazines, DVDs, CDs, and audiobooks on a schedule that meets your needs. To arrange for this service, please call us at 978-546-6934 and leave a message for the Outreach Librarian.
IT'S THAT TIME AGAIN
Remember to turn your clocks to Standard Time on Saturday night,  
Nov. 5!
 
 
   

Schedule Changes
Library closed for Nov. 12, 24 & 26; and Dec. 25 & 26 for holidays.
---------------- 
Sat., Dec. 24
, open  10- 1 p.m.
---------------- 
Sat., Dec. 31
, open:  10- 4 p.m. 
 
Which Craft? Circle
De-stress with your favorite needlecraft: knitting, crochet, quilting, etc.   
   Start a new project or bring along one you've been meaning to finish! 
   Group meets in the Trustees Room Nov. 14 & 28, and Dec. 5 & 19. Doors open 10:45-11:15.
@ 2:00 p.m.
Wed., Nov. 2
A Man for All Seasons

Wed., Nov. 9
From Russia with Love

Wed., Nov. 16
Bye, Bye, Birdie

Sat., Nov. 19: Keanu

Wed., Nov. 30
Cool Hand Luke

Sat., Dec. 3
London has Fallen

Sat., Dec. 10
The Meddler

Wed., Dec. 14
The Italian Job

Sat., Dec. 17
Love & Friendship

Wed., Dec. 21
Support Your Local Sheriff
-----------------
Nov. 5, 12, & 23
Dec. 7 & 28
NO MOVIES
Adult Book Groups
Thur., Nov. 10 @ 4
Poetry Readers

Wed., Nov. 16 @ 2
Current Issues

Sun., Nov. 20 @ 2
Book Chat

Mon., Nov. 21 @ 6
Evening Book Group

Mon., Nov. 28 @ 4
Greek Drama

Wed., Nov. 30 @ 7
History Book Club
 
Join Our Mailing List!