May 16, 2016



Upcoming Events

May 17, 2016
State of The Community
Speakers: Onward Yankton & Mount Marty College
Each will have 10 minutes to discuss what is currently happening in the city, county, and read more...
May 19, 2016  
Craizy Daisy's Popcorn Ribbon Cutting

              May 19, 2016 @ 3:00 pm  Read more ...
May 24, 2016

 Willa B's Ribbon Cutting
  May 24, 2016 3:00 PM
June 1, 2016
  David's Depot Ribbon Cutting
              June 1, 2016 @ noon   Read more ....
June 14, 2016
Community Conversation Powered by the Bush Foundation
Open to all non-profits, municipalities, counties, and economic development groups.  Mount Marty College Roncalli Center Dining Room, 10 am - 2:30 pm.  Click here for more details ...
June 21, 2016
11th Annual Ag Gala 
This annual Ag Gala is held in June to honor the agriculture industry. Each year during the event... read more...
August 10, 2016
New Teacher Luncheon (details to come)

Winners Announced for 'Find Yankton's Great 8'
The Yankton Convention & Visitors Bureau Advisory Council would like to thank everyone who participated in 'Find Yankton's Great 8' campaign which took place during National Tourism Week, May 1-7.  Congratulations to our winners who were drawn at each location and will receive $50.00 in Chamber Dollars.  Here is the comprehensive list of Yankton's Great 8 and the winner from each location:
Clue 1 - Lewis & Clark Lake - Janice Kirschenman
Clue 2 - Gavins Point Dam - Carol Eilers
Clue 3 - Mead Museum/Dakota Territorial Museum - Nancy Wenande
Clue 4 - NFAA Easton Archery Complex - Laurie Lockwood
Clue 5 - Meridian Bridge & Plaze/Yankton Trail System - Marv Lockwood
Clue 6 - Missouri National Recreational River/Riverside Park - Carol Eilers
Clue 7 - Charlies Pizza House - Wilbur Bauden
Clue 8  - Riverwalk Sculpture Tour/Historic Downtown Yankton - Jeff Gudahl


2016 Law Enforcement Torch Run for Special Olympics
Yankton law enforcement officers will take to the streets of Downtown Yankton to run their 1 mile lag for the 2016 Law Enforcement Torch Run for Special Olympics South Dakota on Monday, May 16, 2016 with a proclamation ceremony starting approximately at 3 p.m. in the parking lot behind Hatch Furniture (3rd & Douglas).
The annual run raises money for Special Olympics South Dakota and promotes this year's Summer Games that will take place at Black Hills State University in Spearfish on May 19-21, 2016.
People are encouraged to run along with law enforcement or line the streets and cheer them on.  Route will start at 3rd & Douglas, turn and head south on Cedar and then run along Riverside Drive and will end at the Dakota Territorial Capitol Replica building.  

Chamber Remodel

While our remodel is taking shape, there are still a few things that need to be done before it is considered complete. We are working on sound buffers for the room and conference furniture but these may take a little longer to secure.

Big "Shout out" and "Thank you" to:
  • Kopetsky Ace Hardware and Sherwin Williams for helping with the paint job.
  • Services Center Federal Credit Union for their donation to the conference room!
  • First National Bank for their contribution of some work station furniture!
We still have a "wish list" for a few more things to complete the new conference room.   If any members plan a remodel and will be replacing existing furniture, please contact us at  (605) 665-3636.   Thank you for your continued patience as we work through this remodel.

May is Bike Month
Consider riding your bike to work!
AND businessses - consider giving a discount to bicyclists who ride down and visit your establishment.  It's healthy and it's good for the environment.
Bus for the Museum!
Help the Dakota Territorial Museum and Mead Building purchase a bus for events and tours.  Over half the funds have already been but you can still help.   Go to their Facebook page to find out how to donate or visit their website at or, or call 605-665-3898.
Businesses on
Hwy 50/4th Street Construction 

Every Tuesday, weekly construction meetings will be held at 9 am at the Yankton Chamber of Commerce to discuss updates on the Hwy 50 project.  Businesses are invited to attend to hear about the progress.  If you are unable to attend, updates are available at .
Yankton Area Chamber of Commerce
(605) 665-3636
Convention & Visitors Bureau Calendar
Need to get your event listed?  Submit an Event!
SD Quarterly Economic Report
The Secretary of State's office and Northern State University's School of Business have compiled a visually appealing one page Quarterly Economic Report. These indicators provide you with South Dakota's most recent Taxable Sales, Employment, New Business Filings, Quarterly Economic highlights, Personal Income, Total Sales, Retail Gasoline price, Unemployment rate, Continuing Jobless Claims, Building Permits, Bankruptcy Filings etc. in an easy to view format with charts and graphs. This recap will be released on a quarterly basis.   For more details  Click on the link
Business Education Video Library
If you are not receiving the weekly helpful hints, please call the Chamber at 665-3636 so we can add your name to the "Opt-in" list.
In This Week's Library
Small Business Week 2016 Part 1  Special Hour Long Broadcast - Multiple Expert Interviews covering How to Get Customers, How to Make Sure they are Profitable and How to Use Various Techniques and Tools to Keep Them. 
HR Heaven or Hell - HR Questions What to do with confidential Wellness Info; Should Tuition Reimbursement be offered and how to do it; What to do about employees who are caught lying about being out sick. 
Personal Development  - Taking it to the Next Level - The Unfair Advantage Lisa Grunden gives some insight into how to up your game and take charge to take yourself and your business to the next level.   


2016 Chamber Board 

President: Chris Ferdig; Vice President: Bridget Benson; Secretary/Treasurer: Ken Kopetsky

Board Members:  Chuck Aman ~ Kevin Hunhoff ~ John Kraft ~ George Lundgren ~ Tammy Matuska 

Cynthia Miller ~ Kristi Palecek ~ Kathy Quinlivan ~ Barb Rezac 

Becky Souchek ~ Jack Weeks ~ Todd Woods

Past President:  Josh Svatos