- September Newsletter - 

Stay up-to-date with all of the exciting happenings going on at Whelden this month.
We look forward to seeing you!

~ Whelden will be closed on Monday, Sept. 4th in observance of Labor Day ~
- Call for Donations -

The Friends are still accepting gift-quality donations for this year's annual Holiday Boutique.
Bring your fall and winter favorites -- anything you would consider a gift yourself!
Items should pertain to Halloween, Thanksgiving or Christmas, and can include everything from lightly used/homemade costumes, decorations, jewelry, arts and crafts, baked goods, etc.

Thank you!

This year's West Barnstable Village Festival was a great success! The sun peeked out, the vendors were phenomenal and it was evident that all our visiting families had a wonderful time! Many thanks to everyone who participated alongside Whelden to make it a memorable event. Our kids craft and bake sale were huge hits! 

See you next year!
Congratulations, Judy!

The Trustees of Whelden Memorial Library announced and honored this year's  "Citizen of the Year" at the annual Village Festival. We are pleased to recognize and congratulate our very own Judith Jacobson for being selected for this prestigious award. 

Judy works hard to make our community and library a better place through her passion, dedication, community spirit and commitment to maintaining the well-loved Friends' bookstore.  Judy, thank you for making our town and library a better place!

Upcoming Events  

On Wednesday, September 13th at 6:00 p.m., Nancy Shoemaker of the 
1717 Meetinghouse in West Barnstable, will be giving an in-depth discussion of this landmark building's history. One of the oldest of its kind in New England, the Meetinghouse was constructed in 1717 and has undergone many alterations over the years, becoming a neo-classical church in the mid-19th century.  A building of the people, the Meetinghouse is open to the public from Memorial Day-Columbus Day.

This history discussion will be held at Whelden Memorial Library, 
but b e sure to schedule a tour of the Meetinghouse at a later date.

Call 508-362-2262 to pre-register!
Stitching at Whelden

Stop by during the 2nd or 4th Wednesday of each month between 2:00-4:00 pm for an informal get-together. Come to knit, crochet, sew or enjoy any other type of needlecraft. Bring a project and work in the company of our cozy library. 

Beginners welcome!


The Children's Room 

Whelden is hosting a "Hands-On S.T.E.M." event, Wednesday, September 6th at 5:30 p.m., along with our neighborhood teacher from West Parish Pre-K. Kids will be given an experiment after a story is read that explains the simple science of a fun exercise! 
Kids ages 3+ with adult accompaniment are encouraged to register.
Storybook Yoga with
Miss Anina

Every Saturday at 11:00 am

Stop by for a FUN and SILLY combination of yoga, literature, music and movement, along with relaxation and breathing techniques. Ages range from 2-12.

* Registration is required and children must be accompanied by an adult *


Whelden Book Corner 

- Staff Picks -
What we're loving this month...
Highly Recommended:
Susan Elia MacNeal's Maggie Hope Mystery Series

{Submitted and Adapted by Ellen Russon}

The year is 1940, and British-born but American-raised Maggie Hope is a math whiz living in London who works as a codebreaker during the Second World War. She starts out as Winston Churchill's secretary and then trains as a spy and special agent to aid Britain in the war against the Nazis. She assists Princess Elizabeth, is assigned a black ops mission to Berlin by King George, partners with MI-5, works with Eleanor Roosevelt, and more. The real-life historical characters and events add vivid historical authenticity to the action-packed books in this series, which are best read in order. For a full list of the books in this series in order, go to the KDL What's Next® Books in Series database at: http://ww2.kdl.org/libcat/whatsnext.asp  
"[A] stellar series ... [Susan Elia] MacNeal has written an impeccably researched, wonderfully engaging story." - Minneapolis Star Tribune
"Splendid ... riveting ... The research is complete and fascinating ... The scenes are so detailed that readers will feel as if they are next to the characters and listening to them speaking."
- RT Book Reviews
"A fine historical mystery given a feminist slant."- Booklist
"Fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Charles Todd will feast on this riveting series chronicling Britain's own 'Greatest Generation.' MacNeal's research and gift for dialogue shine through on every page, transporting the reader to Churchill's inner circle. The Prime Minister's Secret Agent is both top-drawer historical fiction and mystery in its finest hour."
-Julia Spencer-Fleming, New York Times bestselling author
SUSAN ELIA MACNEAL is the author of the New York Times- and USA Today-bestselling Maggie Hope mystery series. The Maggie Hope novels have been nominated for the Edgar Award, ITW Thriller Award, the Dilys Award, the Sue Federer Historical Fiction Award, and the Bruce Alexander Historical Fiction Award and won the Barry Award (for Mr. Churchill's Secretary). Ms. MacNeal is a graduate of Wellesley College (cross-registered for courses at MIT) and attended the Radcliffe Publishing Course at Harvard University.
- New Additions to Our Collection -
Some of our latest and greatest...

Stay with Me: a Novel

By Ayobami Adebayo

Yejide and Akin have been married since they met and fell in love at university. Though many expected Akin to take several wives, he and Yejide have always agreed: polygamy is not for them. But four years into their marriage--after consulting fertility doctors and healers, trying strange teas and unlikely cures--Yejide is still not pregnant. She assumes she still has time--until her family arrives on her doorstep with a young woman they introduce as Akin's second wife. Furious, shocked, and livid with jealousy, Yejide knows the only way to save her marriage is to get pregnant, which, finally, she does, but at a cost far greater than she could have dared to imagine. An electrifying novel of enormous emotional power,  Stay With Me  asks how much we can sacrifice for the sake of family.
"Glass Houses" by Louise Penny
"Sleeping in the Ground" by Peter Robinson
"Those Who Leave and Those Who Stay" by Elena Ferrante
- Sweet School Reads for Kids -
Get back-to-school ready with a few of these top picks...
First Day Jitters

By Julie Danneberg

Sarah Jane is worried about going to a new school. She refuses to get out of bed because she keeps imagining all the bad things that can happen. Readers will understand and sympathize with Sarah's feelings and laugh when they discover the surprise ending to this delightful story. Editorial Reviews K-Gr 3-Sarah is hiding under her covers as Mr. Hartwell asks, "You don't want to miss the first day at your new school do you?" From under the blanket she replies, "I'm not going." When he reminds her how much she liked her other school and asks her to think of all the new friends she'll meet, she imagines a classroom where a paper airplane is flying, a boy is pulling his neighbor's pigtail, and another is blowing a gigantic bubble. Mr. Hartwell finally gets Sarah to stumble out of bed, eat a bit of toast, and get into the car where she slumps down into her seat. At school, the principal cheerfully welcomes her and takes her to the classroom where she is introduced as "Mrs. Sarah Jane Hartwell," the new teacher. There is a bit of foreshadowing that Sarah is an adult, but as she is always partially hidden, the ending will come as a surprise to most readers. The ink-and-watercolor illustrations are full of action and maintain the lighthearted tone. A little subplot in the paintings shows the family cat and dog having their own contest of wills while their owner is trying to get his wife up and out. The joke provides a good laugh and children may find it reassuring that they are not alone in their anxieties about new situations.

-Adele Greenlee, Bethel College, St. Paul, MN
Copyright 2000 Cahners Business Information via Goodreads

- WML Monthly Display -
Traveling, lately? Or maybe you're just dreaming of your next adventure. Heading into the fall season, we've rounded up some top travel picks - local and abroad - worth visiting. We especially love these square, photographic keepsake books by Arthur Richmond. They offer perfect island highlights, gorgeous landscape details and hidden gems of our Cape culture. 
Come take a look!

Sunday, Sept. 10, 7:00 A.M. (Est. 5 hours)
Sunday, Sept. 24, 5:00 P.M. (Est. 2 hours)

CLAMS will be upgrading Sierra to version 3.2 this month, leaving the Sierra server offline during the above dates. Sierra, Classic Catalog and Encore will be unavailable at these times. This will also impact the use of products such as OverDrive, ComCat and Axis 360.
Thank you for your patience!

We've been amping up our media presence and would love for you to join the conversation.
Be sure to 'LIKE' us on Facebook to follow along with our library journey.
Feedback and questions are always welcome!