Texas College and Career Readiness Network Digest
 
       A College and Career Readiness Newsfeed for the State of Texas
 
               Issue 7  | July 2014
 
  
  
declaration-independence.jpg
ESC 20, AVATAR, and San Antonio Pathways Partner for
House Bill 5 College-Prep Course Development


Since efforts began in October 2013, college and career readiness (CCR) partners AVATAR and San Antonio Pathways have joined ESC Region 20's Math and ELAR college-prep course development committees.

Read More 

 

  

 Houston Schools Host House Bill 5 Community Meetings   


As part of ESC 4's efforts to educate Texas parents and students on the new graduation plans required by House Bill 5, schools such as Worthing High School held community meetings to simplify and highlight this statewide initiative.

 

  business-presentation.jpg

AVATAR and College Preparatory Courses

Vertical Alignment Teams in several regions have been tapped by their school districts and colleges as consultants about the new College Preparatory Courses (CPC) mandated by House Bill 5.  

This article contains some of the issues that have risen in the development and planning of CPC implementation. The issues are followed by possible solutions that CPC partners have brainstormed and suggested.   

   


               
Content for the Texas College and Career Readiness Network is based on Network feedback
 
Contact us with your comments, questions, or CCR news you would like to share with the Network!
  
In This Issue

ESC 20, AVATAR, and San Antonio Pathways Partner for House Bill 5 College-Prep Course Development
 
Houston Schools Host House Bill 5 Community Meetings

AVATAR and College Preparatory Courses

TXCCRN Resource Updates

College and Career Readiness Headlines
 
  Resource Updates
 

Visit the Initiative and Resource page to view newly added items!

 
College and Career Readiness Headlines

Visit our 
newsroom to read more college and career readiness headlines.

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
    
  

The Texas College and Career Readiness Network Digest is part of TXCCRN, which is sponsored by a Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board grant to   
the University of Houston.

 

Editor:  
Amy Williams, aewilliams10@uh.edu   

 

Special Thanks to:  

Ravae Shaeffer, ravae.shaeffer@esc20.net 

Tori Austin, tori.austin@esc20.net 

Tripp Presley, tripppresley@yahoo.com 

Jean Keller, jean.keller@unt.edu

Mary Harris, mary.harris@unt.edu

Brita Lindsey, blindsey@houstonisd.org  

 

 

 

  Contributing Editors: 

Jo Anne Davis-Jones, jadavis-jones@central.uh.edu 

Heidi Kennedy, hkennedy@uh.edu 

  

www.thecb.state.tx.us 

www.tea.state.tx.us 

 

Inspiration

Exploration

Information

Application
ApplyTX