Letterhead

To Our Extended Family of Supporters:

 

As the effects of Hurricane Sandy draw to a close, we here at the Art School at Old Church are glad to have resumed classes and be back in the studios.  We find the arts help heal in a way nothing else can.  We hope life is getting back to normal for you and that you will continue to pursue excellence in arts education with us.

  

Many of you know that for the first time in 38 years the Annual Pottery Show & Sale was cancelled due to the aftermath of Hurricane Sandy. The storm hampered our ability to simultaneously put forth a successful show and operate fully as an art school.

 

Even though classes have been rescheduled and students have returned, we anticipate the financial impact of cancelling our biggest fundraiser of the year. The money we raise at the Annual Pottery Show and Sale helps keep the school in the black, allowing us to offer affordable classes and cultural programs, to maintain the building and pay the small staff and excellent faculty. We ask you, our generous community, to donate now and make up for the income lost from this annual event. No gift is too small.  Please print and fill out the attached reply card and mail with your donation to the Art School at Old Church 561 Piermont Road, Demarest, NJ 07627.

 

We know that those who have attended the Annual Pottery Show and Sale in the past will miss the pottery show this year for its historic reputation, prominent ceramic artists, and over 2,000 one of a kind works of art to marvel at and choose from. Please be assured that this festive tradition will resume with an excellent show next year!  We look forward to seeing you in December 2013.

 

Wishing you the best during this holiday season!

 

Maria Danziger

Executive Director

 

 

Please note:  Sales from the pottery show are an important source of income for invited artists. Please take a moment to browse through the list of this year's invited potters and peruse their websites, as some may have local events coming up around the holiday season. 

  

Richard Aerni   Rochester, NY   www.richardaerni.com

Charity Davis-Woodard   Edwardsville, IL   www.landsendstudios.com

Bruce Dehnert   Layton, NJ   http://brucedehnert.blog

Scott Goldberg   Brooksville, ME

Ryan Greenheck   Philadelphia, PA   www.ryanjgreenheck.com

Chris Gustin   South Dartmouth, MA   gustinceramics.com

Steven Hill   Independence, MO   www.stevenhillpottery.com

Naomi D. & Michael Hunt   Bakersville, NC    www.michaelhuntpottery.com

Jody Johnstone   Swanville, ME   www.jodyjohnstonepottery.com

Simon Levin   Gresham, WI   www.simonlevin.com

Suze Lindsay   Bakersville, NC   www.forkmountainpottery.net

Robbie Lobell   Coupeville, WA   http://cookonclay.com

Michael McCarthy   Williamsburg, MA   www.mccarthypottery.com

Jenny Mendes   Chesterland, OH   www.jennymendes.com

Matt Metz   Alfred Station, NY

Alison Palmer   Kent, CT   www.alisonpalmerstudio.com

Aysha Peltz   Whitingham, VT   www.ayshapeltz.com

Ellen Shankin   Floyd, VA   www.ellenshankin.com

Mark Shapiro   Worthington, MA   www.stonepoolpottery.com

Rob Sieminski   Phillips, ME

Stacy Snyder   Arlington, VA   www.stacysnyder.com

Sam Taylor   Westhampton, MA

Jack Troy   Huntington, PA   www.jacktroy.net

Tara Wilson   Montana City, MT   www.tarawilsonpottery.com

Sheryl Zacharia   New York, NY   www.sherylzacharia.com

 

If you would like to get in touch with a potter who does not have a website listed, please contact the school at (201) 767-7160 for more information.