THURSDAY, SEPTEMBER 19, 2013
Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter

Welcome to the new, improved edition of ULC's weekly e-News. Tell us what you think!  ~The ULC Team


THE LATEST FROM ULC
UPCOMING EVENTS

Partners for Success: Libraries Leading Learning

November 12-14, Seattle, WA

 

Come hear provocative keynote speakers, learn from experts and participate in breakout activities designed to raise key issues, share leading practices and foster lively discussion during our annual Partners Conference. Learn more and register today. 

Twitter Icon#ULCPartners 

 

 

October Webinar: Libraries + Partners = Community:
The Seattle Approach

October 24: 10 am PT/11 am MT/ 12 pm CT/ 1 pm ET

 

Seattle City Librarian Marcellus Turner joins Courtney Cameron, Manager of School-Community Partnerships for Seattle Public Schools  to discuss the Library's strategic framework for partnerships as well as its new relationship with the school district that is designed to support implementation of the new common core standards curriculum. Register today.    

  Twitter Icon#ULCWebinar 

INITIATIVE UPDATES
Edge is an innovative management and leadership tool that can strengthen public access technology services community-wide.  Read an interview with El Paso Public Library Director Dionne Mack about her experience with Edge and how she plans to use it to sustain the city's ongoing investment in public access technology.
  Twitter Icon #LibraryEdge
NEWS AND RESOURCES

Library 2020: Today's Leading Visionaries Describe Tomorrow's Library is a new anthology in which thought leaders from throughout the profession share their beliefs, hopes and aspirations for the continued evolution of libraries as a transformative community resource. Read ULC member Bill Ptacek's contribution.

MEMBER HIGHLIGHTS
INNOVATIONS HIGHLIGHT

St. Paul Public Library is a 2013 Top Innovator for its Northstar Digital Literacy Project which offers free online basic digital literacy skill assessments and a certificate of mastery to help job-seekers. Read more. 

 

 

MEMBER ACHIEVEMENTS

Kansas City Public Library has received a Mozilla Ignite grant to introduce a new Software Lending Library that will enable patrons to borrow and use productivity software such as Adobe Software or Microsoft Excel on their home computers. Read more. 

 

MEMBER FEATURE

Hartford Public Library has received recognition and accreditation from the U.S. Dept. of Justice Bureau of Immigrant Appeals enabling it to expand immigrants' access to critical information and services in their path to Citizenship. Read the press release.  

   

CONTACT US

Urban Libraries Council

125 S. Wacker Drive, Suite 1050 Chicago, IL 60606  

 

312.676.0999 | urbanlibraries.org 




Copyright 2013. All Rights Reserved.